Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Jamie from Livingston, Scotland

A big disappointment and poor value.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The location close to the beach.
Cons: Better beds required, wi-fi connection needs fixed, or they should stop advertising wi-fi in all rooms. Maintenance required on a lot of fixtures .
Location: Not much in walking distance other than the beach, pier and a couple of bars caf├ęs and basic shopping.
We arrived to find a mix up with our booking dates, the hotel had us arriving on the day we were due to depart. They managed to find us rooms but had to change rooms after the first night.To be fair one of the nights was in a higher spec room at no extra charge. The hotel comprises four separate buildings on the four corners of a road junction, one of the roads was quite busy. Both our rooms were across the busy road away from the front desk and pool so not exactly convenient. In neither room were we able to get a working wi-fi connection and contradicting explanations from staff about the issue. The rooms were very basic, tired uncomfortable beds, cheap flimsy plantation shutters in poor condition, a missing slat in one room and while the basic cleanliness was ok they could use a deep clean and refit. This hotel plays strongly on its position close to the beach and I felt short-changed in terms of comfort and value. I would not visit again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming and well-run, but behave!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Cute balcony spaces. Bikes.
Cons: Pool hours are not posted. I thought I was taking a quiet swim after 8 am .. the manager came and shushed me saying the pool was not open til 9.!
Location: Proximity to Manhattan Beach and the bike/pedestrian trail.
I chose this place because it advertised free use of bicycles. My mate and I got a cute balcony room. We don't like overly fancy places and don't need a lot of space. The neighborhood is cute. I was a bit taken aback when the manager sprung the 3-hour time limit for the bicycles on us at the last minute. We had imagined a stress free cruise down the fabulous bike path on the beach just down the hill, from where we were located in Manhattan beach, down to Hermosa, Redondo and back. Instead I had to keep an eye on my watch - unnecessarily - since no one was waiting for the bikes when we returned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dave from East Lansing, MI

Great staff and a nice surprise

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Staff was more than helpful, and both rooms we saw were well kept and uniquely quirky. And the location is without equal.
Cons: I was more comfortable sleeping on the floor of this hotel than in beds at other hotels on our trip. Only issue was with scratchy towels for shower.
Location: 3 blocks from the beach, great neighborhood with lots of cafe choices and cool shops. About a mile walk to the pier and downtown Manhattan Beach.
We arrived late for the first night of our 2 night stay, and the only room left had just one double bed for our 3 person family. Josh at the front desk was very apologetic and helped round up enough linens for me to sleep comfortably on the floor, with the assurance that we would be moved to another room the next night. The next morning, we were pleasantly surprised to find out that we were now in a huge 2 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen and living area with an ocean view! It almost made us think twice about leaving the room to go anywhere...and we were only charged the rate of the first room. We are anxiously looking forward to the next time we can visit - thanks Sea View Inn!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recreation

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Nice experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aaron from F.

Vacation on the beach

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Amazing hotel with amazing views! Will be back for sure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aussie Cel from PNG

Clean, close to beach, best mattress!

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Cute hotel in great area, close to organic cafes, two cool bara, best pizza within 2mins walk, right next to super market. Beach is 5 mins walk. Room was a last minute booking so had one directly above reception which was a lottle noisy. Otherwise it was clean, modern and the most luxurious mattress on bed. I flew in at 8am and the helpful manager let me check in early at no extra cost. Lots of free hire (bikes, beach towels etc). Would definitely stay again, highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margot from Massachusetts

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Ocean view rooms had an amazing view and the hotel was close to the ocean. Great neighborhood.
Cons: Balconies facing the ocean would be nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lex from Helena, MT

Great place, great stay.

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: The staff, especially. Super!
The friendliest hotel staff ever! Wonderful people. Close to the beach, great promenade to walk on. Weather is perfect in September - not too warm, not too cool. Close to lots of great seafood restaurants. Good places for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Comfortable, easy, and relaxed. Good view of the ocean from some, but not all, rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Palm Springs, CA

Excellent location

Posted Sep 20, 2013
I am rating this hotel excellent because of its location. It is a clean, decent hotel. If you are looking for a break from the daily grind, no need to go too far. If you want a healthy place which is walking distance to a well maintained, clean beach, and amenities such as gym, juice place, yoga shop, then this is the place to go. This place is also less than 2 miles from Whole Foods ('nuff said!) and close to Walgreens. The beach is a non-smoking area which makes it so safe to jog/walk, etc without the fear of 2nd hand smoke. I took a walk by the beach almost everyday and the breeze was refreshing. While at the beach, I enjoyed the sight of kids playing in the sand and feeling so safe because of its cleanliness, lifeguards, and nearby amenities such as restroom and mini-restaurant. If you are taking kids and the family with you to the beach and don't want to walk from the hotel, drive thru 45th street to be able to park your car at the beach. The meter takes credit cards; my cost was approx less than $3.00 for for up to 2 hours. The staff was nice and accommodating. Hotel services include: free wifi, free use of beach chairs and towels (check with staff for more details).