Ratings based on 720 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dc

I can't wat to stay here again

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Great pool experience, great pool bar staff, great guests!!! I love the customers and the staff equally
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Worst Hotel I've Ever Stayed In

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing - I did not sleep
Cons: The management should treat their guests better.
Location: Location was on a very busy street and right behind the freeway. You could hear the freeway in the room.
Their fire alarm was broken and started going off at 1am. Very Loud. It went on and off for 3 hours and I didn't get to sleep until 4:30am. The management refused to give me a refund or even a discount. I paid $330/night for this room. I actually have narcolepsy and it is really bad for me to not get sleep - it worsens my condition horribly. But the hotel didn't care. Just unbelievable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GOOD BUT HAS LOTS OF ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: CHARMING
Cons: SERVICE IS NOT UP TO WHAT THEY CHARGE NOR THE ROOMS..ALTHOUGH I HAVE TO SAY THE ROOMS ARE NICE AND CLEAN.THE AIRCONDITIONER IS EXTRAMLY NOISY.....
Location: IN BETWEEN A HIGHWAY AND A WATER CANAL?
ON MY ARRIVAL THE ROOM REQUESTED WAS NOT AVAILEABLE.THEY TRY TO PUT ME IN THE OLD BUILDING BELOW THE PARKING LEVEL!!!!THEY GAVE ME SOMETHING SIMILAR BUT STILL WAS NOT WHAT I HAVE EXPECTED.THEY ARE RENOVATING THE HOTEL SO THERE IS SOME INCONVENIENCE ON THE BUILDING I STAYED.ALSO 1 OF THE ELEVETORS DIDNT WORK MOST OF THE TIME SO WE HAD TO USE THE STAIRS MOST OF THE TIME AS 1 ELEVETOR FOR THE ENTIRE BUILDING WAS NOT ENOUGH.THE HOTEL IS SMALL,SIXTIES LOOK,PLEASENT AND WELL LOCATED... DONT THINK ITS WORTH WHAT THE PRICES PAYED.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Great!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Two weeks after being Recently remodeled, we had a great, clean, spacious, new room. I loved the fact that they had a free trolly to universal studios! And the breakfast at the restaurant was fresh and delicious! The only reason I didn't give an overall 5 was that their was a hiccup. There was a mixup with our initial reservation but the staff and manager corrected it to ensure customer satisfaction. Kudos to the staff and manager! Thanks again for a lovely stay. We will return to the Beverly Garland when we are in that area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Staff was great, some construction going on which made access to the elevator a bit inconvenient, but you have to make those type of improvements sometime, so not that big of a deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Cozy hotel close to Hollywood,Universal,Warner Bro

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Hotel shuttle, excellent staff
Cons: The king size bed room was a little cramped and quite warm. The bar/restaurant should stay open longer too.
Location: Awesome location, the shuttle to Universal and to the metro is probably the best part. It is only a $10 cab ride to Warner Bros studios too.
Great hotel, with cozy decor. The staff were very nice, the shuttle to universal and to the metro is probably the best part. It is only a $10 cab ride to Warner Bros studios too. The restaurant was excellent but closed to early ( 10pm) so there wasn't a place to stay and get a late drink . It is a family hotel so the pool was filled with kids, so great if you have them. Movie by the poolside was so sweet. But as an adult it was a little hard to get into the pool for a swim or to relax.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Close to Universal studios

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Close to Universal studios and there was a shuttle - this was great.
Cons: The lobby is really nice but the rooms even though remodeled don't reflect the same quality. I thought for the price it wasn't a great value.
The stay was fair, the room was just ok. We were on the freeway side so if you opened the door is was pretty noisy. The beds were comfortable but the room was small and we felt crowded with four of us. The pool was really crowed with lots of kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL US

Wonderful Experience Overall!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
This was my first time staying at The Beverly Garland Hotel. It's always been perfectly located but old, tired and in desperate need if renovation inside and out. My stay with them coincided with that very thing: The midst of upgrades and its accompanying daily construction noise. Though completely understandable, I must subtract points from my rating as it did certainly diminish my otherwise excellent experience. The room, dressed in an upscale contemporary take on '60s Retro, was amply sized and every detail seemed to have been considered. The corridors, though, seemed uninspired and bleak with busy carpeting that said "downscale" while making the narrow shafts feel even smaller. Exteriors, hardscaping and greens are quite grand and well-chosen and meticulously maintained. The pool was lovely and well-used by guests while its surrounds felt confined. Pool service was attentive and friendly, as it was by hotel staff in general. The property's restaurant/bar, Warren's Blackboard, is a standout on its own merits and is already becoming an entertainment biz hangout for lunch, drink and dinner meetings, which is how I scheduled my times there for several meetings with associates. The chef's well-executed dishes and nice menu choices gratified my appetite and palette as the personal service made me feel like an old friend of the family. The L.A. portion of my trip was a wonderful and relaxing experience due in large part to my stay at The Beverly Garland.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Great hotel and food at restaurant. Pool was nice, but a rule for no kids in hot tub did not work well for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Felt like I was back in the "Hollywood" Days.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Loved it! Once the renovation is done, it will be really great.