Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Disappointing Kelly Wearstler Hotel - Glam is gone

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: It is across from the Peninsula Hotel, right in the heart of Beverly Hills. It also has reasonable prices. The complimentary breakfast was fresh.
Cons: See above. Call Kelly Wearstler immediately and hire her back to renovate.
Location: Rodeo Drive, Beverly Hills, West Hollywood, Sunset Strip. It's where you wanna be if you like that stuff.
I have stayed at the Maison 140 about 4 times, and this time is the last--unless they renovate. Kelly Wearstler claims to have designed this hotel; however she would not have peeling paint on the ceiling, mold in the bathtub and glaze chipping on a bathtub. With that kind of condition, it was really hard to know whether or not the room was clean or not. When I complained to the front desk they told me that the sister hotel is being totally renovated...which doesn't make up for the fact that this one should have been shut down for a few weeks and refreshed. Disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Got off to a rocky start as odour in the room I was assigned made it inhabitable. Room I was given was lower grade than I paid for. Staff did an excellent job making up for issues. Free breakfasts, great room the next night and a $50 refund for first night. They were proactive and followed through which turned a bad experience into a good one. Overall this is a reasonably-priced boutique hotel in the heart of Beverly Hills if you don't want to blow your brains out on higher end places in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Very nice & clean - boutique & close to shopping. Very quiet neighborhood in the heart of Beverly Hills.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A fair hotel. Priced high because of location.

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Chose to stay here mainly because of location. I read the reviews about how small it was so I knew what to expect going in. Perhaps that's why I wasn't upset with our stay. Check-in wasn't smooth because they didn't have me in their system. Luckily I had expedia's confirmation on my phone. The lady asked if I had any preference on floors. I replied just give me the best available room. We were given room 212 on the 2nd floor. Elevator was extremely small.After my wife and I plus luggage there would've only been room for one more person. Opened the door to our room and that's all you see.The bed in front of the door and the door to your right for the bathroom. while sitting on the toilet the door cannot be opened.The shower is nice, but tiny.You can touch all four walls from the center(and I'm only 5'7). As soon as we walked in I had to use the toilet.The toilet clogged and wouldn't flush.So I immediately went down to ask for a new room. The lady first offered to send maintenance but I didn't want to deal with a bad toilet in the middle of the night so she moved us. I'm so glad. This time we were in room 305. Much bigger room. Still small relative to other hotels.So when being offered option of room I asked for the best available. Now I see it was not. An actual short hallway to the bed and the bathroom was bigger too.Shower was double the size of the other room.The hotel only has 3 floors and I'm also glad we switched to the 3rd floor.The floor creaked as we walked around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mx

Nice and easy!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Great location, small but nice and easy to get around!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bobbi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D

Funky quasi French

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Second choice when Hyatt was booked up. Small hotel with dark entry. Not for business travelers. Had difficulty getting a bath instead of very small shower. Very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Danielfrom Bedfordshire

Great boutique hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel is really charming. The staff are really friendly and helpful - and because it is a small hotel they get to know you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christopherfrom Tampa, Florida

Maison 140 Stay

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
Arrived late in the evening after 10pm. The hotel was very dark in the lobby. When we went into our room it was so small that our luggage (2 bags) would not even fit along side the bed. Ridiculous. The room had a closet but you couldn't use it because the nightstand & bed blocked it.