Ratings based on 636 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Good hotel for the price

Posted Aug 27, 2014
The Sunrise was suggested by a local friend as a budget alternative. My first room's AC failed after a day and the refrigerator turned out to be unplugged with mold forming. The front desk was surprised and apologetic and got me into another room immediately with no hesitation or reservation which turned out to be quite nice. The continental breakfast was not as good as other hotels but, again, you get what you pay for. I was, frequently, the only person in the well maintained pool but the hot tub was more crowded. If you're looking for a budget priced option in the area, I would definitely recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Unpleasantly surprised.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
I honestly thought we would be staying at a decent place, but we didn't. The room was filthy, the carpet was disgusting (it left a dirty film on the bottom of my feet), dirty underwear were left from a prior guest, pieces of plastic attached to the bed was ripping off and hanging, sheets were just laid on the bed, no comforter and an old worn and gross blanket. The air conditioning was poor and there was dust everywhere. It was very unpleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF California

weekend stay

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location and nice pool
Cons: A little more hot breakfast items like waffles would be nice
Really enjoyed our room, location near Long Beach, and fair price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Is good hotel have exelent ubication and have nice service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Plumbing issues

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We had a bunch of plumbing issues while we were there. The shower wouldn't drain well and the sink backed up whenever the room above us flushed their toilet. They came in and fixed the sink problem, but whatever they did with the pipes caused a leak all over the carpet. Overall the hotel is a little on the older side and could some upkeep. I personally could have lived with the problems but my travel companion complained about this stuff the whole time we were there. So, your mileage may vary!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Rooms are clean and spacious. WIFI and Complementary breakfast included.
Location: Museums were just on walking distance. The area looks very nice at night.
Pros: Rooms are clean and spacious. WIFI and Complementary breakfast included. Front desk accepts check ins with flexible hours. Workers were nice. Cons: Didn't like when the Asian Boss started yelling on the workers in front of everybody. Not sure what the reason was, but under any circumstances this was very unethical.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Front desk receptionist not friendly

Posted Aug 14, 2014
When we were checking in, the receptionist was not welcoming and not friendly at all as if we own him a fortune. The room was just okay. I would not recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Not sure why this hotel is rated so high?

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The pool area was really nice and the pool was nice.
Cons: The facilities on the inside need serious attention. The room was disgusting. Repair the toilet, sink, and remove the old mildewed caulk.
Location: Location was nice, with the USS Iowa directly across the street.
I am not sure why this hotel is so highly rated (3.4 out of 5 at the time of this review). FACILITIES - The pool is nice and location is good. Outside of hotel is clean, lots of parking but 5 reserved spots near the entrance that only ever had one car in them. Room - toilet was malfunctioning (filling the tank every 1-2 hours despite jiggling the handle, etc. Kept me up the 1st night. Bathroom faucet took every bit of strength in me to pull up and turn on. Mold/mildew growing on bathroom caulking. Filthy grout (white under sink, dirty black where people walked). Towels paper thin and dingy looking. Way past their useful life. I don't think the hotel uses bleach, which makes me worry about what was on the towels. No hot water the 1st morning, had to run for 10 minutes to get barely warm water. CLEANLINESS - walls dirty, cigarette butts in window track (non-smoking room), cigarette burns on comforter, tissues under bed and behind sofa. Dingy white towels, not really clean. ROOM COMFORT - its hard to be comfortable when the room condition is so poor. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were junk, needed to be replaced like the towels. I was traveling on a budget and know that a low cost hotel comes with issues. There were several to choose from in this price range, but this was the highest rated. The others are either really bad or this hotel has been over-rated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The staff is great. Very pleasant at all times, asked how we were each time we came through the lobby.
Was only there 1 night, so I did look for a cheaper hotel. This one fit that bill. Little run down, could use some major upgrading in the rooms but was comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoeinix, AZ

Hotel needs improvement

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Relatively close to the beaches; complimentary breakfast was good
Cons: New air conditioning units in the rooms and pillows and beds need to be replaced
The hotel was below average for its price. The air conditioning in our room worked very poorly while the pillows were extremely small. Additionally, the bed felt dirty while having hair in it from previous guests.