Ratings based on 869 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location, service staff
Cons: fix the A/C (or turn it on once in a while)
Location: Japanese American National Museum (JANM), Japanese American Community and Cultural Center (JACCC), Shabu Shabu house (NOT for vegetarians!)
Very convenient to Little Tokyo, JACCC, JANM. I got a room at the last minute, due to some scheduling changes and availability. I got a very nice room on the 7th floor and was there for 2 nights. I think it would have been cheaper if I hadn't had to book it the night before I went, but the $14 valet charge was actually $18 $1.80 tax per day, so closer to $20/day. If I had known that, I would have gone to the attached public parking, which is $10/weekday and $5/weekend. The A/C turned off after the first night and never came back on again. This has happened to us before in this hotel, I think they do it on purpose. However, the weekend temps were in the 70's to low 80's, so as long as the fan was on, we were comfortable. In-room safe, refrigerator, and coffee made it very convenient for us and all our gear. Beds (2 queen) were super comfortable. Service staff were great, front desk was very polite and accommodating, maid service was timely and unobtrusive. Bell desk was quick and efficient. I didn't have any problems with noise, either from other rooms or the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Excellent spa, cordial staff, very convenient valet parking.
Located in the center of Little Tokyo, Hotel Miyako offered an economical and convenient stay. Could not be more pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel good area

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Stayed 3 nights, friendly staff clean hotel in a part of town where, if you like walking is ideal
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Room Condition

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The staff was very pleasing and the restaurant was rated A - very good sushi chef.
Cons: Fix the toilet and shower so that taking a shower will be more relaxing.
Location: Tokyo Mall was within walking distance.
The toilet wall paper is peeling and there's obvious signs of tear on the wall and tiles. The shower was very disappointing as you cannot adjust the shower head for rain shower. The water was shooting out in a sharp downward motion and it hurts your body as it hits it. Taking a shower was the worst part of all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

One of the best of the downtown LA hotels

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location was conveniently close to the courts and other downtown amenities and I like Little Tokyo for some of the better restaurants and bars.
Cons: I realize its in the middle of the downtown area but I think hotels should reserve spots in lots for their guests and arrange for discounted prices.
My biggest complaint was the parking situation which was in a public lot. Otherwise, the hotel staff was extremely professional and the property was managed well. The hotel has a restaurant on the second floor which has well prepared foods and drinks. There is also a spa but I didn't get a chance to try it out as my schedule was pretty full.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Acceptable

Posted Jun 29, 2014
The room we were awarded as we booked through Expedia were classified as 'run off the mill'. Really not very appealing but dingy, back store and no sun light. was not impressed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Hotel Miyako a pleasant surprise!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
I'm not extremely familiar with downtown Los Angeles and was a bit apprehensive about staying in "Little Tokyo". The immediate neighborhood was a bit shabby, but seemed safe and the hotel itself was very clean, comfortable, nice amenities and central to all areas of downtown. My friend and I used Uber to get to several bars and restaurants. Price was extremely affordable and I would stay at Hotel Miyako again without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo from Perth, Australia

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Clean, close to metro, a lot of eating places nearby. Although the majority are Japanese eateries ranging from cheap eats to moderate price range in Little Tokyo. We walked around downtown where most of the hotels were but there were not a lot of eating places and we didn't feel safe late at night, so I am glad we chose this area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ben from KY

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Little Tokyo area is interesting
Cons: Great spa with good guest rate but no pool or fitness facility
Location: Japanese cuisine and museum
Great staff- very helpful. Spa is excellent. Coffee shop is good. The room is clean and affordable Centrally located in Little Tokyo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by richard from LV

Good location

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Good choice to experience little Tokyo. That's why it get 4 stars instead of 3