Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Work In Progress

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Great location, nice rooms with comfortable beds. The lobby was under construction and the temporary lobby location was only big enough for 4 people. I would go back to this hotel when the new lobby is completed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacks necessities, has style

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The comforter was comfy.
Cons: Vending machine, better staff, bigger rooms, better parking situation
Location: Located near the park and Santa Monica pier. Little bit of a walk to the pier. Also shopping behind hotel.
Ocean View is a hotel that is trying too hard to be upscale. The rooms are incredibly small and lack basic amenities in the hotel, such as a vending machine. They are upgrading but room size is still an issue but they spent all the money in things that are not necessary, sheets on the bed and bathroom fixtures. The lady at the front desk, at night, had no people skills and they charge for everything. I booked a room with a balcony, thinking it was going to be a beautiful view of the ocean, and it was of an inner "courtyard." Not sure who would need to overlook their neighbors. They also don't tell you that it is $20 For parking per night and the parking lot is downright dangerous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beryl from Melbourne, Australia

Quick Stay

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to the beach and Third Street Promenade
Cons: Staff being a little more knowledgeable about charges for storing bags on day of departure. Joy is an awesome, helpful staff member.
Location: Awesome Location. Santa Monica Pier. Shopping. Great Restaurants. Movies
My daughter and I had a three night stay here and even though they are currently renovating the lobby our room had already been renovated and was very well presented and comfortable. We had a great ocean view and also a great view of the Santa Monica Pier. Would definitely like to stay here again if I ever get the chance to travel to America again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, AR

Nice upgrades.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: dvr for tv, vent fan in bathroom.
Location: right next to S.M. pier
Lobby still under construction, 4th floor room, ocean view was awesome. Great shower, good beds, fridge and Keurig. Staff great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable place to stay

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Location, laid back.
Cons: Better value for money.
Location: Rd street promenade for shopping
High season, weekend, expensive place for accom,m so not really very good value but that was to be expected.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Views disappointing

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Only the location, across from beach.
"Courtyard view" was concrete parking lot. Entrance through parking lot, poorly informed and ill-equipped staff. All-in-all poor experience and far from expectations for my $335 per night room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from New Zealand

Super comfy and clean

Posted Jun 7, 2014
We loved it here, we had just arrived from a 15 hour flight from New Zealand and it was 10am in the morning. We knew that check-in was not until 4pm but they had a room for us and let us check-in early. This made our day and we all had an hour nap before hitting the shops. Perfect location as it is only two mins to the Pier and so close to shops and caf├ęs. The staff were so helpful and the beds were so comfy. Unfortunately we were woken at 3am by outside noise as we had a room with a balcony that overlooked the carpark so this was only thing about the room that was not so private/quiet. WiFi was great and we were always able to connect. No pool but with sea right across the road, that was all good. A great stay at Ocean View Hotel, thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karin from Newcastle

Amazing view, gorgeous room.

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: View from balcony Location, close to pier, within walking distance to Venice Beach and shops. Lots of great restaurants. Standard of room.
Cons: Nothing, totally loved it.
Location: Santa Monica pier Venice Beach Shops and restuarants.
I was a little apprehensive about staying at the Ocean View as I'd read some awful reviews after booking. However when I arrived I was really impressed. I upgraded for an extra charge, to a room on the sea front. The room had recently been refurbished and the decor was gorgeous, done out in blue and white which fitted really well with the beach location. The view from the balcony was amazing, so worth the extra money. The hotel was only a short walk from the Santa Monica pier which could also be seen from balcony. It was awesome to look at on a night time, all lit up. Venice beach and shops were both within walking distance. I had a great time here and if I come back to Santa Monica I would stay at the Ocean View Hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Calgary, Canada

Good location.

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The room and the location.
Cons: Room cleaning and different cab recommendations.
Location: Beautifully located for access to the beach, the pier, shopping and restaurants/bars.
Doing renovations so hard rate exterior and lobby, but room was comfortable...bathroom fab. We stayed for 8 nights and our room was not vacuumed once. Office staff very helpful, however, they recommended a cab service attached to the hotel, which charged exorbitant rates...$10:00-15:00 over what we had been told the fare would be. Not god business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Overall great. Overpriced. Hotel staff were super nice. Super clean room. Very nice view