Ratings based on 786 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cumming GA

Hotel close to Amtrak Station.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Close to Amtrak station
Location: Close to Amtrak Station and to China Town. Also Hop-hop-off busses stoped in square across from the station, so sight seeing was a breeze.
Exactly what we wanted. Close to Amtrak station. Staff were friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast included. Room comfortable and clean. What more could you ask for?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Close to Union Station

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: location, location, location
Cons: A microwave in the rooms would be really nice!
Location: I walked to the theater district - but did find all the homeless citizens somewhat disconcerting. [but no one bothered me.]
Background: Pleasure trip (fifty plus years since last LA visit) Wishing to pick up and drop off rental car at Union Station, The once a day train had poor connections and I elected to stay nearby to secure and give back the rental car. In this, the hotel worked as expected. Two blocks and visible from the station entrance, orientation was good for a poor street layout. The staff was helpful, the rooms dated but cared for. 24 hour coffee nice and the breakfast was adequate. really, no complaints. With humor it is noted that it was the most I have paid for overnight lodging for some time - but then I've not been staying in areas like LA! Staff was most helpful with late evening eating suggestion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Centralia, Wa.

Not bad for the money.

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Value for the money.
Cons: Maintenance Program.
Location: Did not have time to explore anything locally.
Closest and lowest cost hotel near Union Station, which is why we picked it. Dated but basically clean rooms. The HVAC " thought the wall unit " was very noisy and had bad smelling air coming from it. Having worked in Facilities Maintenance, I decided to pull off the unit's cover & check the filter. I have seen poor maintenance, but this took the cake. The filter was totally clogged by the 1/2" of dirt on it. For an item that is suppose to be cleaned monthly, this one had not been touched in over a year at least. I took it to the desk clerk, pointed out to him that it was a health hazard, was wasting energy and shortening the life of his unit in that condition. He indicated that he would get with the Hotel manager about it the next day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the Union Station
Cons: Get some reasonable TV channels.
Only thing that spooked me was copying my credit card since I prepaid. I don't mean running a blank form I mean copying the credit card.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Good hotel near to the Union Station

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Clean and comfortable. Only 3 minutes walk to Union Station
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to union station.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Very convenient to metro as we were going to rose bowl parade. In China town area, great food but go to phillipes on left. Great v ood, been there 100 years. Very nice morning young staff, helped us a great deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Nice Stop in Downtown LA

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: I like location, rooms, and staff.
Location: It's walking distance to Chinatown, historic LA, Phillipe's famous restaurant, Union Station (transit), and downtown.
Metro Plaza is just two blocks from Union Station in downtown L.A. at Chinatown. It has comfortable large rooms, and it's adjacent to Phillipe's, Olivera St., and public transit to L.A. attractions. Owners & staff are friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 千葉県

ユニオンステーションに近い立地。

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: ユニオンステーションに近い(歩いて約5分)
Location: リトルトーキョーやチャイナタウンに近い。グリフィス天文台からの夜景、ハリウッド、オールドパサディナ、サンタモニカ等。
スタッフはフレンドリーで良かったです。部屋は清潔でWifiも良く繋がりました。 泊まった部屋の窓と隣の部屋の窓が向かい合っていたのでカーテンを開けることができなかった。(1.2mと近いうえにレースのカーテンがついていない)そのため部屋が暗い。 L型の建物なので他の向きの窓は向かい合っていません。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

metro plaza

Posted Nov 21, 2014
cheaper than most but like they say u get what u pay for , one nite only beds un comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom providence, ri

Convenient hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2014
I had a great stay here, it's close to the USC campus. The staff were friendly, and the rooms were spacious. They were more comfortable than the rooms that I'm used to.