Ratings based on 1,472 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
It was absolutely the best hotel I have ever stayed but only I was not happy about it was hearing lots of noise from next door or upstairs people.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review and are thrilled to hear that we have topped your list! We are sorry for the noise level you experienced during your stay and will take your feedback into high consideration. Thank you again and we can't wait to have you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

I'll be back next year!

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The view of the water, the proximity to walkways and sea life, the bike rentals, the staff, the lobby, most everything
Cons: They could offer bike trailers for kids so we wouldn't have to pay for that at another location.
Location: Redondo Beach and Hermosa Beach, the pier with shops and games, restaurants
I brought my husband and two kids (aged 1.5 and 3.5) on a long weekend for my birthday. We all absolutely loved the hotel. The lobby has a gorgeous view of the water, and you walk right outside to a pathway that runs along the water where you can see sea lions, boats, and pelicans throughout the day. The hotel sits right on a marina and along the edge of the marina, you can walk and look for fish and sting rays - a fun daily routine for the family! There are several family-friendly restaurants close, and some nicer ones within walking distance if you want a fancier night out. The complimentary bikes are a huge plus, although we ended up paying to rent bikes at a close-by store so we could have a trailer for the kids to ride in and we didn't have to worry about bringing the bikes back within their two-hour limit. We had such a lovely stay that we have vowed to make this a yearly thing - so we'll be back next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family were able to experience many of the unique features we have to offer on our private peninsula! We thank you again for your comments and look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kansas city& san diego

Beautiful property in magical marina! Like home!

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Love the Baleen restaurant and staff! Food superb.
Cons: Seems rare to pay for internet these days! Parking pricey, but real estate at beach is premium.
Location: Restaurants and beach life!
I stay 1 week while helping my 24 year old son relocate to South Bay Area from Denver. Front desk staff, parking bell desk and all other guest services superb. Son had no hot water for first 6 days in his new apartment so Claire arranged for a rollaway so he could stay the nights b4 starting his new job! Hot showers were good! Everyone gracious!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Emily , Hotel Management
We appreciate your review and are very pleased to hear that Claire and the rest of the Portofino staff took such great care of you and your son. We hope to see you back soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ofräscht

Posted May 12, 2015
Rummen luktade av en blandning mellan rök och airfreshner. Det var mögel på badrummet. Vi fick byta rum tre gånger men det blev inte bättre. Omgivningarna var fina och häftigt med sjölejon och sälar utanför.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mississauga, Ontario

Something went very wrong in 16 months

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Location is quite good. It isn't a beach hotel, but is right on the water. An oceanview room gets you a fair bit of peace and quiet
Cons: Staff is nice, lots of smiles, but it does not make up for an old hotel and a bad experience. Focus on customer experience and not just being nice.
Location: Decent location, near Redondo pier, near beaches, not too far from LAX and other attractions.
This is not a 4 star hotel; it is at best a 3 star that is reaching. Our recent stay was a 2nd time there. 1st time we were disappointed with the property but staff and service were over the top. This time we were just plain disappointed. We had filthy windows in our ocean view room (looked like they had been sneezed on repeatedly) that were not cleaned after repeated requests, ripped screen that took 2 days to replace and when it was, it was after we inquired where it went and then was installed at 11:00 at night, service staff that left our ground floor room unattended and unlocked all day, our rental car was damaged in Valet parking, Mail that I had sent to the hotel was never delivered until inexplicably the staff went on an expedition around the property to find it (It was in the Valet cabinet..?) , TV only worked intermittently, and our bill had several over charged items at check out. Very different experience from the March 2014 visit. We travel extensively, usually we stay at 4 and 4.5 star properties. Portofino has lots to aspire to in order to justify a 4 star rating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Relaxing hotel next to the marina and beach

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING! The nautical theme, the little merchandise you can buy, like a deck of Portofino cards, and the staff!!!
Cons: I have no complaints! If I had to find one thing, it would be the club crowd hanging around they were a little loud at times outside under our balcony
Location: Portofino is at the Kings harbor and isn't to far from a pier, a beach, a marina, they also rent out bikes which I have to try next time!
This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at the Portofino. It is an amazing place to stay. Great service, great food at the Baleen, and comfortable, spacious rooms for a great price!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Poor room

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The counter people spoke good English and were friendly and helful
Cons: The view and condition of the room
Location: Food, shops, and ocean in walking distance
The sink had rust in it (needs to be replaced) the mirror was old (needs to be replaced) When we woke up the next AM the room was too hot 74. There is a lock on the AC that keeps it off if the window is open. We had the window open so we could enjoy the cool night air and hear the seals. The view was poor all we could see was parts of small boats in the marina.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are very sorry that our room did not meet your expectations and will be sure to take your observations into consideration for improvements. Please note that the ocean side of the hotel has the most optimal views of the harbor and we do hope to see you again to experience them. Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Just missing that extra 5% to make it exceptional

Posted May 9, 2015
Cons: The one thing I was absolutely shocked were the parking rates. $27 a day can add up very quickly.
Location: Polly's On the Pier for breakfast. We loved it so much we were there almost every morning.
The hotel is an odd mix. There are times when it feels like a 2-star hotel and time when it feels like a 7-star hotel. It's obvious that the hotel used to be something else before being taken over and revamped, shown by the small layout and the not-so-fresh old scent in the rooms. However, there is a charm that feels very warm and exceptional. The lobby is a great place to relax, and while the ocean view isn't really overlooking the ocean, we liked it because it just felt calm and serene.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review and thank you for staying with us. The old charm of the hotel coupled with our extensive renovations is exactly what sets us apart and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. Thank you again for sharing your comments we can't wait to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, better service.

Posted May 6, 2015
Really nice beautiful rooms, nicely located, great service, I am already thinking to take my family there for a vacation, this time is for business.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
We appreciate your kind review and can't wait to take care of you and your family on your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good experience

Posted May 5, 2015
Nice accommodations. EXCELLENT staff! Balcony view of the ocean is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your guestroom and the wonderful views of the Pacific. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit!