Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Pool, layout.
Cons: More soundproofing
It's a great hotel, but a little loud. You can hear your neighbors conversations next door, owing to the older construction. And the sheets, oddly, were loud as well, as if they were too starched.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central & old fashioned style Hotel.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
We had a very pleasant 3 night stay. The bed was a bit lumpy on one side but the Ocean view & general comfort was very nice. The restaurant on site was good. A bit on the pricey side. We did not use the valet park because there was plenty of public parking 5 hrs at a time across. We will go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NNYC

This is such a wonderful place

Posted Mar 31, 2015
This was my family's fifth annual stay @ Oceana...we just love it from the cold glass of Prosecco at arrival to the really spacious and lovely decor in the suite to the perfect little pool in the inside courtyard (yes, very Melrose Place) to the great breakfast buffet (best link pork sausages on the planet) to a really caring and attentive staff, this is definitely our go-to spot in Santa Monica
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nancy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2015 
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JEFFfrom california

Great place!

Posted Feb 17, 2015 
Awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ianfrom Perth Australia

Great place to stay even if a little pricey!

Posted Feb 17, 2015 
Excellent hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff. Watch out for the extras. $32 a night for what exactly? Pool towels, bikes? Didn't use the restaurant. Price per night doesn't reflect total cost with taxes etc etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2015 
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

New Favorite Place to Stay in Santa Monica

Posted Jan 15, 2015
I travel to LA at lease once a month. Hotel Oceana is my new favorite place to stay. The staff was great. Rooms were really comfortable and the food was excellent. Valet was quick…this can be a real problem at beach hotels. Can't wait to go back!! Loved it!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms but cold receptionists

Posted Jan 14, 2015 
This is a good hotel if you're looking for something close to the Third Street Promenade or the SM Pier. It is NOT right on the beach, but rather across the street, in a mostly residential neighborhood. It's a cute and intimate hotel, but for the same price I would go with a friendlier staff like the Viceroy or Huntley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Q., NorCal

Great location

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Love this hotel. Only negative was that foot traffic noise from the stone floors in the lobby was easily heard in the room. Other than that everything was perfect.