Ratings based on 817 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Two Night stay

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable room/bed, front desk staff that we dealt with were friendly and helpful.
Cons: You get what you pay for. In our case a clean room, comfortable bed, quiet at night (or were we just tired).
Location: Convenient to Union Station and DASH bus routes to get to the downtown area. Chinatown just minutes away.
Wife and I chose this hotel because of its proximity to Union Station. Arrived in LA on Coast Starlight train from Seattle at 9.00pm. Given some reviews we were a little worried about walking to the hotel from the station. Need not have worried as the area was well lit and relatively busy. There were a few homeless people around but we were not hassled and did not feel unsafe. We asked a security officer at the station to confirm that we had the right directions and she was able to point to the hotel's neon sign clearly visible from near the Station main entrance. It only took 5 + minutes to walk to the hotel. Our flight out of LAX after the second night was not until 10.50pm but the hotel was happy for us to leave our bags there until the evening, allowing a full day for us to go to Anaheim.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom York, UK

Very convenient for Union Station

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Excellent value for money for a one night stay. xxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxx xxxxx
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Hotel de downtown bon rapport qualité prix

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Idéalement situé, proximité immediate de la gare Union station. Immenses chambres.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in downtown LA

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Location in downtown
We stayed three nights at the hotel and found it a good value for the money. We did the 2015 LA Marathon and it was a few minute walk to Union Station. Good transportation hub, next door to Chinatown. I would stay there again. The staff were very helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Could have been much better maintained considering the close proximity to station. Must have non smoking rooms a lot more. Fitness center is totally nonfunctional. Breakfast area must be more welcoming. Carpets require renovation.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

its ok

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Neighborhood is kind of run-down and definetely not safe at night. During the day, it's right by the metro station and about 10 minutes from the Staples center. The hotel is very clean and the price is good. The beds are not that comfortable but all in all it was a decent place to crash.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Henderson, NV

Basic Hotel in Old Town Los Angeles

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Walkable through the downtown. Try Grand, Spring, or Broadway. Forty minutes for active travelers to the Staples Center.
Cons: Bath amenities are sparse
Location: Across from Union Station, Olvera Street, and Chinatown. Close enough to walk to the Music Center complex and Japan Town.
Rooms and amenities here are very basic. But if you are an experienced budget traveler, this place might work for you. It might also work well for those leaving or arriving from Union Station, those going to a Dodger game just up the hill through Chinatown, and those wanting to stay overnight and be near Chinatown and Olvera Street, perhaps for dinner. I chose a larger room but room sizes and in-room amenities vary. My primary amenity was a mini-fridge to store my drinks, snacks, and takeaways. Housekeeping was O.K. But the bath towels were thin as were the complimentary soap bars and shampoo containers. I will say that I was pleased with how the room heater operated. It rained and cooled down a bit while I was there, so warming up in the morning using the heater was relaxing. I also used the ice machine and the filtered water. Breakfast was included. Parking is a minimal expense. Mexican and Chinese restaurants are all over the place. The surrounding neighborhood is downtown and comes with the regular assortment of urban characters.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Close to Union Station

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Close to Union Station
Cons: See above.
Location: Chinatown in walking distance, Union Station in walking distance, Cielito Lindo in walking distance.
Dated and in need of some refurbishment but then it would be more expensive. No coffee making facilities in the room which was annoying, coffee is available in the lobby or next door in Subway. No iron, No laundry facility , send out laundry available. Busy downtown location, lots of homeless people and gangs around. Close to Chinatown.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not like it.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Too noisy! plus I had to pay for parking. Dirty carpet..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Aging, but comfy

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
It was adequate, unpretentious, safe, clean, comfortable and friendly. But it's still a two and a half star hotel, so the $140 I paid this time seemed a bit excessive.