Ratings based on 1,490 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Very nice hotel, clean and located right on the water. Will visit again. Very comfortable beds, excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tubac, AZ

Great location!

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: We liked everything about this hotel.
Location: Walking distance to all the beach areas. Baleen Kitchen ---delicious meals. Courtesy bikes to use on a terrific bike trail along the beach.
My husband & I enjoyed the staff, the room in beautifully appointed and very comfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

June 17th-June 22nd

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: Get better WIFI coverage, and include all the commonly needed things in the price
Location: Joe's Crab Shack is a great place to eat. Try to sit in Christian's section. He is such a great kid!
The motel and grounds are very clean and well maintained. I took a few points off the overall rating due to the room being smaller than what I expect for the price. WIFI, while available, was poor and was not free. Really?! This is the 21st century. WIFI is free at every restaurant and coffee shop I go to. They charged $28 separately for parking. This allows them to hide some of the rate which is a rather dishonest way of doing business. Coffee was rarely available for free in the lobby like it is at every motel I have ever stayed at prior to this one. Coffee is my lifeblood. I am an addict. So the room actually cost me $28 (parking) + 12 (I think it was for WIFI) + $14 (coffee) = $54 per day above the price of the room for things that I would have gotten anywhere else at no additional cost. I hate the dishonesty of this motel's pricing! That being said, I don't think you'll find better staff anywhere. They are extraordinary! It starts with the valet meeting you and asking if there is anything they can carry in for you. The people at the desk always greeted me with smiles and asked if there was anything they could do to help. Housekeeping was very considerate of my neeeds for the room and were not at all intrusive. The bartenders were super friendly and courteous. I can't say enough good about the staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Nice hotel with a great staff!

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Amazing staff. Have had less service at much nicer and pricier resorts.
Cons: Rooms are a bit on the smaller side and there needs to be more counter space in the bathroom. The corner sink looks nice but offers no counter space.
Location: Redondo Beach Pier and Hermosa Beach are within walking distance. Theme parks are within an hour drive.
This hotels location is ideal. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Redondo pier is within walking distance but we enjoyed Hermosa Beach. The hotel offers free bike rentals which is great, cheap way to get around since there is a bike route you can take all the way to Santa Monica. I have stayed at much nicer resorts and was a little disappointed in the size of our room but the staff made up for it. We had great service from everyone from the valet, lobby bar, front desk, etc. We had a few ants in our first room and the hotel switched us to another room as soon as it was available. Claire at the front desk was great and handled the situation very well. The pool area is small but nicely landscaped and the pool was pristine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Decent hotel but not the best view nor price

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Cons: Thicker walls and/or doors between rooms. Rubber pieces to fill the gaps between door and wall.
Marina view is mediocre at best... however, the ocean view is gorgeous. The door between rooms are thin, so were the walls... I've asked to be removed from the room where the neighbors were socializing very loudly at 3am. The staff were really nice about trying to accommodate me as much as I can. 2nd night, I got moved to a better room upstairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great hotel breakfast could be better

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: The room and free bikes
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Easy to get to some great restaurants. Great cycle routes lots of seals to see.
Lovely welcome, front desk and car parking staff very good, we had breakfast on the last day but it was a disappointment not well set up. No spoons or bowls for cereal. Egg and bacon only warm. glass for orange juice not with juice but at your table.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Redondo hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
The hotel itself is old, but "remodeled". It looks beautiful but something about the air is stuffy. The coffee maker was in the bathroom of all places, very old, coffee turned out to look like water, the radios are set up for old iphones, not for new lightning cables, the pillowcase had some sort of stain. We paid for the marina view but got mostly the roundabout/parking lot view with a few boats way in back, I would not have called it Marina View. Overall it's ok but next time we will stay elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very Romantic Hotel and worth the Money!

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location! Clean, friendly staff, wonderful views.
Cons: The only thing i would improve is try to engage your customers to come back by offering special deals and discounts. That will definitely make anyone.
Location: You can go bike riding, or just walk up to the beach. Very scenic if you have a rental car. I definitely recommend getting a rental car.
I came to the Portofino Hotel May 21st through the 24th and everyday was like a dream! This was my birthday trip so I had my fingers crossed as I was approaching the hotel that it would be everything I imagined. Once you walk in, your greeted with a beautiful landscape, opened doors, and a warm welcome from the receptionist. Considering it was my birthday, they were willing to give me a free upgrade to a jacuzzi suite! The suite was very nice and clean with a beautiful view to the ocean. The jacuzzi bathroom setup was very romantic with the open doors from the bathroom to the room. I will definitely visit this hotel again and I hope to get the same treatment as I did my first visit. Readers of the Portofino Hotel reviews, please note that I will be coming back in the near future! Gene was very nice and helpful. Your hotel is in the best location of Redondo Beach! I was very pleased because I didn't want to go home!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words Greg! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your birthday getaway with us and the breathtaking ocean views from your jacuzzi suite! We can't wait to serve you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento, ca

First time, for anniversary

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Absolutely beautiful, and fun hotel to stay at. Every staff member we came in contact with made you feel like the most important guest staying there. Great pool and spa located outdoors too! Amazing time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
We are thrilled you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us and thank you for your review! We are fortunate to have such a caring and attentive staff and we couldn't be happier to hear that they took such great care of you. We'll look forward to your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
It was absolutely the best hotel I have ever stayed but only I was not happy about it was hearing lots of noise from next door or upstairs people.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review and are thrilled to hear that we have topped your list! We are sorry for the noise level you experienced during your stay and will take your feedback into high consideration. Thank you again and we can't wait to have you back!