Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Great one nighter

Posted Oct 12, 2014
2nd time staying in this hotel and it just keeps getting better every time close to our favorite place universal studios and we just love the suites that are available for this hotel for the great price!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

better than expected- I would stay there again!

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: The location was close to public transportation and while removed from the hustle and bustle of downtown LA and Hollywood access was easy.
Cons: The place was older and could use some upgrading especially ventilation in the bathroom. No exhaust fan, just a small window to open
Location: close to public transportation - or a short drive to Universal and the trains into LA & Hollywood. Grocery, shops and restaurants all within walking.
I had seen many reviews for this hotel giving it a poor rating. I did not find this to be my experience. The beds were comfy, firm yet somewhat soft. The room over all was clean linens changed daily. While I did not use the pool it appeared to be in good order. The young man at the front desk most days was very helpful with internet connection, public transportation, and even printed me some maps and directions for places I wanted to see. I also felt safe! On one occasion a strange( not hotel guest) came into the courtyard and he immediately was questioned and asked to leave by one of the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CC NV

compact car parking only

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The staff was mostly friendly. A nice pool, Close to eateries and a market.
Cons: Up date rooms and carpet fix curtains, do something about the parking.
Location: close to universal studioes
The motel was room was dated and drab the window curtains would not close all the way and you always had light at night. The free breakfast was ok if you only want carbs. Had a mini-fridge that did not work. The parking was the worst I have ever seen. You have to back into your space or back out of the motel to get out. This might be fine if you have a compact car but a pain if you have a larger vehicle such as a P/U with a camper.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Good hotel in a pinch

Posted Aug 27, 2014
I've stayed here a few times when I was in the area for work. I like this hotel because you can always count on them to check you in quickly (like 2 minutes flat), they will always have a room for a low price, and when everything else is booked up they're still there allowing you to check in at 10 am (or whenever) where as most places like the blvd hotel charge you 50 dollars for checking in before 3 or 4 and won't even allow before 12/1. The rooms aren't nice, it's not a pretty place, but it will do. It's the place you imagine some people might live and just spend their days drinking and sitting by the pool with fake grass. A place that maybe once was nice. But on the upside there is a TON of stuff in walking distance. Five guys is across the street, coffee places, cvs, etc. It's not the best, it's not the worst, but the staff is great and the rooms aren't crawling with bed bugs. Try to get a non smoking room though, even if you're a smoker. The smoking rooms are disgusting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't come here for work

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Everything else about this hotel was pleasant enough, but the included free internet access was abysmal. The modem is in the back of the office so we seldom maintained a decent connection in our room about 20 metres away. If you're just going to swim and relax it's probably perfect, but if you need to work and be online, steer well clear.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Basic accommodations. That's all I expected. Didn't need breakfast served, room service or meeting rooms. Had to drive to/stay in LA for last minute doctor appt. We arrived extremely late. We called to tell them of late hour arrival, yet staff was very polite about this. Room was clean, comfortable, quiet, had everything we needed for a quick stay. I would stay again for just a clean, well kept room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Not good,not a clean hotel,very cheap,no soap no nothing,no continental breakfast as promised,never goback or book on expedia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Studio Courtyard

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly, and pool was clean.
Cons: The floors/carpets in the rooms were dirty - would not recommend walking around in your socks or bare feet.
Location: Lots of places to eat nearby, good grocery store nearby. Close to Universal Studios and Ventura Blvd shopping plaza.
For the most part the price was decent and the location was good, but the room cleanliness left much to be desired. I travelled with my 2 young children and wife. A clean room is important and we didn't feel comfortable in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Close to Sportsmens Lodge

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: My room was ready even though I arrived early and the motel staff was very pleasant.
Cons: The tv in my room only got 2 channels, but I did not fly to California to watch tv.
Location: It is a nice location. I felt safe walking around alone. There is a 5 guys and a Starbucks across the street.
I stayed for 4 nights and overall had a nice stay. I flew in for GHFCW and this was a less expensive alternative to the Sportsmens Lodge where the events were being held. There were also several places to eat just a short walking distance from the motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beckley, WV

General Hospital fan club weekend

Posted Aug 8, 2014
I stayed at the Courtyard studio City eight nights during the annual General Hospital fan events; this was my seventh consecutive year here. The staff is polite and always ready to help. The pool is a nice touch. The general area is safe, even at night. Several great restaurants nearby, along with Ralph's Market and the deli. Studio city courtyard is always my #1 choice for GHFCW.