Ratings based on 828 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gutes Preisleistungsverhältnis mit zentraler Lage

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Wir waren zum Städtetrip für 4 Nächte im Shelter Hotel. Das Hotel liegt mitten in Koreatown, was aber nicht weiter schlimm ist. Die Gegend kam uns sehr sicher vor. Bis zur nächsten Metro Station läuft man unter 10 Minuten. Von hier kommt man für 75 Cent pro Fahrt zügig in alle Richtungen. Die Metro fährt alle 10 bis 15 Minuten, auch spät abends. Die Zimmer waren groß und gut eingerichtet. Das Bett war sehr bequem. Es gab eine Kaffeemaschine auf dem Zimmer. Kostenlose Parkplätze sind vorhanden, jedoch nicht ausreichend. Autos werden zugeparkt und die Schlüssel an der Rezeption abgegeben, sodass man trotzdem jederzeit mit dem Auto raus kommt. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich. Bei der Lage und dem Preis-/ Leistungsverhältnis auf jeden Fall zu empfehlen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here...

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The room was pretty big.
I wouldn't recommend it to a friend. The price that I paid I could have easily gotten a much better hotel. It feels like you're entering some sort of an apartment and the elevator takes forever to get to the 1st floor from the garage. The rooms are OK with minimal furniture. Bring your own snacks and water. The closest place to purchase a midnight snack a nearby 7-eleven. Feels like a sketchy neighborhood, definitely not a place for a girl if you're all by yourself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley

Great value in Koreatown

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Clean design, friendly staff, in a quieter neighborhood in Koreatown and within walking distance to Metro - Shelter Hotel is my go-to hotel when I'm in the area for work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose

Nice hotel close to Korean Town

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: location, free parking
Stay 2 night, Friendly staff and very close to Korean Town and parking was free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hollywood

K-Towns Best Kept Secret

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Don't let the name throw you. Several times I saw "Shelter" and I passed over the listing. Super cute, boutique hotel. Expansive lounges, chill rooms and pool areas reminiscent of the "Brady Bunch" yard complete with retro-chic couches, lighting and astro-turf! Staff is awesome. Gated parking IS included. Spacious rooms with super-cumfy beds, Direct-TV on big flatscreens. General crowd is 20-30-somethings. Worth checking out. We ended up staying for 2-weeks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel close to downtown LA

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: The room was clean, there was free gated parking, wifi, and lots of shops within walking distance. It was also a short cab ride from downtown.
Cons: The wifi was really weak probably due to the corner of the hotel we were in - would have loved to have had wifi in all areas of our room.
Location: It's in Koreatown near Wilshire Blvd so you can walk to many shops and restaurants. Great Korean BBQ down the street as well as a Paris bakery shop.
We booked 2 rooms, but we needed 1 room to have a king bed, and the other to have double beds. They did just that and even gave us connecting rooms so it was really convenient! We also called in advance and requested a mini fridge in our room, and it was cold and ready when we got there. We had 2 rooms, but we needed 3 parking spots since everyone would be driving separately. They also gave us 3 parking spots in the underground gated parking garage so that worked out perfectly! One night, all the spots were taken so they had us double park, and they took our keys like a valet. How nice of them! The employees were very nice and helpful. The room overall was clean (besides some wear and tear from being used, but you would expect that!), large, and felt like any other nice hotel. It was such a cute boutique hotel in the middle of Koreatown, and it's a short cab ride to downtown if you ever need to stay close to Staples, Nokia Theater, LA Live Way, etc. I would highly recommend this place, and I plan to stay here again next time I have work to do downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom central california

Overnight in DTLA

Posted Feb 9, 2015
We were in DTLA for the night and needed to stay near the Wiltern theater. The hotel is in a neighborhood of apartment buildings and blends right in. The parking garage is pretty tight but there weren't many cars fortunately. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was fairly modern looking and had a great view of the Wilshire area high rises. The room was clean except for sells in the shower curtain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hawaii

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Cons: No vending or ice machine onsite.
The staff is very helpful, the room is OK, the bed is comfortable, and parking could be a problem. For the price, it is a viable choice in LA.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Three stars??? Really?

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The young people working were very sweet and they allowed us to leave our car there while we took a walk.
Cons: Cleanness is not a priority and it must be. The receptionist was mopping the elevator with a gross mop, they are not focusing on the most important.
Location: I was there to take a test, so not a place I chose to travel to for fun.
I was surprised that their were 3 hairs on the bed, yuck! I cleaned the night table with hot water because there was sauce caked on it, gross!!! We were glad we were there only for 1 night. The housekeeping is not good at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu, Hawaii

Close to lots of fun

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Nice showers, bed was comfortable
Cons: Room needs refrigerators
Shelter has comfortable rooms, is located in a residential area, but with lots of fun things to do nearby.