Ratings based on 714 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Not a 2 star hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
First of all customer service is not very professional. Why you may ask? On my first night I was sleeping and sharing the bathroom with ants and spiders. Wish I could have taken pictures. When we told the front desk we got a simple "ok I will let the maid know" as we returned to our room that night there were still there and we weren't even given the option to switch rooms. We give two stars because we got a comfortable bed and the tv worked and we didn't hear a lot of noise. Also there was no complimentary breakfast like it was stated by the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester,ny

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Location: Manhattan beach is a short 10 min drive
Needs updating badly, was disappointed that fitness facility was closed during visit. Clean towels and linens in room, but hotel is comparable to 1 star with little to no amenities. Things falling apart, need replacing, although room felt fairly clean, the hotel as a whole doesn't and doesn't feel very safe at night (we are 2 young women in our 20's). Parking garage is tight quarters, but we were driving a compact car so we didn't have any issues. Did get a quiet night sleep other than some traffic noise.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

very disappointed with this hotel, just horrible.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: cleanliness, up date it, the list could be very long
Location: it is near the international airport that is why we had 3 rooms, but would stay at a holiday inn instead.
we had 3 rooms booked to stay overnight at this hotel, it was horrible, musty, airconditioning leaked, also the kitchen did not serve breakfast until after 8am in the morning, if you could face eating in the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor parking and poor service

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: It does have a kids' pool (4' deep). And the room was physically large enough--not cramped at the sides and foot of beds like some places.
Cons: Stair access as an alternative to elevators would be great. But the biggest need is priority and urgency in customer service.
Location: Walking distance to *nothing*: Denny's about 500 feet one way, a donut shop and fast food places a little further the other. That's it.
The 'extensive' parking is entirely garage, with low clearance. So our car with cargo box on top wouldn't fit--there are a very few spots in front of the hotel restaurant, but sometimes we were stuck parking in the residential neighborhood a block away. The staff *never* left enough towels for the number of people listed as staying in the room. The TV remote was literally held together by old duct tape, and reception and channel options were horrible. And our room keys repeatedly failed, required multiple trips back to the front desk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Horrible

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Towels were dirty, room didn't have a clean feeling at all. The air conditioning didn't get cold. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT 2.5 stars

Posted Jul 2, 2014
We recently stayed at the Ramada Plaza Hawthorne, which was situated at a convenient location (5 min south of LAX). The hotel is dated, but has a rather nice courtyard and lobby, and can be a beautiful hotel. HOWEVER, what we experienced was disappointing...Very dirty carpets meant that we had to buy slippers and wear our shoes in the room. The only ice machine was on the 2nd floor, and without a fridge, we had to refill our cold bags to keep our drinks cool and food unspoiled twice a day. We actually saw people urinating in the car park! The tight spaces in the car park was a nightmare and on the weekends, there were no spaces. Now to the room itself...Apart from the filthy carpet, the bed was firm and comfortable, the bathroom was clean, we had a quiet room and a good view of the mountains. Overall, this is not a 2.5 star hotel, and rather disappointing. However, for the money paid we paid, it isn't too bad for a short stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Not clean as one would expect. Pictures are deceiving & restaurant is open only at peak times
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

My trip to LA.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleaned and repaired.
Location: Wasn't too far from LAX.
The hotel was the worst I've ever booked. The first room had one working light bulb and the A/C was broken. The second room smelled like urine. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. It was dirty and in need of repair.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Sydney Australia

Close to the airport

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Hotel staff were friendly and helpfuL. The lifts were painfully slow. There is not much to do around the hotel but it is handy for an overnight stopover when using the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susy Q from california

Ok

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Easy,fast check in and check out. The parking spots are way to small not sure if parking was full cause was fathers day weekend. The bed was comfy, however room had a musty smell