Ratings based on 586 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aus

Affordable hotel, not too far from Universal.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: We liked the pool and the hot tub the most most and the free brekkie.
Cons: The reception staff were friendly but could not provide us with local information like were the nearest pharmacy was.
Location: There are the two restaurants I mentioned, there is a supermarket about three blocks away. The Hotel is off the beaten track.
We arrived quite early from our flight. The hotel let us use their pool and let us check in an hour early. The room was a good size, the 2 double beds were definitely on the small side, but the mattresses were super comfortable. The bathroom area is dated but functional and there was a microwave, coffee machine and a small bar fridge.The walls are quite thin and we could hear the stomping above us. The pool and the hot tub were fantastic and were a pleasure after a long day at Universal. The breakfast was adequate with all all the essentials in place - perfect to start the day. It was a cab ride of roughly $20 on average to Universal Studios and a bit more to get to the Boulevard. We didn't eat dinner at the Mikado Japenese restaurant (next to the hotel) but it seemed quite popuar as well as Hugo's nearby. we pretty much ate most of our meals outside of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice for the price

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable bed, great pool/jacuzzi.
Cons: The exterior of the hotel could be more attractive. Things should be better, once renovations are complete.
Location: Pitfire Artisan Pizza and lots of other great restaurants are less than 3 miles away.
The reviews were all over the map on this place, but I was pleasantly surprised with my stay at the Mikado. They're still working on renovations (the painting crew draped my rental car one of the days I was there, as they painted the hotel's facade. The Mikado isn't much to look at, on the outside (that new coat of paint, notwithstanding). My room was decently-sized, with a pleasant, clean smell. Water pressure was great in the shower (with a high shower-head, which made this 6ft tall guy happy). The bed was extremely comfortable, as well. Front desk was very courteous. I extended my trip by a day via Expedia, and they made sure I was able to stay in the same room, even though it was a Friday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Mini Vacation

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: The free breakfast was OK but could server should pay attention if refill is needed. The bathroom can use remodelling.
Location: Close enough to Hollywood and Universal.
Hotel room is spacious and beds are comfortable. Beddings and towels are clean. Location is in a good area, close enough to Hollywood. The TV, room phone and remote control does not work. My room phone connected me to another guest room when I pressed "0" for the front desk so I can get help since the safety lock to my room does not work. I have to use my cell phone to contact the front desk for assistant. The first day the cable when out and TV did not work. Then when I return to my room at 9 PM I was able to turn on the TV but was not able to change the channel. Contacted the front desk again but they were not able to help. The front desk was kind enough to give me a discount for the inconvenience upon checking out. The free breakfast was OK. The staff is very helpful and polite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Italy

Hotel close to Universal Studios

Posted Sep 16, 2014
A little bit too noisy, due to extreme proximity to Highway. Bathroom too small. Breakfast was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Nice hotel, great service, nice room, delicious free breakfast! Free wifi AND parking. Would definitely stay again! :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Room not ready at 3 Couldnt get in until 4- 1 hr past check in Tv not working properly Free breakfast- didnt keep pans full with food- didnt keep plates stocked
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, MI

Very pleasant stay in the valley

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Staff are extremely friendly, professional, and very helpful.
Cons: They are currently refreshing rooms.
Location: You are within easy access to Universal, the Burbank movie/TV studios and you can get into Hollywood or downtown LA by freeway.
We've stayed here three times. It is close to where our daughter lives and has excellent access to the freeways to get into LA or further into the valley or over to Pasadena. They have added complimentary continental breakfast at the Mikado which is a nice addition. Free WiFi, very nice lobby and a nice outdoor pool. You are backed up against the freeway so there is ambient noise when you are outside. I've never experienced issues with road noise while in a room. The central Japanese garden is a very nice feature, quite relaxing. We always have at least one lunch at the restaurant, I love their tempura.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Close to all attractions, near highway

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Staff was very helpful, pool was super clean! Free bkfst was super good, we saved at least $200.00 not buying bkfst. Room was small but comfortable and extra clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced hotel in good location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
If you're visiting LA to see tourist attractions and such, I would highly recommend this hotel for its convenient location. In addition, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the free wifi access complements that well (although it's not very fast, nonetheless). Only issue I ran into was with one member of the hotel staff, whom I asked for a rollout bed. He said that the hotel didn't offer those, but 2 days later my friend asked another staff member and we were given a bed (for a fee). Overall, if you're looking to have fun in LA with a moderate budget, I highly suggest Mikado.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel; close to rest. Fwy. and great staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
This mikado hotel is very inviting. The lobby area is huge. It has a piano, plenty of couches to relax on and a computer and printer available for all visitors to use to print fligh tickets. Parking is free and it has a restaurant with free breakfast. I personally didn't like their breakfast. It was too simple and not appealing but hey it's complimentary. The hotel is close to Starbucks and the highway. If you want nice restaurants to dine in I recommend hitting up Ventura Ave which is about a 3 minute drive away. The rooms were spacious at the mikado and very clean.