Ratings based on 3,081 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Overnight business trip

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful character - but not clean - dusty baseboard and corners, worn out furniture, bathrooms are almost like a gym bathroom - moldy caulking, nothing luxurious about the rooms. And the paint is really really bad - Expedia showed this as 4 or 4.5 stars and I'm very disappointed. I don't think I'll trust your ratings again :(
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Really bad experience

Posted Jun 28, 2015
I was surprised at this hotel has rooms for smoking. I am not smoker and when I notice bad smell in the room from smoking, I asked to change room to front desk staff. And he said no room without my room. I can't understand it. It was already midnight. I should stay in dirty and smell room. It was terrible stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Layout of hotelterrible, really hard to carry luggages up and down stairs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

金融街のホテル

Posted Jun 18, 2015
金融街の端にあるホテル。歴史を感じさせる広いロビーと高い天井は豪華に感じさせます。古いですが部屋は広く清潔です。アメリカンなバーはドリンク、フード、サービス、どれもクオリティは高かったです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Great staff

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: old school charm
I was Club level so included breakfast. In a hurry, the restaurant staff helped me get my breakfast and coffee 2 go. the next morning they did the same. Very accommodating! and very appreciated!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Beautiful historic hotel...small touches missing

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Beautiful hotel. If you like the old historic buildings, this is the hotel for you.
Cons: Housekeeping staff, or if the issues arise from management, then management needs to learn that little penny pinching issues will cost customers
Location: is within a $10 dollar taxi right from Nokia Theatre, Staples Center and LA Live
Good service from most staff, very professional and fast. Bell desk and valet provided very fast service. Ate dinner at Smerelda's and was very unimpressed. Menu was limited. Bread was microwaved! Food was less than tasty. Pasta was over cooked. Prices were for much higher quality food. Hotel did not offer a cafe style restaurant for a quick bite to eat after 6:00 pm. Small but important issues that arose: bathroom had two towels, we had three people in room (all registered), Had to call for more towels on both days we were there and housekeeping did not replace almost empty toilet paper. Had to call to have replaced when it ran out. Both calls were answered quickly, but still should not have had to make those calls. Another item noticed was that carpet in hallway was not installed properly and had a bubble that ran down the entire center of the hall. The carpet caused more than one person in our party to trip as they walked, fortunately no one fell. Would not like to have negotiated the hallway as an older person. On a very positive note: the hotel is very sound proof. We noticed very little outside sound while in the room. We were on 5th floor and could hear more from street then from other rooms. $45 a night for valet, $10 a night for WiFi (which seemed reasonable and worked well), CA taxes, Los Angeles taxes, Local taxes...after all was said and done cost for two night stay was almost equal to another night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Internet & parking

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Good place access to downtown
Cons: Internet free parking for hotel
Location: Close to downtown and walking to few coffee shop and restaurants
No internet access ,parking charge of 45 dollar every time to us or daily
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2015
The hotel was very outdated. Everything needed to be replaced in the room, carpet was tattered, bedskirt was ripped. The bathroom was tiny and the floor stained. The staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good experience

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Overall. the room was clean or appeared to be clean, I found some hair on the bathroom floor and tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely experience

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: comfortable bed with great pillows; fabulous old bar.
Cons: amenities, i.e. full length mirror, free WiFi
Location: close to Disney Hall, excellent restaurants
Just what we wanted for a single romantic night in downtown LA before going to a Disney Hall concert. perfectly located, historical ambience, like a step back in time.