Ratings based on 1,090 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fullerton, CA

Nice Hotel!! Great Water Views!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
My first time staying here. Very classy and upscale! Lots of great eateries and sight seeing!! I had a relaxing stay. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Australia

Great motel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Great motel very clean very helpful staff. Motel offers free bicycle hire and is a short ride to Hermosa beach area. Close to the Pier area. Parking is $26 valet or self park. The beds where ok could do with an upgrade but still comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from abertillery

Gorgeous hotel - choose ocean view

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Lovely hotel with very helpful staff. Make sure you upgrade if possible to the ocean view as you won't regret it :-) would definitely stay here again. The baleen restaurant was brill too - lovely food and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the water

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Nice pool and hot tub restaurant on site and others within walking distance in room breakfasts reasonably priced. Beautiful lobby with bar. They have a business center and exercise room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Open the patio door and the water is 10 feet away.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: More comfortable bed, it's a little hard. Also include SportsnetLA on tv.
Location: Right on water. Lots of restaurants nearby. Baleen restaurant is part of property. A little pricey and choices somewhat limited but very good.
Beautiful location, relaxing and enjoyable to sit on patio and watch the sun go down. Beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Pleasant and comfortable.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: the size, the decor, the location.
Location: Great walking and biking local.
Pleasantly surprised in all areas of the hotel. room was very comfortable and staff was helpful. spent 6 nights with nary a problem. I just wish they would'nt use those pump bottles for products in the bathroom. Music in the pretty lobby on Friday night was a nice surprise. This hotel does'nt disappoint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Great ocean views

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Views to the ocean and being on the marina as well
Location: Great seafood restaruant not even 5 min walk in the marina. 10 - 20 min walk to the pier area which has plenty of restaurants and public access beach
Reception staff weren't the happiest when we first arrived but staff did improve throughout our 3 day stay. Great looking hotel we had an ocean view room and the views were excellent. Stayed in august and the area was very quiet. Restaurant across the road in the same complex food was exceptional. Would recommend staying there if you would like a quiet and relaxing stay on the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Annelise, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments Kelly! We sincerely apologize that you were not greeted to our expectations and are happy to hear that your experience with our staff improved during your stay. We see our hotel as being a relaxing getaway and are glad you were able to enjoy the ocean views, our quiet peninsula and our marina side restaurant, BALEENkitchen! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel. It is a perfect beach experience.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Staff, proximity to so many great areas, beach feel and ease of check in
Cons: Some parts of the facilities are a bit dated---but it adds to the charm
Location: This is one of the best locations for proximity to so many great places: restaurants, Starbucks, church, beaches, rentals, bike paths etc
The room was great, the bar area off the lobby is awesome, the bikes were convenient and fun and the experience was wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Annelise, Hotel Management
Thank you Kenny! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the kind comments! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel on the water

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location on the water, comfortable rooms, courteous staff.
Cons: Parking - you are forced to either be charged to park your own car, or valet - both are the same fee.
Location: You can walk to a nearby public beach (can be crowded), fitness center, Whole Foods or a few restaurants (Red Lobster, Cheesecake Factory).
The hotel was beautiful (although a bit dated), and very comfortable. Staff very professional and responsive. I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, and was offered a $10/day credit on hotel restaurants/services if I wanted to forgoe maid services during my stay - I gladly accepted the offer and used the credit to help pay for breakfast in the hotel. I thought this was a great idea! My balcony faced the ocean, and it was nice to wake up to the ocean view, but you can not really hear the tide as you are in a little protected bay. It was important to me to stay somewhere that had a fitness gym - I did not see much information on their website for their fitness gym, so I called the hotel and they confirmed they have a gym with weights and elliptical equipment. However, when I arrived at my hotel room, there was a memo in my room indicating that the fitness gym was under renovation, and would be closed for a few days (would have been nice to know this when I booked). I was not offered any alternatives by the hotel. I did find a nearby fitness center (within walking distance), just a few blocks north, that offered a visitor pass for $25/day (which is an expense I had not factored in to my hotel stay). Overall, the room was very comfortable, the hotel staff was courteous and friendly, and the stay was enjoyable (aside from the fitness gym experience).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

pleasant hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: location,staff and the restaurant and lounge
Cons: nothing I can think of
Location: easy to get to LAX by cab, not very expensive. the beaches are fantastic, you can fish, paddle board, learn to surf and sail...lots to do !
hotel staff excellent, facility comfortable , try the bikes and go exploring, it was a great way to get a feel for the area!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Annelise, Hotel Management
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay as nothing makes us happier than a joyful guest! Thank you for the kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!