Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver co

Okay choice

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Great location and interesting history for the property. Facility is a bit worn. Shuttle bus to universal studios a plus, but shuttle was over crowded and had to stand both ways. Not bad for right price and shotgun stay. I would not want to spend a whole week here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Had to wait long to get my room. Supposed to have à garden view but no more available so instead faced the swimming pool...saying it was un upgrade!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Cons: You should not have to pay for parking on top of the room charges. Also we had 4 in a room and the cleaning staff continually only left two towels eaw
Nice for a short stay, retro décor strange with white dear heads by elevators. Overall clean facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

lovely decor nice feeling lovely pool, location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: I actually went and sat out the front by the fire pit its lovely
Cons: suggestion move the part in the ads that say roll away beds as you dont have them available and i was counting on that. family of 4 with 2 teenagers
nice setting good location, loved the pool rooms were clean light and nice (but where was the fridge?!) the location was good for universal visit and supermarket right over road perfect. friendly staff good experience would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Classic

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The pool and rooms.
Very good, and the shuttle service was excellent. Rooms were very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, very comfortable beds.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Location, pool, beds
Good experience. Staff was friendly and room was clean and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
We had a great stay! We will for sure use them again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

This hotel was exactly what I was looking for!

Posted Jun 28, 2014
The service was great and I have no complaints. The renovations worked out really well for this classic LA Valley hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Convenient location, nice pool/spa area.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Convenient location, good value, with a nice pool/spa area. The renovation results are a bit mixed. The room itself is clean and modern as advertised, although somewhat unfinished. It almost seemed barren - like additional furniture was needed, and the crooked balcony railing had a somewhat hilarious "do not lean" sign attached. Other aspects of the property still need work (the entrance hallway to the rear "tower" is straight 1960s), so hopefully they'll get to them - there's definitely potential.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by Nathalie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent visit. We appreciate the feedback. The major renovation is complete, however we are still working on a few areas. The back entrance is one of those projects. Please come back and visit us soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newark, DE

Good experience!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Convenient location. Friendly staff. Great food in the café. Fresh and served with a smile.
Cons: There was a constant noise outside in the lobby area of our room. Mid-range volume, but constant. Not sure what he issue was, but it was distracting.
Location: Many little shops nearby. Great location for freeway. Grocery store across the boulevard. Convenience a great selling point.
I would recommend Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel for convenience to other locations, privacy, and not the typical chain hotel feel. Service and food in café were exceptional.