Ratings based on 697 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor parking and poor service

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: It does have a kids' pool (4' deep). And the room was physically large enough--not cramped at the sides and foot of beds like some places.
Cons: Stair access as an alternative to elevators would be great. But the biggest need is priority and urgency in customer service.
Location: Walking distance to *nothing*: Denny's about 500 feet one way, a donut shop and fast food places a little further the other. That's it.
The 'extensive' parking is entirely garage, with low clearance. So our car with cargo box on top wouldn't fit--there are a very few spots in front of the hotel restaurant, but sometimes we were stuck parking in the residential neighborhood a block away. The staff *never* left enough towels for the number of people listed as staying in the room. The TV remote was literally held together by old duct tape, and reception and channel options were horrible. And our room keys repeatedly failed, required multiple trips back to the front desk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Horrible

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Towels were dirty, room didn't have a clean feeling at all. The air conditioning didn't get cold. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT 2.5 stars

Posted Jul 2, 2014
We recently stayed at the Ramada Plaza Hawthorne, which was situated at a convenient location (5 min south of LAX). The hotel is dated, but has a rather nice courtyard and lobby, and can be a beautiful hotel. HOWEVER, what we experienced was disappointing...Very dirty carpets meant that we had to buy slippers and wear our shoes in the room. The only ice machine was on the 2nd floor, and without a fridge, we had to refill our cold bags to keep our drinks cool and food unspoiled twice a day. We actually saw people urinating in the car park! The tight spaces in the car park was a nightmare and on the weekends, there were no spaces. Now to the room itself...Apart from the filthy carpet, the bed was firm and comfortable, the bathroom was clean, we had a quiet room and a good view of the mountains. Overall, this is not a 2.5 star hotel, and rather disappointing. However, for the money paid we paid, it isn't too bad for a short stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Not clean as one would expect. Pictures are deceiving & restaurant is open only at peak times
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

My trip to LA.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleaned and repaired.
Location: Wasn't too far from LAX.
The hotel was the worst I've ever booked. The first room had one working light bulb and the A/C was broken. The second room smelled like urine. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. It was dirty and in need of repair.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Sydney Australia

Close to the airport

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Hotel staff were friendly and helpfuL. The lifts were painfully slow. There is not much to do around the hotel but it is handy for an overnight stopover when using the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susy Q from california

Ok

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Easy,fast check in and check out. The parking spots are way to small not sure if parking was full cause was fathers day weekend. The bed was comfy, however room had a musty smell
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience Hote

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Hotel. staff was unprofessional. ..hallways was dirty. ..parking spaces was unavailable. ..
3 out of 5
by Peter from CZ, Prague

Good for the price but expected more from Ramada

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Hotel with easy access to freeways and close to LAX for good price.
Cons: Refrigerator would be in handy in the room.
Location: Location has been discussed within general experience
We spent three nights in this hotel. Some reception staff was unhelpful. Parking was awailable but dark and tight. Room was fine except for dirty outside window, loud and vibrating air conditioning, broken phone and slow and just temporarily working WiFi. Elevator is slow and feel like it will fall in anytime. Our reserved room was occupied when we came in with a room key card. Fortunately, we promptly received other room upon request. There is barely any public transportation in walking distance from the hotel. You must rely on your/rented car.
1 out of 5
by Sebastian from Houston, TX

AVOID AT ALL COST

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: CHECK OUT!
Cons: new wall paper, clean carpets, clean furniture. new tub, new sink, hot water tank, water pressure, clean windows. new curtains. cleaned windows.new TV
im not a snub that needs to stay in a five star hotel to be happy. this hotel should be closed down. till they can clean it up properly. i've stayed at many budget hotels, the amenities were decent. at this Hotel the furniture is soiled and dirty. No hot water to shower, no water pressure, maid service didn't come first day, second day came took the towels and did not replace them. bathroom tub and sink were dirty. one curtain was missing, windows are filthy. Old TV from the 1980's, with a terrible static reception, some channels cannot be viewed because of the jumpy screen. stay anywhere else but avoid this terrible place.