Ratings based on 2,566 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Not bad place to stay, but I can't forget a rough bath room sink repair leftover (yellow ugly glue all the way between wall and sink). I understand this is an old hotel, but I would expect to see a professionally maintained bathroom especially I had to pay this amount. I will consider to stay somewhere else next time we go to DTLA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chino Hills, CA

Construction Noise

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Convenient to a conference I was attending.
Cons: The bathrooms need to be updated.
Location: I attended a conference near by.
Overall I had a good experience at this very beautiful and opulent historic hotel, however there was road construction outside my window that kept me up half of the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Biltmore

Posted Oct 24, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Biltmore and loved the art deco interior. It is in a good location for sightseeing in Downtown LA. Our room was on the 11th floor, over looking a courtyard. The room was large, clean and the bed very comfortable. The downside was that there was a constant noise from somewhere in the courtyard, of what I believe was a heating or air conditioning unit. Some of the lifts were not working and where slow to arrive when called. These were minor irritations We would definitely stay at the Biltmore again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

The central location was great.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The lobby is great. The restaurant in the hotel had an amazing breakfast buffet and the hotel staff there was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The room could be freshened up.
Location: The restaurant Water was right there. The food there is amazing. Fantastic.
I thought the room would be a little fancier. The lobby is great. The room could be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

100 years old and still looking great

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The history and location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close enough to go to Hollywood, Rodeo drive, Santa Monica, etc..
We went on vacation. I was looking for a hotel with an indoor pool. This hotel has a lot of character. Yes it's old but very well preserved and cared for. This hotel does NOT smell old. It looked awesome. You will marvel at the ceilings, walls and doors. I went back in time where the movie stars went to the Oscars. Loved it. Location was excellent, close to beaches and close to touristy activities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2014
This hotel has a nice lobby with a lot of seating but the hotel is old. The elevators take a long time and ended up taking the stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic piece of LA History !

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Rooms are totally basic, but the common areas of the hotel are fantastic treasures from the 1920s -- if you like history art architecture and the resurgence of downtown LA its a great little get away -- plus down town bars and restaurants lively !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tricked

Posted Oct 13, 2014
We arrived and we waited in line for 10 minutes to check in because they only had 2 people working the front desk. You look at the rooms on their site and they are nothing like what they show. You get off the elevator and the halls and room smell. They have 6 elevators and they take for ever. You go buy something in the gift shop and they charge you for bags ...really your already paying slot for your room and to eat there and they want to charge you fir a bag. I would never suggest for someone to stay there and would never stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita, CA

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Had a great one night getaway with my husband. Upon check in we upgraded to a 'club' room, and received complimentary appetizers and refreshments in the evening and continental breakfast the next morning. Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, overall a great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Classic hotel in challenging times

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: decor, rooms
Cons: competence and courtesy of staff
Location: downtown Los Angeles, good for business travelers, some pretty good restaurants right around there too such as Water Grill.
The Biltmore is a lovely old spot...worth it for the carved ceilings alone....rooms are still fine, very comfortable, spacious and clean....but...well, a huge convention was taking place there while I was there, and many Asian tours were staying...paying I suspect much less than I was charged as a one-time business traveler while making the atmosphere at times seem like Grand Central Station...restaurant prices are on the high side for the service one gets and the Singaporean restaurant, formerly the Saisai Japanese restaurant, is to be avoided; certainly for dinner most people indeed seem to be avoiding it. Personnel on the front desk are only marginally competent. One got the feeling that the Biltmore is not attracting the sort of clientele to live up to its marvelous decor and tradition or cover the overhead.