Ratings based on 2,545 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Spectacular interior takes you back to 1920's

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: We liked staying in such a posh place for such a low price and the valet parking was reasonable at $42/day.
Cons: We could have used a fridge in the room and a counter in the bathroom. Free WIFI would have been nice. Breakfast buffet could have had fancy pastries.
Location: It is downtown LA, which has loads of great restaurants.
We felt like Golden Era movie stars! The original and beautifully kept interior architecture and furnishings from the Great Gatsby days! Tons of movies are made there now and there is a list of modern day stars and movies. There is also an historic hall with huge pictures of the Academy Awards held there and faces like Walt Disney and Bob Hope labeled. However, no one was dressed up. Everybody had on shorts and t-shirts everywhere in the hotel, even in the Cognac Bar, except the staff and a wedding party getting pix in the grand lobby. That was fine, sort of surreal. The bed was super comfortable, bath was ok but a little small, with no counter space. There is no fridge in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

It is a great hotel.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
We stayed for seven nights. We did have to request extra towels & soap constantly, but they complied without any problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Pedro

Elegant Older Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: History
Cons: Go back to 24 hour room service.
Beautiful hotel with lots of history. Beautiful lobby and public rooms. One problem. They only have room service from 6AM to 10AM. That is not a first class hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Three Day stay

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: It was historic.
Cons: Being old, the water pressure in my room was nearly nonexistent. I don't know if this was common for other rooms but in mine it was barely usable.
Location: This was a business trip and location was good. That is why I chose this hotel which I had never stayed at before.
This is an old, historic hotel. One must be willing to accept that when evaluating the hotel. The location for me was good. The restaurants on sight were very good. There were restaurants within easy walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Bay, Ontario

Hotel with a heart

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Everything. Location was central. History of hotel itself from Hollywood era. Service oriented staff. Tea lounge decor and afternoon tea. Loved it.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Close to park, restaurants, Pershing Square a block away. Central for sightseeing.
Train delay 6 1/2 hours brought us to hotel at 4am. Friendly porter welcome, upgraded us to suite, extended check out by two hours. Hotel itself was a wonderment of old style decoration and worth the trip to Los Angeles just to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Aug 28, 2014
We stayed 3 days and verg comfortoble but they take 42 dolar per day for parkinh our car.this is not fair
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 27, 2014
The LA Biltmore seems to be living on its location, the remains of a reputation from the 1920s, and its large fancy ballroom. I was not there for the fancy events downstairs, being a simple travelling guest. To my eyes, the room was more like a NYC apartment from the 40s. The hallways have not been redone since (I would guess) the 50s, and the complete lack of modern basics including power outlets anywhere near the desk show just how out of date they are. I will not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Downtown LA.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Access/convenience to using the stairs for those of us who like to get a workout while coming to/from room.
Location: I went to a music festival at the LA Sports Arena (USC), only minutes away, literally, like 5 minutes on the freeway.
First off, ignore all the *parking trap* comments. There is a very convenient, well lit and safe parking lot across the street with very fair rates for LA. You don't have to valet park if you don't want to and I recommend you don't. Now, for the hotel, room was very well kept up. Bed was comfy and the linens were fresh. The building is a tad old (character) so don't expect it to be absolutely PERFECT! There will be a bit of crack on a tile or maybe the toilet won't be made of 14k gold but the stay is enjoyable. If you expect absolute perfection, feel free to book The Beverly Hills hotel for $4k a night, and I doubt you'll even get it there. Overall, aside from a bit of traffic noise (nobody should ever expect absolute peace and quiet downtown), my stay was great. Beautiful/dingy/cosmopolitan/sketchy/hip/upscale Downtown LA!!! Oh, and for some reason I feel like I need to add that I traveled alone for this trip, so, there's that?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Good for one night

Posted Aug 25, 2014
This hotel charges for everything , we stayed for a concert event near by and we had to pay for parking, wifi, no free breakfast and the breakfast they were serving was expensive. The hotel has a nice vintage feel to it and our room was ok but I wouldn't stay for more than one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort

Posted Aug 25, 2014
ac is went from cold to hot it was no in between settings. you took a long time for me to get hot water in the mornings