Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to Downtown

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The hotel had a great location and was a perfect distance for walking to downtown and the aquarium.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Very nice hotel! Staff wasn't so friendly! Hard to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, okay area

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Room size, staff, rate
Cons: Parking accessibility and rate, room cleanliness
Location: Free shuttle to downtown. Aquarium, queen mary, and some chain restaurants and boardwalk along the port.
The hotel had very nice and accommodating staff. The outdoor space was great (pool and fire pit). The rooms were very large which was great. Nice on-site laundry, mini store, and exercise space. The parking is rough, very expensive and no alternate options. We ended up parking downtown and taking the free shuttle to use our car to save money. The shuttle was very convenient. Its a free city shuttle that picks up and drops off at the hotel. The location of the hotel would be good to visit the Queen Mary or for cruise access, but for a California vacation, I would suggest going further south to Hunington Beach or Seal Beach as this hotel was pretty far removed from any beach access or tourist attractions (other than some chain restaurants and the aquarium). This is a port city and not a beach city (unless you go further south) here were also a bunch of feral cats along the shoreline in front of the hotel which was odd. Rooms could have been a bit cleaner (needed vacuuming, a tv remote, toiletries, etc).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Flor from R

Clean, Neat & Quiet

Posted Apr 21, 2014
My room was great although I didn't like the view (facing the freight docks side) but overall the room was real clean and quiet it didn't smell so that's a plus and there was a breakfast buffet included. You also have to pay for parking 17$. I Would recommend and stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Drea from San Francisco

Nice hotel that accepts pet's

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Nice hotel but free breakfast a little lack luster
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat

Another great stay

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Breakfast. Wifi. Cleanliness.
Cons: Rectangular pillows please! Who convinced the hospitality industry that those little square things were good?
Location: 15 minute walk to Queen Mary!
This is the second time we stay here and it continues to be a good value with great proximity to surrounding attractions and a free shuttle to get there. We have an 8 year-old daughter so having a sofa-bed is one of the selling points for us. As a 5 or 6 year old she didn't voice any complaints about any of the sofa beds, but now as she has gotten older and more articulate she now knows how to complain about the lack of comfort. Until the hospitality industry regains their common sense and stops using little square pillows that are too soft I will not give any hotel 5 stars. Overall this is a nice hotel, though, with a good breakfast and free wifi so I would definitely continue to go back. Its a bit isolated and hard to find until you get used to the exits around the Long Beach Port area.
5 out of 5
by D from San Jose, CA

The view outside my window was amazing.

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere.
Location: There weren't that many things to do near the location, however the stay was very peaceful.
From the time I walked in the vicinity to the time I left, I experienced nothing but a good time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Drew from San Diego, Ca

Highly Reccomend

Posted Feb 24, 2014
We only stayed for one night, but the hotel and staff were incredibly awesome. Our room was located at the very top and had a pleasant view of the water and downtown Long Beach. Our studio suite had an impressive kitchenette fully equipped with everything you would need from a stove top to a dish washer. The room itself was a perfect size for two but my only complaint would be the minimal space in the bathroom vanity. We didn't have time to check out the pool amenities, but thought it was pretty cool that it was along the water outside. We're already looking to coming back for the Grand Prix and will definitely be staying at The Residence Inn!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Choice for Pre-Cruise

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Large room with sitting area. Excellent free breakfast. Close to lots of restaurants. Directly on the free Passport bus route.
Cons: Free shuttle to the pier would definitely be appreciated!
Location: Shoreline Drive and The Pike are just across the bridge...walkable, or a very short drive, or easy to access by the free Passport bus system.
Our shuttle from LAX had trouble getting into the hotel. It was easy to see from the road, but difficult to tell exactly where to enter. For future travelers....tell your driver to go through the security gates as if to park. There will be no fee for a drop-off. The hotel staff members were very cheerful and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. We had a kitchen corner with full sized fridge and microwave, and a compact dishwasher. Fully outfitted with dishes, cutlery, cookware, etc. Table with chairs, desk with chair, sofa and armchair, nice new television, huge comfy bed, nice walk-in shower with glass doors. We easily found the Passport bus stop just around the side of the hotel...it's a free local shuttle that goes along Shoreline Drive [lots of restaurants there, and shopping] and also goes up Pine Avenue to the Walmart [not a great neighbourhood, but perfect for picking up last-minute pre-cruise needs]. The complimentary breakfast was excellent....abundantly supplied, and lots of items. Seating area had lots of tables, plus the lobby had more sitting areas if needed. There was even a pop machine, for those like me who prefer their morning caffeine in cold not hot beverage! We didn't try the pool or any other services. There is no free shuttle from the hotel to the Carnival cruise pier, but the front desk staff happily called a taxi for us, and the fare was only about $10.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jon from Sunnyvale Ca

Out of the hustle retreat

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I like this hotel because it is away from down town. I have stayed here on three ocassions while attending trade shows. The staff are always pleasant, service is prompt,and breakfast is included. The breakfast is my only complaint,It could be much better.Overall the rooms are great,spacious and have great kitchens and lounge ares.A place for the laptop and a great shower.What else do you need?