Ratings based on 633 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banning CA

Changes have been made

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Well set up for inner city visitors and train travellers.
Location: Downtown LA but interesting and close to Olivera Street and China Town.
Very handy to Union Station, We stayed there two or three years ago. It was a bit seedy but inexpensive and quite adequate for us. This time [July 2014] we found it upgraded inside and out, re-staffed, with clean and well-appointed rooms, a good complementary breakfast. We recommend it for all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Very convenient location, right near Union Station

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room. Great mid-range budget option.
Location: Easy bus and train access to all areas of the city and surrounds. Is iin one of the original areas of LA, with history of early settlement noted.
Easy late check in. Breakfast provided. Friendly staff, clean room. Great mid-range budget option.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florence SC

1 night stay

Posted Jul 17, 2014
We chose this hotel for a 1 night stay because of location, close to Union Station. We arrived via Amtrak, took the free Dodgers Express to the game, the metro to Hollywood, and the airport shuttle to LA which were all from Union Station. The hotel was a 2 block walk. As a former travel agent I was aware that the hotel was going to be very basic. For a longer stay it would not have been my choice. But it saved us money both on the cost of the room and transportation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
It was exactly what we needed to accommodate our night after a concert, a bed and a shower. Parking was luckily available for us and breakfast was ok (toast, fruit and cereal)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by vootie from Northern CA

A good choice near LA's Union Station

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I needed a place to stay before leaving from Union Station early in the morning. It's only a few blocks walk to the station, and it was better than I expected. It's an older hotel with AC window units, and the TVs were old with a small selection of channels (many in other languages). I heard several different languages in the breakfast area as well :-). The staff were very friendly, the room was well-kept, and the continental (no hot food) breakfast was just what I wanted. It'll be my go-to Union Station hotel from now on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and rude staff

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Stayed for 4 nights for a convention. The staff is foreign which is fine, but they were rude to guests and made several comments about how dumb America is in front of me and other guests. The rooms were okay. Nothing special but definitely not the rooms they show in the pictures. The internet ran at .45 download making business work impossible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown LA

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Comfortable, convenient walk to metro station and very close to Olvera St.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Martin A from San Francisco

No Wifi!!!

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Main reason I choose this place over other cheaper places was location and WIFI. The WiFi in this hotel did not work. The front desk said it's broken and they don't know when it will get fixed. This was huge fail for me since I was on business trip and was trying to get some work done! As for hotel i'ts fairly outdated but clean hotel with good location. The AC in my room was very old and loud so I have to turn it off for a night. Anyone planning to stay there be aware!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by kkll

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com