Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Splendid Art Deco hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Everything! The room, the staff, the bar, dining, ... couldn't fault it.
Cons: No complaints at all. The hotel is pricey, but well worth it.
Location: Located close to all the old Hollywood sights, Beverly Hills and Santa Monica Boulevard. Musso & Frank's Grill is well worth a visit.
The Sunset is a beautiful Art Deco hotel, with efficient and courteous staff, and a lovely restaurant. On arrival, there was apparently a problem with the room we were booked into, so we had a drink in the Terrace Bar while we waited to see if they could fix it. The Bar overlooks the city skyline, and it was a splendid start to the stay. They obviously couldn't get the room ready for a while, so we were upgraded, which was a pleasant surprise. The room was lovely, and beautifully appointed. We ate at the Tower Bar and the food was delicious. Service and attention to detail was splendid. The valet service was fast and efficient, and the hotel itself was close to all the Hollywood must-sees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Splendid Art Deco hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Everything! The room, the staff, the bar, dining, ... couldn't fault it.
Cons: No complaints at all. The hotel is pricey, but well worth it.
Location: Located close to all the old Hollywood sights, Beverly Hills and Santa Monica Boulevard. Musso & Frank's Grill is well worth a visit.
The Sunset is a beautiful Art Deco hotel, with efficient and courteous staff, and a lovely restaurant. On arrival, there was apparently a problem with the room we were booked into, so we had a drink in the Terrace Bar while we waited to see if they could fix it. The Bar overlooks the city skyline, and it was a splendid start to the stay. They obviously couldn't get the room ready for a while, so we were upgraded, which was a pleasant surprise. The room was lovely, and beautifully appointed. We ate at the Tower Bar and the food was delicious. Service and attention to detail was splendid. The valet service was fast and efficient, and the hotel itself was close to all the Hollywood must-sees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

sunset tower

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Cons: wallpapers could be upgraded. Bit of a smell in the room.
Location: location is superb - great for morning walks - close to sunset strip clubs and restaurants - easy access to all areas.
good discrete hotel great location with good staff. Linens and toiletries top notch. coffee and cookies nice touch and delicious. Breakfast service on terrace not great - pool area small but good view. Room bit shabby but windows open which is nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tapps, Washington

Best Hotel and Staff!

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and just the overall experience of the hotel!
Location: Close to everything you could want to experience while in town.
From checking in with Stella and Mohssaine to having Jeff help us with our luggage and car. We could not have asked for better service! We were greeted with a smile and all of our needs were met with ease. Can't wait to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Hotel right in heart of Sunset Strip

Posted Jun 19, 2014
I took the wife for a one night stay at Sunset Tower. Started of a little rough with front desk but rest of the staff was excellent! I recommend this hotel. It had a feel of old time Hollywood but with all the modern amenities. Great views of LA city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Pat Lee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ILikeJazz from CA

A Classic

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: History of the building, location, decor, nice staff.
Cons: Attention to detail in the bathroom. Check toilet flush and shower mold.
Location: Its only a few miles from most LA attractions. We stayed there because of a Hollywood Bowl concert. About 3 mi from there.
We were upgraded to a corner room. Very cool view! Everything was top notch (linens, robes, cleanliness of room, decor, attention to other details), except for 2 small items. Our toilet wouldn't flush (could happen anywhere), but also there was mold in the shower, see pic. I was surprised at this for the price of the hotel and how everything else was so well appointed. We had a cocktail in the bar late at night and enjoyed talking with the bartender. Wish I had time to spend by the pool, it looked inviting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
First time staying at this hotel. Loved the historic nature of the building & vibe. Only downside were the Valet staff who were quite pushy to get you out of the vehicle upon arrival which sets the tone for your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Historic Hollywood

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very enjoyable. Room was a little small, but comfortable. Bar/restaurant scene was lively. Food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anon from New York

Very Good, but needs some improvements

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a wonderful 3 night stay at the hotel. The plus's were location & small hotel to be taken care of more. Downfall, the rooms needed an upgrade. If the prices are going to be the same at competative hotels, there should be littrle things like a pool boy, water by the pool and at turndown, slippers in the room.