Ratings based on 2,558 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

100 years old and still looking great

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The history and location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close enough to go to Hollywood, Rodeo drive, Santa Monica, etc..
We went on vacation. I was looking for a hotel with an indoor pool. This hotel has a lot of character. Yes it's old but very well preserved and cared for. This hotel does NOT smell old. It looked awesome. You will marvel at the ceilings, walls and doors. I went back in time where the movie stars went to the Oscars. Loved it. Location was excellent, close to beaches and close to touristy activities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2014
This hotel has a nice lobby with a lot of seating but the hotel is old. The elevators take a long time and ended up taking the stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic piece of LA History !

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Rooms are totally basic, but the common areas of the hotel are fantastic treasures from the 1920s -- if you like history art architecture and the resurgence of downtown LA its a great little get away -- plus down town bars and restaurants lively !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tricked

Posted Oct 13, 2014
We arrived and we waited in line for 10 minutes to check in because they only had 2 people working the front desk. You look at the rooms on their site and they are nothing like what they show. You get off the elevator and the halls and room smell. They have 6 elevators and they take for ever. You go buy something in the gift shop and they charge you for bags ...really your already paying slot for your room and to eat there and they want to charge you fir a bag. I would never suggest for someone to stay there and would never stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita, CA

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Had a great one night getaway with my husband. Upon check in we upgraded to a 'club' room, and received complimentary appetizers and refreshments in the evening and continental breakfast the next morning. Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, overall a great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Classic hotel in challenging times

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: decor, rooms
Cons: competence and courtesy of staff
Location: downtown Los Angeles, good for business travelers, some pretty good restaurants right around there too such as Water Grill.
The Biltmore is a lovely old spot...worth it for the carved ceilings alone....rooms are still fine, very comfortable, spacious and clean....but...well, a huge convention was taking place there while I was there, and many Asian tours were staying...paying I suspect much less than I was charged as a one-time business traveler while making the atmosphere at times seem like Grand Central Station...restaurant prices are on the high side for the service one gets and the Singaporean restaurant, formerly the Saisai Japanese restaurant, is to be avoided; certainly for dinner most people indeed seem to be avoiding it. Personnel on the front desk are only marginally competent. One got the feeling that the Biltmore is not attracting the sort of clientele to live up to its marvelous decor and tradition or cover the overhead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Within walking distance or short cab ride of most downtown events and venues, including LA Convention Center, LA Live, and Staples Center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Spectacular interior takes you back to 1920's

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: We liked staying in such a posh place for such a low price and the valet parking was reasonable at $42/day.
Cons: We could have used a fridge in the room and a counter in the bathroom. Free WIFI would have been nice. Breakfast buffet could have had fancy pastries.
Location: It is downtown LA, which has loads of great restaurants.
We felt like Golden Era movie stars! The original and beautifully kept interior architecture and furnishings from the Great Gatsby days! Tons of movies are made there now and there is a list of modern day stars and movies. There is also an historic hall with huge pictures of the Academy Awards held there and faces like Walt Disney and Bob Hope labeled. However, no one was dressed up. Everybody had on shorts and t-shirts everywhere in the hotel, even in the Cognac Bar, except the staff and a wedding party getting pix in the grand lobby. That was fine, sort of surreal. The bed was super comfortable, bath was ok but a little small, with no counter space. There is no fridge in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

It is a great hotel.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
We stayed for seven nights. We did have to request extra towels & soap constantly, but they complied without any problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Pedro

Elegant Older Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: History
Cons: Go back to 24 hour room service.
Beautiful hotel with lots of history. Beautiful lobby and public rooms. One problem. They only have room service from 6AM to 10AM. That is not a first class hotel.