Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Cons: No ice
Location: Santa Monica pier
Enjoyed the weather and proximity to the beach, as well as the Big Blue bus which took us to the airport for $1 each.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin, Ireland

Affordable in santa monica

Posted Apr 6, 2015
This is a basic, but functional motel, ideal for a one or two night stay. There are no frills, aclean bed and bathroom. The staff are all friendly and helpful. If you want something more opulent in santa monica fine, but it will cost a lot more. Here you get value for what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

pleasant stay.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly, quiet. Cons: No AC, difficult parking, bathroom had no fan, and window opens to the street leaving you exposed The hotel was nice, and was pretty close to the beach. We only stayed one night so I can't comment on the maid service, but the room was very clean when we arrived. The sheets looked and felt fresh, the bathroom was clean. There weren't any stains on the floor or walls, in fact the carpet looked new. It was a small room but we knew it wasn't going to be very large based on what we were paying, especially for how close it was to the beach. It was a cozy room and we enjoyed it. The weather was very nice out, so the ceiling fan was perfect for us, but I do need to mention they don't have AC in the room. We came from 90 degree weather in Vegas to 70 degree weather so it wasn't something we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great find

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Price, comfort and free parking.
Cons: Beds
Location: Very close to Santa Monica Pier and Place
We were skeptical about the location and the noise level, as well as the condition, given the price. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, quiet and condition of our room. What great value for money. The only thing we were disappointed with were the beds. They were very noisy whenever we moved in them. The lady at reception was kind enough to check us in, even though we arrived before check-in time.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

An old hotel in need of attention

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Add amenities to the room such as AC and a fridge, buy more comfortable beds and add some Wifi repeaters for better wireless coverage.
Location: The fancy Santa Monica Promenade is not too far away, but I recommend visiting the local dive bar around the corner.
The Santa Monica hotel feels like it's an outdated place in dire need of some changes to make it worth staying at. First the good: The hotel is located not too far from the Santa Monica Promenade and the local college. The not so good: The beds are stiff, uncomfortable and make a lot of noise when you're simply shifting around. The bathrooms lack fans and instead have a window that opens to the street so anyone can happily stare at you, going about your business. The rooms don't have a refrigerator which seems like a huge oversight and if you plan to use WiFi to hop on the internet, check your mail, etc., then you have to be extremely patient since the WiFi at this hotel is weak and very slow. The controls for dimming the lights in the room and controlling the fan speed are very hard to press, the closet lacks a door I had hair from what I assume is the maid in my towels, bed sheets and pillow covers and the rooms come with what I would describe as the smallest soap bars ever made. Everything about this hotel screams budget. It's as if the owner is trying to purposely set the bar as low as possible so any change is seen as a massive improvement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Last minute booking at Santa Monica

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: It's location.
Cons: The rooms were nice, clean and bright. The hotel is looking a bit dated, but that's only on the outside.
Location: The pier. The shops. Bus stop out front. Take out across the road. Very convenient.
We had to change our hotel arrangements at the last minute and the Santa Monica Hotel was available at the time we needed. The hotel was in a convenient location. Our room was clean and light and even had a refrigerator. The hotel staff were always helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lilianafrom NATAL

RAZOÁVEL

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Fui a passeio com a minha família e não tenho muito o que reclamar do Motel. A única coisa que não me agradou muito foi o banheiro super apertado e o aparelho de calefação muito próximo da cama. O wi-fi também não era muito bom. Tínhamos que ir para fora do quarto ou para perto do Lobby para conseguir um sinal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colinfrom Woodbridge, NJ

No amenities for the price

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hotel needs basic Housekeeping. No Ice machine, the room is bare with no telephone, cups, face tissue
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christianfrom Åsa

Bra läge nära Santa Monica Beach

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
Läget är det enda som hjälper upp betyget. Motellet är gammalt och slitet och du kan inte räkna med några bekvämligheter annat än en säng. Fick till och med fråga efter muggar och toalettpapper. Med tanke på hur mycket de tar betalt och de förväntningar det medför kan jag inte rekommendera detta motell. Själv skulle jag kunna tänka mig att bo här igen, men skulle verkligen försöka välja ett annat ställe först. För ärligheten och omdömets skull skall nämnas att receptionisten var trevlig.