Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

old charm that has seen some modern upgrades

Posted May 21, 2015
neat hotel with some stories to tell. the staff didnt really approach us unless we engaged, so i'd rate them on the cold side. we requested room refreshment over 4 days and the staff did a nice job cleaning room, though they didn't once replace the toiletries; we had to request these on third day. there was a wedding in the adjacent banquest space that made a bit of noise (not too bad). there were some other guests smoking that affected our room to the level that we felt it worth inquiring with front desk. we had a great breakfast at the patio cafe and also a nice drink at the poolside bar, though both were on the pricey side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, clean, good staff

Posted May 17, 2015
PRO: Nice place to stay close to Universal Studios. Rooms were very clean and well looked after, hotel staff was friendly and helpful. CON: Bad WIFI and thin walls (loud).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ru

Very good

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Chance to eat after 9 p.m.
Location: The location is good as you have plenty of shops and eating places around and good to visit Universal Studios
I decided to book this hotel due to the special offer on Expedia. Did not know anything about it and read some reviews. In fact, some of the complaints were ridiculous, so be careful when you are basing your decision on them. The staff was above any praise: competent, helpful and really nice. Any small issues we have were solved by the staff. Like, we arrived after 9 p.m. and wanted to eat. Everything in the hotel was closed but the guy in the reception advised us on the place that was stll working and it was OK. When we asked for more coffee in the room as we were three and the supply was not enough initially, we had the additional packets just in seconds. There was a complaint of one traveller that the first shuttle to the Universal Studio was only at 9:30. Guys, it opens at 10:00! We had to wait a bit after we arrived on the first shuttle. So, the timing is fine. And this park is much smaller than in Orlando and you can have all the rides long before it closes. At least, this was in May. Maybe the situation is different in summer when the waiting time for the rides is longer but still the hotel provides very convenient times for the shuttle. All in all, very positive experience with this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Adelaide, South Australia

Nice hotel in an area that was convenient to us, a

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: The lobby and reception area, the pool and café. Liked the theme and artwork.
Location: Good location, fairly quiet and close to Universal Studios.
Very pleasant, lovely lobby area very relaxing and spacious. Nice gardens and the rooms were quite large and comfortable. Wasn't long enough.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom SF

Don't ask

Posted May 12, 2015
Uncertain where things (restaurants, ice, rooms etc) were. No signage or directions offered. Room 6xx actually located on second floor. Front desk gave inadequate directions but housekeeping was very helpful in their assistance.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Mehhhhhh

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: decor
Cons: people, costumer service.
Location: nice area
Staff is a bit out of sync. not really attentive. but for 140$ a night.. i guess is ok. Nice decor in the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No atmosphere. No personality in the rooms

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The location and the staff were very nice.
Cons: $250 fine if you smokie in the rooms but you can't smoke on the outside balcony either.Let poeple smoke on the balcony.without being fined!
Location: Great location, next to starbucks, plenty of womens boutiques and shopping. great area for good dining as well. Our food experience was great!
It was ok, dont think i would come back. The rooms are really boring, no microwave, no fridge. when you stay at a hotel for more than 2 days its nice when you can refridgerate your leftovers from a resturaunt and then heat it up later. we wasted food 2 times when going out, cause we had to throw it away the next morning. The staff kept telling us there was no microwave for its customers. HUGE INCONVIENACE!!!! Staff was very friendly and professional though
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pool

Posted Apr 29, 2015
No hand soaps though. Noisy on the first floor...can hear employees talking outside our room at 6:00am. Nice pool. Friendly staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

A brief family trip

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: A clean modern look. Also the pool!
Location: A grocery store across the street was convenient. Also many small shops and restaurants within walking distance. A mall a couple miles away.
A quick check in with a friendly staff and then we settled into our room. The kids enjoyed the large heated pool and breakfast at the hotel restaurant was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great spot/value, but not with kids.

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Experience was broadly positive. Like the design/50s feel and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Wouldn't recommend for families. While the kids did love the pool, the walls were paper thin and we were up most of the night struggling not to hear the conversations of our neighbors, especially when they went out on their small balcony. To be fair to them, it did't seem like they were terribly loud, but that the older design of the building didm't allow for much privacy.