Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from abq New Mexico

Basic but best price around

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We went for the beach, so the price and location was very good, they also include breakfast, not a lot but still good, cook was very friendly and the rest of the staff too. Building still need more renovations. If you plan to stay a lot of time on your room may need to look some where else. WE liked, it is close to the beach and many places, lots of places to eat and shop. Close to LA, disneyland and the beach
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulare county

run down disappointment

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the marina, the size of the grounds, pet friendly
Cons: everything.
Location: close to marina, boating, fishing, restaurants, shopping, Queen Mary, Catalina Cruises
the grounds and pool are in poor shape. the hotel is very run down. TV reception is snowy on every channel. The room phone had all the keys broken off. The A/C very loud all night. The iron was broken, but they replaced it with one that worked. The sliding door in the room was almost impossible to open and close. The hallways are lit with unwelcoming flourescent lights. The steps to the cafe were missing planks. The pool pump was broken and the water too murky to swim in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lbc

Resort lobby but motel rooms

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Great location but place needs some upkeep. We had the place to ourselves, so that was nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buildings are separataed and can be far from lobby

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything from the write-up indicating that full dining was available to providing some sort of transporting peoplle from distant buildings.
Location: The marina is nearby and restaurants are close by. The Best Western Golden Sails Hotel located several blocks away would have been a better choice.
Housekeeping staff can't count and kept leaving only 1 washcloth, no matter what one tells them. In addition, the rooms are located in a number of buildings which can be some distance from the lobby and they don't offer any porter service and called a maintenance man to help with the luggage. Our room was about a hundred yards from the lobby and since we didn't have a car, it was a rather long walk to our room. Meals(breakfast and lunch only) were also served in the same building as the lobby, and was somewhat of a chore since the wife has trouble walking. The hotel did not have any means of transporting people from buildings located some distancee from the main lobby such as a golf cart, making it difficult to get to the restaurant for breakfast. It was not ideal, to say the least. In addition, it is also used as a sort of dormitory for students at some college in the area. I would not recomment this venue to anyone.
1 out of 5
by daphne049

I'm angry that I paid money to sleep here.

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff were nice and doing the best they could given the circumstances.
Cons: Everything other than the staff could be improved - from the parking lot to the rooftops.
Location: A lot of chain restaurants, plus a beach and marina within walking distance.
This hotel is a pit in a decent area. The first night there was no hot water. The next morning the water was shut off for the entire building with no notice for the entire day. Then our key cards stopped working. Our coffee table was literally being held together with silver duct tape. Our last morning we woke to find a 2 inch long cockroach on our floor. Needless to say, we couldn't get out of there fast enough. The hotel staff is fantastic, but there's not a lot they can do given the decrepit nature of the building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicer than we Thought

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Everything. The bed was great, the staff friendly, and the area safe.
Cons: For the price it would be nice to have Wi-Fi in the room, but in the lobby isn't bad as it is a very comfortable lobby.
Location: Stores and beaches make this place incredible. Seal Beach is five minutes away, Huntington Beach is fifteen away.
the room was clean, the staff was exceptional in helping us with requests, its close to the beaches, its in a safe area, there are grocery and fast food places around the intersections. Great place overall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not even close to a regular average room.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Expecting king bed instead received 2 queen beds. Ac turns on but only gives hot air. Even tv remote didn't have batteries 1 missing. Dont let the front desk fool you, there rooms are 2 star max that with all honesty.
3 out of 5
by Heather from R

It is what it is

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Really not as bad as most of the reviews make it out to be. I do think it's over-priced for being pretty old. Simply redoing the parking lot would go a long way toward making it look less ghetto. Had no problem with the cleanliness of my room. My only BIG issue was that the air conditioning kept malfunctioning and would make this terrifying noise in the middle of the night. Other than that it was comfortable and exactly what I needed for a one night stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as clean as it shows online

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Room smells dirty, bathroom is moldy, the pool furniture is falling apart, the hot tub is closed off, the grounds are not kept up. Hotel looks like it's on its last legs. The front desk molding is fixed with a white vinyl gutter. Really???Located in a great location on the Marina, so find another hotel in the vicinity.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No good

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Everything no look like on web, when we searching.