Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glossop

Santa Monica

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Brilliant,food,staff, hotel and a heatwave Expensive but brilliant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic, nice hotel that was close to a bad beach.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Staff was great.
Location: Very disappointed in area around the hotel. There are so many other beautiful coastline cities to go to... Why would anyone go back here?
The hotel staff were friendly and attentive. The room was clean, nice, and small. Unfortunately on the two nights we stayed each had a wedding event - which occupied/"made private" important parts of the hotel from the rest of the guests. Not good. A beautiful, classic hotel but not a very interesting or nice beach walk, not very many other nice places to eat nearby. More empty homes along the beach than cafés, coffee shops or art galleries.... Nothing like that - just a row of empty rental properties. Boring! And no other places on the beach to get a drink but the hotel we were at and a bad Mexican food restaurant. We will not come back to this area. It gives the impression that the "city leaders" don't care if they have a tourist trade or not ... Maybe they don't...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our non booked room at Shutters

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We have stayed at Shutters many times and it's a great hotel- however, when we booked through expedia, we showed up and didn't have a room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: A convenient location. The ambiance of the hotel is warm and inviting. The rooms and common areas are impeccable. Valet staff is outstanding.
Cons: Shutters staff should be made to understand profiling customers is short sighted. They should treat every guest with gratitude and courtesy.
Location: Right on the beach at the Santa Monica Pier. Close to tons of restaurants. Great people watching.
Stayed at Shutters probably 10 times before. I (alone) visited over the 4th of July holiday as a little get away. When I got there at about 2:00 p.m. they gave me a room above street traffic. I asked for something more quiet. The desk staff said "...there are no other rooms in your 'classification'. It is a holiday weekend." I pointed out I was a repeat customer and wasn't asking for a upgrade, just something quiet. After much discussion, they eventually found a different room if I wanted to wait 2 hours for the room to be cleaned. I said yes. When I got the new room it was quieter but absent many amenities that I knew came with their standard rooms but, I didn't complain. I then went to the lobby for a glass of wine. I waited 20 minutes for a waitress but couldn't get their attention even though I was literally 10 feet from the 3 of them. I got up and went to the wait station and asked for a glass of wine. I drank it and waited for a wait person to get my bill but, again, couldn't get their attention. After waiting another 20 minutes, I finally left money on the table. In the lounge the next late afternoon I got slightly better service. I noticed that out of all the guests in the lounge, I being female and traveling alone, received the least and most discourteous attention from the staff. Frankly, I've never received such treatment in any of the 5 star hotels I've stayed in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Gregory, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for your detailed feedback and joining us at Shutters. I appreciate that you are a repeat guest and am sorry to hear that our usually high standards were not met on this visit. I apologize for the service issues you encountered in the lounge and with your room. We are grateful for each and every one of our guests and I will be investigating the issues that you have addressed. Sincerely, Gregory Day, General Manager Shutters on the Beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BigAl from Edinburgh

Lovely Hotel Staff extremely helpful and welcoming

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The hotel was fantastic, rooms extremely comfortable, staff helpful and the food was excellent.
Cons: Personally I dont think anything could be improved.
Location: The hotel is located on Santa Monica beach, a short walk away from the famous pier at the end of Route 66. This is a great location to explore LA.
This has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I would recommend this to anyone. From arrival to departure the staff at the hotel looked after us extremely well making the stay feel very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from London

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Right on Beach.
An excellent position. Everything is close by. Pool overlooking beach is great and service excellent.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by JR from NYC

Tourist trap

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Tourist trap. Rude and arrogant staff. Very cold and brusque service. At $800 a night I expected some service and a quiet room. The hotel is far below average. Five specific points: 1. First assigned room on the second floor: The room was facing a noisy and busy street. I asked for a different room and the receptionist became an accomplished debater (“that's a partial ocean view”). 2. Second room on the seventh floor: I finally got another room and this room was even worse. There was a constant engine like noise in my room. The large engine from the AC is on the roof of the hotel and is very close to room 737. You can also hear the toilet of other rooms during the night. 3. No service in the lobby. Very arrogant. 4. They overcharged my credit card (bills were not approved or signed by me. Bills were not shown during ‘checkout’). 5. I checked their reviews AFTER my stay. 10-20% of their reviews are really bad and this should not happen with a “5 star hotel”. A good hotel should not have a single bad review. Their manager GD always responded to these reviews (“We always strive for the best guest experience possible and we appreciate your invaluable feedback”). Nothing changed and it shows that they are playing games. They apparently trained their staff to debate with guests (“Oh, your room is noisy and you did not sleep well? I make a note so that we don’t give this room to you in the future”).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa

Wonderfully cozy hotel.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: This hotel is in a great location with much to do. The beds were soooooo comfortable.
Cons: More coffee in the lobby in the mornings......it seemed to go quickly so get down early if you want to sit and enjoy the view with your coffee.
Location: We could walk everywhere or have the hotel driver take us within a 3 mile radius. Beaches, volleyball, bike riding, trapeze lessons, shops/restaurant
Beautiful hotel to be a guest in. Superb location for fun shopping, a great mix of restaurants, and steps away from the beach, Santa Monica Pier and park. We had a great time riding bikes down the beach and shopping and watching all the entertaining locals.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Disappointed Frequent Traveler from Toronto, Canada

It was okay, valet horrible

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
When we drove up, I was disappointed. Entered hotel, dark - further disappointed. Had to transfer from one elevator to the next to get to our room. Room was cramped with tons of tables and shelves, but they were all filled with their stuff, no real space for our suitcases and purses and bags. Made it difficult to move around in. The sleep was great. Valet didn't get our car when we called and then proceeded to lie to us and told us that it was sent back. We came out immediately after calling. That didn't happen. The best thing would have been for them to admit the truth - they dropped the ball! For the price I would not recommend this place at all. Not worth it! V
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Gregory, Hotel Management
Dear Disappointed Frequent Traveler, Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and apologize for the setbacks you encountered with valet. We take honesty and integrity extremely seriously and I personally investigated this matter. From our CCTV, I can confirm that the car in question was brought up, and then back down again. Although sending the car back to the garage was certainly an error, for which we truly apologize, the integrity of the valet staff is intact. Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention. Sincerely, Gregory Day, General Manager Shutters on the Beach