Ratings based on 626 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banning CA

Changes have been made

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Well set up for inner city visitors and train travellers.
Location: Downtown LA but interesting and close to Olivera Street and China Town.
Very handy to Union Station, We stayed there two or three years ago. It was a bit seedy but inexpensive and quite adequate for us. This time [July 2014] we found it upgraded inside and out, re-staffed, with clean and well-appointed rooms, a good complementary breakfast. We recommend it for all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Very convenient location, right near Union Station

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room. Great mid-range budget option.
Location: Easy bus and train access to all areas of the city and surrounds. Is iin one of the original areas of LA, with history of early settlement noted.
Easy late check in. Breakfast provided. Friendly staff, clean room. Great mid-range budget option.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florence SC

1 night stay

Posted Jul 17, 2014
We chose this hotel for a 1 night stay because of location, close to Union Station. We arrived via Amtrak, took the free Dodgers Express to the game, the metro to Hollywood, and the airport shuttle to LA which were all from Union Station. The hotel was a 2 block walk. As a former travel agent I was aware that the hotel was going to be very basic. For a longer stay it would not have been my choice. But it saved us money both on the cost of the room and transportation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
It was exactly what we needed to accommodate our night after a concert, a bed and a shower. Parking was luckily available for us and breakfast was ok (toast, fruit and cereal)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and rude staff

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Stayed for 4 nights for a convention. The staff is foreign which is fine, but they were rude to guests and made several comments about how dumb America is in front of me and other guests. The rooms were okay. Nothing special but definitely not the rooms they show in the pictures. The internet ran at .45 download making business work impossible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown LA

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Comfortable, convenient walk to metro station and very close to Olvera St.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from Las Vegas

Prime Location, no Frills

Posted Jun 8, 2014
We stayed here because it was close to Dodger Stadium. It's right next to Olvera Street and Union Station. It's old and worn, but we only slept there. It's definitely not for enjoying the atmosphere. If you're looking for new and exciting, this is not it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ned from SF Bay Area

Nice location

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: location location location...and a decent breakfast.
Cons: I believe the soaps were the smallest I've seen outside of flakes in a box.
Location: The location is perfect if you're taking Amtrak. There is a Subway sandwich place just next door.
We were looking for a place near Union Station and this is it. The hotel is fine, not a luxury destination in itself though. The walk from Union Station is short and not a bit worrisome. In the morning we had a nice walk around the park celebrating the founding of Los Angeles and took in Olvera Street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, so-so condition

Posted May 31, 2014
Very near to union station, but room is just ok, parking is vrry cheap, overall is ok
3 out of 5
by G from Napa

Nice older hotel

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Close to Union Station
Cons: Not much it is a good value for down town location.
Location: the Famous Philippe's restaurant was a nice surprise.
This is a hotel in downtown that is older no flat screen but in OK shape. Nice shape good location for Union Station.