Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Holiday atmosphere with lovely swimming pool

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Cons: Near the main dual carriageway, so a little noisy, but NOT in the rooms. Also, some building works going on, would check status before booking
We had a lovely time, the adjacent restaurant served nice food, plus there was a smoking area under cover The only negatives - close to main highway, so a little noisy in the grounds, and some building work being carried out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angela from Brooklyn, NY

Nice hotel near the studios

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Size and scale - lovely staff; great restaurant attached, although we only did breakfasts.
Cons: Refrigerators in the rooms would be great.
Location: Quick drive to WB studios and there's a trolley to Universal and Citywalk. Griffith observatory and the Hollywood Bowl are not far.
This place was lovely and well placed - accessible to both the USC campus with some drive and the studios, highways and Griffith Observatory. We found this to be a gem and hope to stay next year when we return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from vancouver, BC

good location - considering nothing is 'central' I

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: nice atmosphere
Cons: in room safe and fridge
it should be clearly stated that you have 2 choices of rooms: (1) facing freeway. Unless you sleep with earplugs or closed balcony doors / windows you have a 24 / 7 noise avalanche. (2) pay extra ($ 30.00 - t.b.c.) to have an inside room overlooking the inner courtyard and away from highway.safe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Free Shuttle to Universal Studios

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Location: Short walk to Ventura Blvd. Would recommend Vivian's for breakfast and Mantee Mediterranean for dinner out on the patio under the stars.
We enjoyed our stay at the Beverly Garland. It is a 10 minute free shuttle ride from Universal Studios. Pool was warm and well kept, with nice big clean rolled towels waiting on every lounge chair. Breakfast buffet was delicious and a particularly good value for the children.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth from Reno, NV

Wonderful Location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We have stayed at the Beverly Garland a number of times because of it's great location. Easy access to many parts of LA. Our room was nice, but was not cleaned until 4:30 PM. After we returned from the beach and headed out for the evening. The noise from the ice and soda machines located next door was annoying. Avoid those rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel...close to Universal Studios

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Free shuttle, pool, hot tub, exercise room and beautiful grounds.
Cons: They could have better beds and a fan in the bathroom.
We enjoyed our stay....a little construction noise and wish the beds were more comfortable, but overall nice place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maryann from San Diego, CA

Just right for our needs

Posted Apr 4, 2014
We met up with family from out of town to visit Universal. When we checked in the clerk asked if we'd like adjoining rooms which I thought was nice. The rooms were fine, nothing great. The whole place is a little dated but not bad. Room service options were somewhat limited but the breakfast we got was good. There isn't a family type restaurant in the hotel. It's an "experimental kitchen". The food is very good but it's more of a stand alone place with no apparent relation to the hotel itself. The pool was clean and warmed to a really pleasant temperature. We will probably stay there again when we return to Universal.
3 out of 5
by Cide83 from Folsom, Sacramento

Old hotel close to Universal

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Cons: Upgrade hallway/interior.
The room was Ok nothing special. Bed is old, a bit sagging. Room was clean. Convenient location if you're planning to visit Universal. The interior feels like dungeon to me. Have a great pool area, but didnt get a chance to enjoy it (too cold).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury accomodations

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Nice room decorated well and clean. Close to universal studios
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim and Deb from Chicago

Great place to stay.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Walking distance to Universal Studios and City Walk. Nice neighborhood. Close to Hollywood attractions.