Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BigAl from Edinburgh

Lovely Hotel Staff extremely helpful and welcoming

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The hotel was fantastic, rooms extremely comfortable, staff helpful and the food was excellent.
Cons: Personally I dont think anything could be improved.
Location: The hotel is located on Santa Monica beach, a short walk away from the famous pier at the end of Route 66. This is a great location to explore LA.
This has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I would recommend this to anyone. From arrival to departure the staff at the hotel looked after us extremely well making the stay feel very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from London

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Right on Beach.
An excellent position. Everything is close by. Pool overlooking beach is great and service excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa

Wonderfully cozy hotel.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: This hotel is in a great location with much to do. The beds were soooooo comfortable.
Cons: More coffee in the lobby in the mornings......it seemed to go quickly so get down early if you want to sit and enjoy the view with your coffee.
Location: We could walk everywhere or have the hotel driver take us within a 3 mile radius. Beaches, volleyball, bike riding, trapeze lessons, shops/restaurant
Beautiful hotel to be a guest in. Superb location for fun shopping, a great mix of restaurants, and steps away from the beach, Santa Monica Pier and park. We had a great time riding bikes down the beach and shopping and watching all the entertaining locals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lou from london

Gorgeous hotel right on the beach

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: The hotel is across a couple of buildings which makes it a bit confusing to get around
A lovely hotel, very comfy rooms and helpful staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

A little advice!

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service. Even the valet seemed rather aloof! The doorman was very nice however.
Location: The pier in Santa monica
We had just stayed at 5 other hotels before this one and all of the hotels were wonderful and so we compared shutters to them and they lacked in a few categories. They knew it was my 60th birthday just like all the other hotels and they were lacklustre about it. Of course I knew what the other hotels had done to help "kick it up" for the occasion. The staff were not as friendly as the other hotels and we were paying the same kind of fees to stay at all of them and so they should feel somewhat the same. They need a lesson in customer service and what customers expect when they are paying. $500.00 plus per night. Mgmt should check out the service standards at the four seasons Biltmore if they want to see what I mean! I was disappointed for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for the candid review of your experience at Shutters on the Beach. I’m sorry that our service did not meet your expectations on such a special occasion. I appreciate you taking the time to alert me to your concerns as well as your comments regarding our great beachfront location in beautiful Santa Monica. Wishing you a very happy birthday and wonderful year to come! Sincerely, Gregory Day, General Manager Shutters on the Beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by najla from Dubai

The hotel is nicely located on Santa Monica beach.

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: I mostly enjoyed my morning coffee on the little balcony overlooking the ocean.
Location: The location was perfect as you are right at the beach and a 10 minutes walk to the famous 3rd street promenade.
We had an ocean view room. The view is excellent, but we found the room size is a bit small. We were somehow disappointed that the fitness centre was under refurbishment. We were able to use the gym at the hotel next door. The gym is tiny & with 2 hotels using the same facility made it busy in the morning. I wish they had warned us of the closure. The lobby bar is really nice with live music everyday. The pool is a good size with a nice view over the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DJ from t

Lovely, colonial style hotel on the beach.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Lovely pool area with deck overlooking beach. Very nice casual restaurant Coast. Easy walk to Pier and main shopping area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug from Huntington Beach, CA

Shutters in Santa Monica

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: See experience above
Cons: It will be nice when the spa is renovated.
Location: See experience above
This hotel just feels like a five star hotel from the time you arrive. With great front door service, friendly staff and fine attention to detail. The only two issues I could find were: 1) Our first room faced a parking lot, while the one we moved to was difficult to get to. Up the elevator to 3rd level, walk down a corridor into another building, another elevator, another corridor. 2) The spa facilities were down. Next door, there is a sister hotel where the spa substituted for Shutter's, but although easy to get into the hotel, even the doorman there was confused about where the spa was. If you are looking for the spa being an integral part of your hotel experience, you may wish to wait until it is renovated That said, there were many amenities that were absolutely five star. There is a driver and a town car that can take you anywhere within a 3 mile circle. We utilized that service. He picked us up from the restaurant just shortly after we called The location of this hotel makes you feel like you're really getting away. Right next to the pier an its carnival like atmosphere... we took their bikes down to Venice Beach, to see all the crazy antics there, and the hotel set us up with nearby tennis courts and times. Lots to do in the area. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lisa from d

Shutters on the beach

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Wonderful relaxing stay at shutters. James in coast restaurant was the nicest, most efficient server I have ever been around!! Food fantastic, spa exceptional, staff very pleasant! I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clare from Hampshire England

Amazing small hotel. Wonderful surprise.

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Temperature in the pool was a little cool even for us Brits especially as we were up & in the pool by 07.30.
If you prefer a quiet little hotel on the beach at Santa Monica this is for you. What a wonderful surprise to find such a pretty and intermit accommodation. We both felt relaxed from the moment we walked in the doors. We were frightened that staying in a hotel over the Christmas period would be a bit noisy but we had none of that. Having flown in from the UK Christmas Eve there was something very special about our whole experience. The rooms & facilities are excellent. The staff helpful. & accommodating. Our trip & stay was much too short only 2 nights, really must stay longer next time. We will be back.