Ratings based on 2,874 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in L.A.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Staff, breakfast buffet,closeness of places to go.
Cons: Rooms are small, large furniture dominate the room.the jacuzzi was not working.
Location: Near everything downtown. many good restaurants, Disney Concert Hall, theaters,public library,MOCA, great shopping areas.
The staff was very supportive and friendly. We enjoy the history of the hotel. Be sure and pay the extra fee for the breakfast buffet, it was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC Canada

A beautiful art deco hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2014
The hotel is lovely and especially nice in December decorated for Christmas. It's location is very good. Our room was a little run down but quiet. The only problem we encountered was with wifi. I purchased the booking with Expedia and it included free wifi however, when I logged in I was expected to pay and was told by the person at the front desk that wifi is never free with Expedia bookings. Fortunately, I had a printed copy of my Expedia booking as proof otherwise I would have been charged close to $10 per day for wifi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Ok hotel for the price. Good location in downtown

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Lobby area
Cons: Rooms need to be updated.
Location: Centrally located in downtown LA.
Very nice lobby. Nice to hang out in lobby area. Rooms/facilities are dated. Nice to see security at elevator bay during the nighttime. Nicely located in downtown LA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Nice older hotel. Beautiful lobby. Room was very clean and nice. Coffee stand on bottom floor was great for quick coffee and breakfast snack to go.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom H

Posted Dec 14, 2014
This hotel would be absolutely gorgeous if it had a complete renovation. It is just so worn down. It is a shame that they aren't at least starting to renovate the rooms. Every public restroom needs to be redone. They also could benefit from having minibars and room service.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Decent location of the hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2014
The hotel had bad internet service, my shower wasn't working, it was extremely noisy each morning and my remote was not working for the tv.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Nice Ambiance

Posted Dec 11, 2014
We love the ambiance and feel of then old hotel . I am used to travelling Asia and I am not used to not having any free water in my room , no slippers either and no toothbrush .
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom boise idaho

Nice but old !!!

Posted Dec 11, 2014
The lobby and halls are spectacular!!!! In general this hotel is very nice ! However the rooms are old and need updating! To expensive for what you get !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should have built more better D:

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Had bar downstairs with a kitchen so I can drink so much to forget about the whole experience.
Cons: Give me the room I booked.
Booked a king size bed as a "business trip" to do some "business" with my old "business partner" from out of town. Arrive, was sent to two double bed room. Went back to the front counter and was told they're out of the king size bed rooms. You know what Lemongrab would say to this? Lemongrab would say this is "UNACCAPTABLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE". As I expressed my outrage, the staff told me I booked for two double beds; boy did I felt like an idiot. UNTIL I CAME TO EXPEDIA TO CHECK MY ITANARY which specifically said it was for a king size bed. This is truly, turly, truly... outrageous... So instead of partying hard on a king size bed, I was forced to party on a double size bed, while gazing at the other unoccupied double sized bed of prime real estate that I paid for, but could not fully enjoy. (Yes I thought about pushing the two beds together, but there was this bedside table between them, CURSES). Oh and also one bed had some weird stain on the covers of the lame double sized bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

How the mighty have fallen.

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: downtown location and large ballrooms
Cons: the rooms need a remodel
Location: Staples Center and Nokia Live
Once upon a time, the Biltmore was THE place to stay in downtown. All the major galas were there, even the Grammy parties. Time has passed and no one has stopped by to refresh, repair or even maintain this hotel. While the lobby is still very impressive, you don't spend the night there. First- the windows are horrible. They are not simply bad windows, they in fact hardly close at all. We had to switch to two different rooms, and we kept seeing the same and they confirmed no rooms had better windows; the hallway windows are the same. They were single pane windows on wooden frames that could not be properly closed. Sound and the elements come right in; we plugged the gaps with bath towels! Being in downtown, the noise is extremely unpleasant, even on the top floors. It is time for double pane soundproof windows that close properly. These rickety frames are deplorable. Next, the room; in particular the bathroom; was in need of cleaning, paint and rust removal. The room looked and felt tired. And crowning glory- the attitude of the staff from front desk to housekeeping was very uninterested. In all likelihood, many complaints are received and they seem to be past the point of caring. Housekeeping is loud and disruptive yelling in the hallways as they clean rooms. These situations would be expected from a 1 or 2 star facility, but a hotel that presents itself as so prestigious, and CHARGES based on that illusion, has to seriously improve the quality of the experience.