Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Guatemala, central america

very good personal and service, congratuletions

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: is centric
Cons: nothing, everything was good
Location: go to the beach, de aquarium an some stores
I went to visit my family and recive them in the motel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Forth Worth, TX

Can't beat it for the money!

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Quality for the price! Great location in Long Beach, inbetween the airport and downtown. Great Cable TV with HBO.
Cons: They issued the 'old fashioned' motel key, not a card key. There was a $5 deposit which was cash only. Beware...have $5 cash for the kep deposit!
Location: It's halfway between Long Beach Airport and Downtown. The neighborhood is Little Cambodia with lots of ethnic restaurants and stores.
Normally, I stay at the Super 8 on PCH @ the Traffic Circle in Long Beach. However, this trip the 8 wanted almost $90 including taxes. After reading the reviews, I decided to stay at the Royal Inn. I got the room off Expedia for $62 including all taxes and fees! Let's be real people, don't expect a Hilton, Hyatt, or any upper end facility! However, if you're like me, and stay at Super 8s, Motel6s, etc, and other budget hotels/motels, please consider this. The area at Anaheim and Cherry isn't pristine, but it's located in Little Cambodia, and has lots of interesting restaurants from Mexican, Thai, to Cambodian (of course). Room size is relative small (comparable to Motel6), but clean and cozy. The room offers big screen TV with Charter Cable of Long Beach, and more channels that most expensive hotels. Expect towels and soaps to be budget motel quality. There is no interior check in area, you have to stand outside while checking in. And like I've read on other reviews, communication is challenging, but the people are very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Hotel staff was rude. I said "how are you?" and there was no reply during check in. They asked for a CASH deposit which was weird. Bad location and hotel was very old. The photos are deceiving. The hotel bed was hard and only had one very flat pillow.. I used my luggage to add additional head support. During check out in the morning I said "Good morning" and they didn't reply. Overall a poor hotel and rude staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for short cheap stay

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Booked this spot just for a place to rest for 9 hours, at around $54, one of best prices in the area. Bathroom is really narrow. Toilet flapper didn't work well, we ended up giving it a manual tap each time we flushed so the toilet wouldn't keep draining. Bed faced the window directly, not the TV. TV was off to the left side of the bed. Heating unit quite loud. There is a $5 cash key deposit that is refunded when you check out. Parking area is well lit.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Clarita, CA

Horrible hotel. Location is also not attractive.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
This hotel is in terrible condition. It is dirt and old. Also rude manager.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Knock it down abd build a proper motel
Location: Awful
Seedy unpleasant place. Rubbish! Poor district, poor amenities and not for holiday stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Well Kept, Nice Staff & Free Wifi

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Definitely worth it. This is a quaint late 80s/early 90s style motel that is well kept. There is room service and someone cleaning the exterior regularly. Staff AKA owners are nice and polite. Room was clean, sheets and towels replaced regularly. Our room had an amazing A/C system and they offer free parking and free wifi (annoying to reconnect every so often but it is what it is). You're paying quite a low rate, and since you're not really hanging out in the room, it's not that bad. Comes with free local calls, and a bunch of TV channels to watch plus a mini fridge to store your stuff. Shower and bathroom is clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Harley Rhodes

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room smelled like smoke and air freshner, even though it was a non smoking room. Hotel attendant thst checked us in, didn't have any good customer service. Nice room, but you would never know that looking at the outside. ....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Terri Marplefrom Long Beach

Definitely Recommended

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would stay there again... It was reasonably priced, very clean, and appears to be family run, which I enjoy! Even when we checked out, tbey came all the way out to us and shook our hands... nice!