Ratings based on 1,403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, CA

For the most part, all good.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
All good for the most part. Front desk staff was good. I live a few blocks away from the hotel and just wanted to get away for the day. I was meeting a girlfriend there for the night. The front desk guy was really nice but sort of assumed I was gay. I know the area is dominately gay, doesnt mean everyone who stays there is. There were a couple times he referred to my friend that I was meeting there as "he" instead of something more appropriate. No biggie. The maids didnt know the room numbers. One of them sent me on a voyage to find my room. Allbeit, it was very little, there were crumbs of some sort on the bed. It was right on top of the covers, next to the pillows. Last, and honestly, what probably bothered me the most... the black out curtains. Since the cooling unit is in the middle of the curtains, they dont close. Maybe cut the curtains so they close over the unit. I didnt get to sleep in because of the daylight shining through.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not too good

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Located in good safe area. The hotel looks and feels more like 2 stars. Parking is $30 a day. The air conditioner in my room was located 3 feet away from my bed and it was blowing right in my face. I would stay there again only for a lot less money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Safe and secure

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking was expensive
Location: Walking distance to bar and restaurants.
Found that this hotel was central to most areas we needed to go. Safe area of LA at all hours of the day/night. Relatively good value for money too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Affordable, great location, friendly, colourful.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff who have been there years. Convenient for all the restaurants, clubs and shops I like.
Cons: The gym is small, best for cardio.
Location: Walking distance for Sunset Plaza - boutiques and restaurants. And clubs nearby for live music. Also Beverly Centre shopping Mall.
I'm a regular at this hotel. I've been coming for 15 years twice a year and don't bother hiring a car because the hotel is so well situated. I like the fact that it's very nice but affordable so I can save money to spend on other things. Nice amenities, mouthwash, moisturiser, decent hairdryer, safe, big rooms with huge mirror that covers whole of one side of the room, tastefully decorated, helpful concierges who have been there for years. Next door is Kitchen24 which is a trendy 24 hour restaurant/room service. Very pretty, colourful swimming pool and I like to visit Sunset Plaza, watch the world go by from the pretty pavement restaurants, spot the occasional star, see live bands at House of Blues, Whiskey a go go, Viper Room, Troubadour and Roxy Club. The Grove outdoor shopping centre and Famers Market is a short taxi ride away with its picturesque fountains and live music and eat at the Cheese Cake Factory. Walk down the hill for The Beverly Centre Shopping Mall with its huge variety of shops and eat world famous burgers at Johnny Rockets opposite and frozen Yogurt at Yogurtland next door. Nearby is Melrose Avenue with its high end shops like Paul Smith and Betsy Johnson - nice for a stroll even if just window shopping. Uber Taxi to Santa Monica beach and Third Street. Beverly Hills is also nearby for window shopping. If you are a tourist the Hollywood Walk of fame is also near. I liked the La Brea Tarpits, a taxi ride away where there are sabre tooth tiger remains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
A/C could not adjust with thermostat and the room was too cold or too hot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Nice hotel. A little noisy but central Hollywood location. No frills. Just clean & convenient
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona, CA

Good Location

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Location and room was comfortable. Plenty of towels which was nice.
Cons: Cokes in drink machines were to expensive. Come on- 2.00 each???
Location: Hollywood Bowl was a 40.00 cab ride one way. Didn't expect that.
Location was easy to find. Had to use parking garage which was 30.00 a night with in/out entries. Restaurant next door and was able to call for food delivery to room. That was a plus since we were going to Hollywood Bowl in a few hours. Hotel worked for us since it was only for one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Good location, but...

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The best thing I can say for the Ramada Plaza was that it was in a great location in the middle of West Hollywood. Easy transport by bus or cab to Hollywood blvd or Santa Monica. The hotel itself wasn't great. Although clean, the beds weren't that comfortable, the pillows were like sacks stuffed full of cut up couch cushions. They also had stains on the covers. Speaking of covers, there was no cover on the bed quilt either. The loud air conditioning unit outside didn't help with getting to sleep. The room safe had an error twice during our stay and refused to open so we could retrieve passports and money and had to be serviced. The elevators are ancient and made lots of unpleasant and unsettling noises on their slow and jolting trip between the lobby and the second level. The staff were not very friendly and once they saw that we had booked thru Expedia, they pretty much treated us with contempt. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you intend to be out partying all night and just need somewhere clean to use the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location spacious room

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Very pleased with this hotel for the price would definitely stay here again. Room was large airy and very clean with good sized bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
For what I was doing a more expensive hotel on west sunset would have been better. However, if you were more interested in walking to Beverly Hills or had a car this hotel offered the best bang for the buck. If your traveling for business it has a UPS Store a few feet away. I also enjoyed the adjacent restaurant and the Wells Fargo branch next door.