Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

1st class motel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
A hotel without a big brand was a modest motel, this one will be a future star. There is a reason why it was recommended at trip advisory. I was there for 2 nights with my friend. The staff was helpful, pastries and coffee were great... The room was neat and clean, bed was very comfortable, bathroom was clean and well-maintained. Good locations, 15 to 20 mins drive to Universal Studio, LA downtown etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az

This is a great little hotel with flair!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Cons: There was a kinda of musty smell to begin with when we walked into the room. But after opening the window....that was gone.
The staff was so friendly and ready to please! The rooms were big and absolutely clean. The price for that area was reasonable and the location was perfect to get to most everything. We walked to WB Studio and drove to Santa Monica pier. I definately recommend this hotel and will absolutely be staying here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great hotel, close to Warner Bros Studios

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The hotel was great, clean and it's stuff accommodating. Every morning there was free coffee and pastries, not to mention Bvulgari toiletries. We would definitely return to Tangerine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kerman,Ca

Only 10 minutes from theme park.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Room was clean and beds where great to sleep on. Staff was very nice. Only issues.... Only 5 parking spots on their lot, so we had to park on the street. Also the bathroom is very small! Kind of had a weird smell when you walked into the room. For the price they charge for one night I would of liked more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

A real little gem of a hotel!

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nope, can't think of a thing.
Location: All the main movie studios, Hollywood, the side streets around the hotel are beautiful, loads of great eateries right on the doorstep
The Tangerine is a real gem of a hotel - we were so impressed. Being a former motel, we weren't sure the reality was going to live up to what we saw and read on their website, but now I can say, hand on heart, it's all true. Highlights include: free parking, fantastic staff, free hot drinks in reception, free pastries every morning, everywhere scrupulously clean, new-looking and well-maintained, nice pool, perfect location (we walked to Warner Bros in 10mins), and just a fresh vibrancy and quirky uniqueness which is so refreshing. We stayed in a wide variety of hotels this holiday, from the Bellagio in LV to a rustic cabin at the Grand Canyon, and the Tangerine was my favourite. It's only small, so book early, and let the Tangerine show you how it should be done!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Nicely renovated 'Retro' Motel

Posted Jul 23, 2014
The Tangerine was terrific...close to everything. The room was nicely redone...love the retro vibe. Staff was super helpful and the pastries in the morning were delicious! Good restaurants within walking distance. The pool is small but for a quick dip on a hot day - perfect. All in all a great choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grimsby, UK

Great location.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Great location near to Warner Bros Studios. Nice area, better suited for people who don't want the hustle & bustle. There were plenty of nice places to eat close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Loved the Tangerine!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Nice tidy hotel, room lovely and clean and stylish. Beds very comfortable and everything you need in the room. Great location in smart and safe area
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Nice safe, smart neighbourhood. Few blocks away from the Warner Bros. Studios, and very short drive to Universal Studios. Pretty central for others.
Stayed here 7 nights, had previously requested a ground floor room as one of my party had mobility problems since booking the room. This was complied with no problem and confirmed by return email. Room was right by the pool and was initially a little worried we would hear the pool music inside our room. Pleasantly surprised to find could hear nothing outside, in fact the room had excellent sound proofing. Room was nicely decorated, modern and stylish with everything we needed including a fridge and safe. Staff were polite and friendly, especially the lovely young lady on reception. Limited parking spaces, but we always found a space no problem. Coffees in lobby were delicious, as were the pastries for breakfast. Used the pool a few times which was lovely and refreshing after a hot busy day. Would highly recommend the Tangerine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little place

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms, heated pool.
Location: Close to Universal Studios
Check in was super easy and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We used their pool which was heated, which was a first for my family. This is the first time I felt compelled to write a review and it is because of my complete satisfaction for this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Irwin, CA

Nice hotel close to universal studios!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Don't let the outside of the hotel fool you... This was an Awesome hotel! Better than some of the expensive ones we've stayed at!!