Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

sunset tower

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Cons: wallpapers could be upgraded. Bit of a smell in the room.
Location: location is superb - great for morning walks - close to sunset strip clubs and restaurants - easy access to all areas.
good discrete hotel great location with good staff. Linens and toiletries top notch. coffee and cookies nice touch and delicious. Breakfast service on terrace not great - pool area small but good view. Room bit shabby but windows open which is nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tapps, Washington

Best Hotel and Staff!

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and just the overall experience of the hotel!
Location: Close to everything you could want to experience while in town.
From checking in with Stella and Mohssaine to having Jeff help us with our luggage and car. We could not have asked for better service! We were greeted with a smile and all of our needs were met with ease. Can't wait to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Hotel right in heart of Sunset Strip

Posted Jun 19, 2014
I took the wife for a one night stay at Sunset Tower. Started of a little rough with front desk but rest of the staff was excellent! I recommend this hotel. It had a feel of old time Hollywood but with all the modern amenities. Great views of LA city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ILikeJazz from CA

A Classic

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: History of the building, location, decor, nice staff.
Cons: Attention to detail in the bathroom. Check toilet flush and shower mold.
Location: Its only a few miles from most LA attractions. We stayed there because of a Hollywood Bowl concert. About 3 mi from there.
We were upgraded to a corner room. Very cool view! Everything was top notch (linens, robes, cleanliness of room, decor, attention to other details), except for 2 small items. Our toilet wouldn't flush (could happen anywhere), but also there was mold in the shower, see pic. I was surprised at this for the price of the hotel and how everything else was so well appointed. We had a cocktail in the bar late at night and enjoyed talking with the bartender. Wish I had time to spend by the pool, it looked inviting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
First time staying at this hotel. Loved the historic nature of the building & vibe. Only downside were the Valet staff who were quite pushy to get you out of the vehicle upon arrival which sets the tone for your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Historic Hollywood

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very enjoyable. Room was a little small, but comfortable. Bar/restaurant scene was lively. Food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anon from New York

Very Good, but needs some improvements

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a wonderful 3 night stay at the hotel. The plus's were location & small hotel to be taken care of more. Downfall, the rooms needed an upgrade. If the prices are going to be the same at competative hotels, there should be littrle things like a pool boy, water by the pool and at turndown, slippers in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sunny from Midland

A very nice stay

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Sunset Tower is an old historic Hollywood hotel. It's Art Deco architecture is beautiful. Rooms are small. Fittings are ok, not newly updated. Work out room is not good. We suggested they change the equipment which should not be hard to do since it is leased. The terrace by the small pool is lovely. It is a joy to have breakfast or lunch there. The breakfast buffet is no longer what it used to be ( beautiful!) and now it is just a small not very attractive buffet. The service is excellent. We stay here when we visit out children who live nearby in Laurel Canyon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Terri from NY

Lovely boutique style

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved my stay here - lovely hotel, friendly staff. Small boutique old-fashioned sophisticated atmosphere. Gorgeous terrace bar & cafe with great views. Adorable restaurant with low lighting and a piano player. Good location opposite the Chateau Marmont and some good shops and restaurants within 15 minute walk. Pool is fairly small although I could always get a lounger, good gym. Will definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com