Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced hotel in good location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
If you're visiting LA to see tourist attractions and such, I would highly recommend this hotel for its convenient location. In addition, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the free wifi access complements that well (although it's not very fast, nonetheless). Only issue I ran into was with one member of the hotel staff, whom I asked for a rollout bed. He said that the hotel didn't offer those, but 2 days later my friend asked another staff member and we were given a bed (for a fee). Overall, if you're looking to have fun in LA with a moderate budget, I highly suggest Mikado.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel; close to rest. Fwy. and great staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
This mikado hotel is very inviting. The lobby area is huge. It has a piano, plenty of couches to relax on and a computer and printer available for all visitors to use to print fligh tickets. Parking is free and it has a restaurant with free breakfast. I personally didn't like their breakfast. It was too simple and not appealing but hey it's complimentary. The hotel is close to Starbucks and the highway. If you want nice restaurants to dine in I recommend hitting up Ventura Ave which is about a 3 minute drive away. The rooms were spacious at the mikado and very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Excellent stay. Breakfast was good. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Good location close to Hollywood attractions and universal studios
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Somewhat decent area close to Universal Studios.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: More supplies luggage carts, luggage holders. Update bathrooms
Location: Universal Studios two exits down on freeway. Metro line runs on both corners nearby.
Hotel actually more like a M,otel 6. Rooms had a musky smell. Looks like they are trying to revap place new painting, new carpet etc. Hotel only gives u one lugguge holder per room, when I asked for another they sais NO!?? and they only have one one luggage cart to haul your stuff in from car. Don't park in back if your room on lower level as there is no elevator and u will have to drag ur luggage down stairs. I won't do it again, but if your on a tight budget its do-able.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Ca

Nice hotel near the heart of Hollywood.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
From my first step in the door until I departed I was treated warmly by the staff. The rooms were clean and we'll kept. We used the pool that was also well maintained. The free breakfast was enjoyable and adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Customer service was great!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Customer service
Cons: Electrical outlets
Location: Hollywood sign, Burbank, good restaurants, Los Angeles, Venice Beach
There were 11 of us from one family staying at this hotel. The staff was pleasant and accommodating with everything. The hotel facilities are dated, but they are clean, and the grounds are well taken care of. This hotel has a lot of character, and we all enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel for price & Hollywood loacation.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Facilities for the price, location, comfortable beds & pillows. Associated Japanese restuarant was great.
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: Universal Studios, Hollywood, Access to 101 Freeway.
Good loaction, close to 101 Freeway but low noise polution. Good access to Hollywood & Universal Studios. Japanese restaurant associated with the hotel was excellent, though lighting a bit dark. Only downside was the breakfast that lacked imagination and variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Not a bad place to stay

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The pool Japanese restaurant has good food
Cons: The pool closes at 8:00PM. I think that's a bit early. They should be open until 9:00 or 10:00
Location: There is not much to do within walking distance. But it is no too far a drive to Universal, and the freeway is right there!
our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Hollywood. I was a little leery after reading some of the reviews but for the price I thought it was just fine. The premises and rooms are well maintained and the included breakfast, while not fancy (eggs, sausage, toast, cereal) was a nice way to start the day. We had a room facing the pool which was handy as my two children spent quite a bit of time there. They also have a hot tub which was nice when it was a bit cooler in the evening. We did not find it noisy at all and overall our stay was quite enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

Go elsewhere

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Seemed run down and not nearly as clean as you would want a hotel bathroom to be