Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Holly from Las Vegas, NV

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Although, the hotel was very nice, the area is not so nice! Everything closed down as soon as it got dark out. There was an overwhelming amount of homeless people. Parking is a nightmare and expensive!! However, Su Casa was very clean and the hotel employees were extremely friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

The best way to be in Venice

Posted Mar 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
Stayed here this past weekend with my boyfriend. Everything from the room, from kitchen appliances to the view, to the breakfast in bed was PERFECT. I actually cried tears of joy once I saw our room after a horrible stay the night before in Hollywood. Sammy sp? and Jonathan were extremely accommodating. We never wanted to leave. Will definitely be back next time we're in LA.
1 out of 5
by Nick from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA

Unclean and definitely not for business people

Posted Feb 1, 2012
I was upgraded to the suite which I was excited about but the white stains on the blue couch really grossed out. Hygiene (poop) stains in the bathroom. Ordered breakfast 2 times 2 days in a row and it never came. Horrible and unreliable internet about 5mbps/.75mbps. Not enough to do conference calls via skype or go-to-webinar. The internet was also down more than 30% of the time. The final deal breaker was the location of the hotel. No the problem isn't venice beach, it's a great location, what it has to do with is the flightpath of LAX. Su Casa sits dead center in the flight path for LAX which means they can't put cell towers up for FAA reasons. Absolutely 0 cell phone service in the room. After waiting for breakfast for the first day for 2 hours and asking about what happened the promised to give me a "premium breakfast" the next day. When I called I spent another hour waiting and it never arrived. Overall a total bummer.
1 out of 5
by Mikey from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Very poor value and well below expectation.

Posted Jan 5, 2012
Pros: Staff were helpful. Wifi worked well.
Cons: Poor value, dumpy room, area is security risk.
Location: Forget it. Very bad choice of location.
Location is really bad unless u r into beach culture only & it is summer. After dark is a real worry. There are very few restaurants in the area. Our room (2) was very ordinary. View of roof only. Very noisy at night with lots of noise from upstairs and next door. The basics in the room were either not there or not working. The guys at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. The facilities at the hotel were poor. Parking was 200 meters away in the open air. A real security risk in this area. Continental breakfast included was ok when you could get through to them & when they were not out of things. On price this place is way over priced for what you get. Not even reasonable value I'm afraid. This is really a one star place. Looks good on the Internet but don't be fooled.
3 out of 5
by Malinda from San Mateo, CA

Location--not what it's cut out to be

Posted Aug 26, 2011
I would like to preface this by saying that the owner and staff of Su Casa were all very nice and very accomodating. However, as a woman traveling alone, I was taken aback by the environment. IF I would have known that the "Bed and Breakfast" was next door to a halfway house and the amount of homeless at night, I would NOT have booked there. It was constant noise, all day(which was OK) and all night(difficulty sleeping) and I did not feel comfortable venturing out after dark. Would have loved to have gone to the free Thursday night concert... My room was very nice; beautiful view, comfortable--noisy. The housekeeping is another issue. I ran out of toilet paper and had to ask 3 times for a roll. When I stepped into the shower, the tile floor was sticky!!! Loved the The Fig Tree Restaurant which was conveniently located downstairs. .Nice place for the young at heart.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Poor execution in a good location

Posted Oct 28, 2010 on Hotels.com
Su Casa has potential but it doesn't live up to it. This is a homestay type environment with a small kitchenette, en suite bathroom and a king sized bed with Ikea-like decorations. However, the promise for each of the 4 days to fix a light fixture didn't happen, the TV didn't work properly, the room wasn't cleaned for 3 days, and on the last day, the carpets were torn up without notice, with an early morning noisy start. The people seemed nice, if not that smart. What the website doesn't say is that the hotel is right next to an alcohol rehab center. Those people were not disturbing but the situation kind of was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Su Casa - good for the price

Posted Mar 18, 2010 on Hotels.com
Got a good deal on this place when looking for somewhere to stay in an LA neighborhood where I could get by without a car. Nice airy and clean rooms on slighty seedy block. Friendly, helpful staff and could not be more convenient to beach. If I had paid full price I might've wished I stayed on the other (lovelier) end of the boardwalk - but overall, a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice, clean with great view and great restaurant but a bit short on service.

Posted Mar 28, 2008
This is a new bed and breakfast type hotel right on Venice beach. We had a one bedroom suite (bedroom, living room and kitchen) that was clean and well arranged with modern amenities and a great view of the beach. The people were very friendly. The restaurant that provides the breakfast is very good with an interesting health conscious menu. It is on the ground floor of the building on the beach with a nice beach and walkway view. A continental breakfast delivered to your room is included in the price of your room or you can eat in the restaurant and order anything on the menu for half price (I recommend eating in the restaurant, it is very popular with locals). Downside, no elevator so you will have to carry luggage up stairs (only 4 floors though), maid service is only once a week if you stay more than a week and it can be noisy early in the morning when the city starts cleaning up the walkway and beach. If you are looking for the Venice experience I would recommend highly.