Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from phoenix az

Loved it!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Nice location! Great staff! Really enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by Erik

Funky hotel with rundown bathroom, parking fees

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Cons: Breakfast, parking fee. Improve that and you can live with bathroom for the price.
The Hotel California has a great location next to the beach and reasonable price. The staff is pleasant and L.A.-themed art is neat. On the downside: we had loud room facing the street with a tiny rundown bathroom. Parking is $36 extra per night and there is no overnight street parking nearby. Breakfast is packaged pastries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Cool and Funky Hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: The nostalgia and so close to the beach.
Cons: The heating system, doors and windows are quite worn, they can be updated.
Location: It is within walking distance to Venice Beach and Santa Monica Pier. It is also very close to downtown. So there are endless things to do.
I wanted to be near a beach for a few days for some R&R in Santa Monica and chose to stay at Hotel California, since I like the song. It has a nostalgic feel to it, the decor is unique, my suite is clean and spacious. It is not a luxury place, but it certainly has character. The location has very convenient access to Venice Beach and downtown Santa Monica. The complimentary breakfast is simple but plentiful. Coffee, tea and water always available by the front desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary

Great value!

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Super close to the beach, the Santa Monica pier, and the third street promenade! When I checked in the woman at the front desk told me I had one of the best rooms so I probably had a significantly better experience. My room was more like three rooms. Everything was really clean and the location was superb. The only real downside was that the walls are super thin so you can hear noise from the street and when people close doors or the neighbors talked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary

Great value!

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Super close to the beach, the Santa Monica pier, and the third street promenade! When I checked in the woman at the front desk told me I had one of the best rooms so I probably had a significantly better experience. My room was more like three rooms. Everything was really clean and the location was superb. The only real downside was that the walls are super thin so you can hear noise from the street and when people close doors or the neighbors talked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nationalchamp from mobile, Al

Laid back California

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Cool room. A little noisy and bathroom was a little small but overall nice and close to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by exper.trvl 40yo from B

Solid hotel & location.

Posted Jan 9, 2014
was pleasantly surprised that the location of the hotel is excellent and near the pricy high end hotels but this one is a fraction of the price! the room was very clean, comfy bed and linens,staff is super attentive, friendly and helpful. no pool or on site amenities, but if your looking to save a few bucks for a solid, clean hotel with 5 min walk to the 3rd st promenade, book here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel staff was great, and I thought the room was fine. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this would not be your first choice. But, if you want a funky hotel that is very convenient to everything, I would highly recommend it as a place for a unique experience. I enjoyed staying there!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014