Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's ok

Posted Jul 27, 2014
The hotel was ok the beds and linen are old but clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Close enough to Universal Studios

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, reasonable.
Cons: Should consider upgrading to queen size beds in rooms that have 2 beds. Breakfast could use some improvement.
Location: Close to Universal Studios
I had some concerns after reading other reviews, but our visit there was quite pleasant. The front desk staff was very helpful, efficient and courteous. It is a unique design for a motel. The swimming pool was a nice size and clean. The interior courtyard was nicely decorated and maintained. The room was spacious with 2 full size beds, (but very comfortable), so families may be a bit cramped. Small bathroom but clean. The motel is right along 101, so you will hear the trucks rumbling down the road in the early hours but it was very convenient to get to Universal Studios. The neighborhood was fine, did not see any evidence of night life, but we were there early in the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
This hotel was not bad at all 10 min away from Universal Studios. I would stay here again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

Excellent sushi!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Older hotel. Room was clean and served it's purpose. Backs up to HWY 101 which both convenient and noisy. The attached Mikado Restaurant was excellent, sushi was delicious.Linda
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Service is good! Just the location are little bit far from downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Nice hotel near Universal Studios

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The pool was clean and refreshing. Breakfast was great.
Location: Dozens of food options right down the road. Access to the 101.
Nice hotel with fair price. Breakfast included. Access to freeway. Plenary of food / dinner options. Close to universal studios.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Louis MO

Overall impression

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Definatley needed new mattress. Tub drain in need of repair. Needs remodelling in general.
Location: The hotel was fairly close to all the things we were interested in seeing and right off the highway making it wasy to find.
This hotel is a tired beauty. It looks as though it was a top notch hotel in the 50's. It has lots of beautiful surprises like the mosaic pool and the garden in the middle of one end of the hotel rooms. The free breakfast was good and again in a very unique adjoining restaurant. But it was so dark in there, I wondered what they were hiding. The bed was so horrible.....it felt like it was years old and that a couple of elephants had slept in it. And the tub did not drain properly creating knee high water while showering. It is in need of remodelling or at least replacing the bedding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
it's located near a highway, quite noisy. pricey for the location and conditions of the hotel...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel, few miles to Universal Studios

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Mikado hotel is a decent, simple and convenient place to stay. For a first time experience, we would say it's very good. Room 217 is clean, neat and cozy, facing the Japanese garden. Bathroom and its supplies are enough for 2 pax. Bed is relaxing and comfortable. The room space is appropriate for a couple. Reception staff is nice, helpful and accommodating tho needs a little more warmth. The maintenance staff needs to be customer oriented as well like: smiling and greeting guests when they cross path with them, learn to knock before opening the guest's room. Food in Mikado Restaurant is very good and tasteful. It was unfortunately, we haven't tried the free breakfast. But we had a satisfying dinner on our first night. Mikado hotel has open parking space around the hotel vicinity. The reception lobby is presentable tho there's a trace of age in some furnitures. Swimming pool and jacuzzi seems okay but haven't tried to take a dip. Overall, it's a nice place to stay. We may stay there again for a Universal City trip especially if your purpose is just for sleep and bath.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

good location close to all the attractions

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: breakfast timings, to start early at around 6.00 am for travelers who start early
Location: almost all the attractions are within a short distance.
good value for the money. the staff very helpful, nice timing to checkout,