Ratings based on 601 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Unique!

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Small and friendly.
Cons: Water pressure!
Location: Korea Town, close to many things to do. Can easily walk to activities or mass transit.
Interesting hotel with pleasant and helpful staff. Within easy walking distance to many places. Only complaint: water pressure and they need to provide more towels and coffee/condiments.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Just a place to sleep/shower and not spend a lot if time in. Reasonable price for area. Other choices were $200+ "bigger" hotels or dirtbag motels for under $100. Good compromise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Amazing hotel in the Hearth of LA.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
I enjoyed how the hotel was right in the center making everything close to get to. It was very clean and the staff were friendly. The only thing that made it hard was the parking. A bigger parking lot is needed because it's hard to get out of and in order to leave in the morning we have to get someone to move the cars that are in the way. Also an iron is needed but overall everything was comfterbul and clean. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

It's just shelter

Posted Sep 16, 2014
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, California

No breed or weight restriction for your dog!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: For me - location was very important. I will probably stay there again if I don't find anything better and closer to Chinatown.
Cons: Room was clean but not very well maintained. Old and very basic furniture, shower has absolutely no shelves, so you put your things on a floor.
Location: Good thing is that you have Korean supermarket on the next block, so buying basic food is easy.
It's a very basic hotel. It's OK for staying with your dog if you know where to go for a walk/hike from there. Koreatown has nothing to offer for walking your dog, just streets and not very clean ones. Not even a little park or playground around. There were no area attraction magazines, no local restaurant/shop/cafe guides, no Yellow Pages in the room, and no stable Wi-Fi connection either! Also, my room #411 did not have a refrigerator, it turned out you suppose to ask(!) for it and it will be delivered into your room. I learned about it on my last day :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
The hotel itself looks old and worn, but the room was very clean and modern. The TV could have been a little nicer but it was a great deal in the middle of Koreatown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2014
clean, minimalist room. loved it. quiet and short drive to downtown and/or Hollywood areas. I've stayed here before and will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dana Point, CA

great, economical hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: It suited our needs perfectly. We were attending a music festival in LA and wanted a nearby hotel to spend the night.
Shelter Hotel is a hidden gem. The 3 staff members I dealt with were friendly and helpful. The hotel is tiny and off the beaten path but well priced and centrally located. The room was spacious and clean. The decor and furnishings modern and sophisticated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: VERY SHEEK!
Great Place-very contemporary and the staff was overly nice and helpful with the surrounding areas!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago,il

wanted to stay in koreatown

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: it was very close to koreatown which is where i wanted to be. I needed something affordable and close this was it.
Cons: personally.. ice machines on each floor refridgerators better lighting its dark
Location: all kinds of korean and non korean restraunts and stores in walking distance.
Hi everybody, I was in l.a for KCON i stayed at the shelter. it was Very close to everything in koreatown walking distance literally right around the corner. The room was nice it did its purpose. bed was comfy. A.C worked perfectly. the only thing i didnt like was the hardwood flooring,there was no fridge ( i dont know if all rooms have no fridge)and lighting to do my makeup was not good i had to open the curtain and use the large mirror that was in the room. T.V was good they had direct tv. Parking is under the building which is good and its free.I would definitley stay here again. oh yea and staff was great the cute mexican guy with the glasses was super helpful there was a black guy that was NOT he was just like whatever not rude but the kind that you ask a question and hes looking down while pointing if thats a clear picture for you. good hotel i recommend.