Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gail P.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gloriafrom Hermosa Beach

Classy, hip overnight in W. Hollywood

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was looking for a West Hollywood hotel for an overnight stay for my husband and I. I wanted something that felt hip but not so young and trendy. I wanted classy but not stodgy. Sunset Tower fit the bill perfectly. Loved the art deco architecture and the decor. All the staff were professional, friendly and accommodating. Was looking forward to dinner at the Tower Bar and it didn't disappoint. Good food, good service. Only drawback is that the room was smaller than average but I knew to expect that from reviews so I was fine with that. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Hotel right in heart of Sunset Strip

Posted Jun 19, 2014
I took the wife for a one night stay at Sunset Tower. Started of a little rough with front desk but rest of the staff was excellent! I recommend this hotel. It had a feel of old time Hollywood but with all the modern amenities. Great views of LA city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Pat Lee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ILikeJazzfrom CA

A Classic

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: History of the building, location, decor, nice staff.
Cons: Attention to detail in the bathroom. Check toilet flush and shower mold.
Location: Its only a few miles from most LA attractions. We stayed there because of a Hollywood Bowl concert. About 3 mi from there.
We were upgraded to a corner room. Very cool view! Everything was top notch (linens, robes, cleanliness of room, decor, attention to other details), except for 2 small items. Our toilet wouldn't flush (could happen anywhere), but also there was mold in the shower, see pic. I was surprised at this for the price of the hotel and how everything else was so well appointed. We had a cocktail in the bar late at night and enjoyed talking with the bartender. Wish I had time to spend by the pool, it looked inviting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
First time staying at this hotel. Loved the historic nature of the building & vibe. Only downside were the Valet staff who were quite pushy to get you out of the vehicle upon arrival which sets the tone for your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Historic Hollywood

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very enjoyable. Room was a little small, but comfortable. Bar/restaurant scene was lively. Food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anonfrom New York

Very Good, but needs some improvements

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a wonderful 3 night stay at the hotel. The plus's were location & small hotel to be taken care of more. Downfall, the rooms needed an upgrade. If the prices are going to be the same at competative hotels, there should be littrle things like a pool boy, water by the pool and at turndown, slippers in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sunnyfrom Midland

A very nice stay

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Sunset Tower is an old historic Hollywood hotel. It's Art Deco architecture is beautiful. Rooms are small. Fittings are ok, not newly updated. Work out room is not good. We suggested they change the equipment which should not be hard to do since it is leased. The terrace by the small pool is lovely. It is a joy to have breakfast or lunch there. The breakfast buffet is no longer what it used to be ( beautiful!) and now it is just a small not very attractive buffet. The service is excellent. We stay here when we visit out children who live nearby in Laurel Canyon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Terrifrom NY

Lovely boutique style

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved my stay here - lovely hotel, friendly staff. Small boutique old-fashioned sophisticated atmosphere. Gorgeous terrace bar & cafe with great views. Adorable restaurant with low lighting and a piano player. Good location opposite the Chateau Marmont and some good shops and restaurants within 15 minute walk. Pool is fairly small although I could always get a lounger, good gym. Will definitely come back.