Ratings based on 794 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Henderson, NV

Basic Hotel in Old Town Los Angeles

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Walkable through the downtown. Try Grand, Spring, or Broadway. Forty minutes for active travelers to the Staples Center.
Cons: Bath amenities are sparse
Location: Across from Union Station, Olvera Street, and Chinatown. Close enough to walk to the Music Center complex and Japan Town.
Rooms and amenities here are very basic. But if you are an experienced budget traveler, this place might work for you. It might also work well for those leaving or arriving from Union Station, those going to a Dodger game just up the hill through Chinatown, and those wanting to stay overnight and be near Chinatown and Olvera Street, perhaps for dinner. I chose a larger room but room sizes and in-room amenities vary. My primary amenity was a mini-fridge to store my drinks, snacks, and takeaways. Housekeeping was O.K. But the bath towels were thin as were the complimentary soap bars and shampoo containers. I will say that I was pleased with how the room heater operated. It rained and cooled down a bit while I was there, so warming up in the morning using the heater was relaxing. I also used the ice machine and the filtered water. Breakfast was included. Parking is a minimal expense. Mexican and Chinese restaurants are all over the place. The surrounding neighborhood is downtown and comes with the regular assortment of urban characters.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Close to Union Station

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Close to Union Station
Cons: See above.
Location: Chinatown in walking distance, Union Station in walking distance, Cielito Lindo in walking distance.
Dated and in need of some refurbishment but then it would be more expensive. No coffee making facilities in the room which was annoying, coffee is available in the lobby or next door in Subway. No iron, No laundry facility , send out laundry available. Busy downtown location, lots of homeless people and gangs around. Close to Chinatown.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not like it.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Too noisy! plus I had to pay for parking. Dirty carpet..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cumming GA

Hotel close to Amtrak Station.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Close to Amtrak station
Location: Close to Amtrak Station and to China Town. Also Hop-hop-off busses stoped in square across from the station, so sight seeing was a breeze.
Exactly what we wanted. Close to Amtrak station. Staff were friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast included. Room comfortable and clean. What more could you ask for?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Close to Union Station

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: location, location, location
Cons: A microwave in the rooms would be really nice!
Location: I walked to the theater district - but did find all the homeless citizens somewhat disconcerting. [but no one bothered me.]
Background: Pleasure trip (fifty plus years since last LA visit) Wishing to pick up and drop off rental car at Union Station, The once a day train had poor connections and I elected to stay nearby to secure and give back the rental car. In this, the hotel worked as expected. Two blocks and visible from the station entrance, orientation was good for a poor street layout. The staff was helpful, the rooms dated but cared for. 24 hour coffee nice and the breakfast was adequate. really, no complaints. With humor it is noted that it was the most I have paid for overnight lodging for some time - but then I've not been staying in areas like LA! Staff was most helpful with late evening eating suggestion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Centralia, Wa.

Not bad for the money.

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Value for the money.
Cons: Maintenance Program.
Location: Did not have time to explore anything locally.
Closest and lowest cost hotel near Union Station, which is why we picked it. Dated but basically clean rooms. The HVAC " thought the wall unit " was very noisy and had bad smelling air coming from it. Having worked in Facilities Maintenance, I decided to pull off the unit's cover & check the filter. I have seen poor maintenance, but this took the cake. The filter was totally clogged by the 1/2" of dirt on it. For an item that is suppose to be cleaned monthly, this one had not been touched in over a year at least. I took it to the desk clerk, pointed out to him that it was a health hazard, was wasting energy and shortening the life of his unit in that condition. He indicated that he would get with the Hotel manager about it the next day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the Union Station
Cons: Get some reasonable TV channels.
Only thing that spooked me was copying my credit card since I prepaid. I don't mean running a blank form I mean copying the credit card.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Good hotel near to the Union Station

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Clean and comfortable. Only 3 minutes walk to Union Station
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to union station.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Very convenient to metro as we were going to rose bowl parade. In China town area, great food but go to phillipes on left. Great v ood, been there 100 years. Very nice morning young staff, helped us a great deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Nice Stop in Downtown LA

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: I like location, rooms, and staff.
Location: It's walking distance to Chinatown, historic LA, Phillipe's famous restaurant, Union Station (transit), and downtown.
Metro Plaza is just two blocks from Union Station in downtown L.A. at Chinatown. It has comfortable large rooms, and it's adjacent to Phillipe's, Olivera St., and public transit to L.A. attractions. Owners & staff are friendly and helpful.