Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from Portland, OR

One of my favorite hotels

Posted Mar 29, 2014
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is a small place without the amenities such as restaurants and pools but it is tastefully appointed, intimate and well located. Noticed that the TV is a bit old and there is no movie menu but I am fine with that. Some people may be bothered by this. I do not need to be in my room watching movies when Santa Monica is right outside my door. Great neighborhood, nice baked treats in the morning buffet, friendly check-in staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hugo from avianto

Really nice hotel, perfect for relaxing

Posted Mar 10, 2014
I just unhappy woth the price, why the hotel didn't give the same deal like expedia gave to me. Kinda cheating to me. The booking price was $305 and hotel charge $ 370. What a deal?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!!!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
This hotel knows how to treat there guest, they could use an updating in the in- room media area though. The TV was older than my 2006 Toyota Tacoma..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't make me leave!

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Location, accommodations, EVERYTHING!
Cons: N/A
Location: Pier, great dining, lots of great things to do in walking distance.
My Mom booked this room for my birthday and honestly I did not want to leave - hotel is fantastic! Staff outstanding - friendly and helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephen from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: The Ambrose is a boutique hotel located 5 minutes drive from Santa Monica beach. It is nicely decorated and run by good staff.
Location: Close to Santa Monica beach and shopping strip, and an easy drive to other locations such as Rodeo Drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place.

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Location: Good location.
Lovely hotel with clean, comfortable rooms. Driver who will drop and pick you up from local spots was a great service. Staff were very professional and trust worthy when handling a problem we had. Beds very comfortable, nice continental breakfast. Would stay there again. Handy to Whole Foods supermarket.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Burrlamb from Somerville, MA

Stylish Hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness and very tasteful decor.
Cons: The hotel could use some paint and maintenance, it's starting to show its age.
Location: The location is OK, a quick bus trip to the center of Santa Monica. There are some restaurants nearby, but they aren't outstanding choices.
This was our second stay at the Ambrose, and again we weren't disappointed, staying 3 very pleasant nights. We apparently had reserved a room off the back alley, which my wife was disappointed with, and the staff upgraded us to a very nice room on the 4th floor overlooking the courtyard with no change in fee. We were very pleased with the room and used the balcony. i wish we had known about where the room we had reserved was located; Expedia should include more information about the rooms reserved. The hotel has a good continental breakfast, with croissants that could have been from France. The downside of the breakfast is that there are no real tables to sit at, and the coffee isn't great, but i've had a hard time finding good coffee anywhere in the US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, excellent room, outstanding staff

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Cons: Separate with a door the large bathroom to isolate the shower and toilet.
The hotel is conveniently located, a short drive to the Santa Monica Beach and Pier. The rooms and amenities are better than most "on the beach" hotels. The staff was outstanding, they gave us a free upgrade to a king suite with a large balcony/patio. Will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DesertTraveller from Northern Territory

Good Santa Monica stay

Posted Sep 8, 2013
We spent our last two nights of our 4 week US holiday here. I have stayed in a number of hotels close to the beach and shops in Santa Monica and for the price I have never been impressed. The lower price and good facilities more than compensated for being 20 streets back from the beach and shops rather than two or three. The complimentary regular shuttle bus was an excellent substitute. The breakfast choice was good and it was nice to have both healthy and less than healthy options. The rooms do need a refresh as some things are getting a little tired. The front desk were a little prickly (maybe a bad day) on arrival but they improved to excellent over time. They disputed we had free parking so we had to print off the booking and show it to them. It wasn't a major hassle but it would have been nice to not have the argument. There seemed to be plenty of car parks available I think offering free car parking here to all patrons would be a great way of setting a difference between this hotel and other good quality hotels in the area. There are plenty of food options near by without heading to Santa Monica. I look forward to staying here again.