Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Great location, good price

Posted Jan 2, 2015
If you're all about luxury then maybe not the best place for you. Rooms were clean, organized and the location is excellent, so I can't complain. Front desk worker was nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Honestly, you're getting a pretty good deal for this, no idea what everyone is complaining about. It's super cheap and in DTLA, staff is friendly, there's a diner and a bar connected to it and it's clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom reno, nv

Don't stay there

Posted Dec 23, 2014
No wifi and the room was not clean at all. It looks like really downgrade not as in the pics.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1009

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Great room, i would go back. Good price and great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2014
For one night its fine. The room was clean and good size. I was given a top floor room in the corner very quiet and nice view of downtown LA. It's an old hotel with lots of history so if you looking for a fancy spot this is not your place. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again for a night in LA and the staff was very nice and pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marin County

Look, it's an old downtown LA hotel.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
You'd mlat likely want to do things out of your room since the size of the room is so small. But aside from the funk, it was a place to put your head down. It's a downtown LA hotel that's under $100. Keep your expectations low and you won't be disappointed. Otherwise ot was totally fine for what we needed. Other hater reviewers must have been expecting the ritz.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2014
It was so bad we didn't stay here. Had to find another hotel at the last minute.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Barbara, CA

Decent Cheap Hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Super close to Staples Center, had personality. Would have liked to have checked out the bar and Indian Restaurant, seemed like a good place
Cons: The beds weren't the most comfortable, but it worked! It had a faint smell, but tolerable.
Location: Not the best of locations... I paid for parking as it meant someone was watching my car, don't know if I would want to walk around at night alone...
After reading the reviews, I was not sure what I was getting into, but I was pleasantly surprised. My room was fine, had a microwave and a refrigerator, which was more than I could have hoped for. The front desk staff was helpful, I wanted to know about parking, the lot next door charged $15/overnight, and allowed for in's and out's with 24 hour security which was reassuring. They were full the night I was there, (Rock n' Roll Half Marathon the next day) but it was quiet and seemed like the bar and restaurant in the hotel would have been fun if I weren't running a race the next day and needing to be mindful of my food and beverage intake! I would stay there again if I need a close location to Staples Center, etc and am looking for something cheap and easy! Some people commented on the elevators, I didn't feel they were a problem. Great shower pressure but bring your own bathroom supplies, the ones they have are not for everyone. :0)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent for the price

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Staff, quiet rooms, clean
Cons: Some renovation would make it a lot better.
Well, you cannot expect to get a 5 star hotel in LA for this price! The rooms are old and small-ish but clean. I saw some other hotels in the area which were more than double the price of this one, and were hardly any better. I stayed for two nights during a conference and didn't have any complains. The hotel staff is nice and friendly. They let me check-in at 1 pm even though the scheduled time was 2 pm. The entire downtown area isn't very safe after dark, not just this particular street. So, safety didn't seem like a concern specific to this property. Overall, I would recommend it if you want to save some money and don't care about being at a not-so-classy hotel.