Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

INCREDIBLE STAFF (AARON) ... CLOSE TO BEACH

Posted Jul 8, 2014
SERVICE FROM AARON MAY HAVE BEEN THE BEST I HAVE RECEIVED FROM ANYONE EVER!!! HE WAS FACED WITH A FEW SITUATIONS IN MY CASE WHERE HE COULD HAVE WAIVERED, BUT EVERY SINGLE TIME HE WENT THE EXTRA MILE WITHOUT MY ASKING OR INITIATING ... HARD TO FIND TODAY! CLOSE TO STREET SO PRETTY LOUD UP UNTIL 1AM ... NOISE IS PRIMARILY FROM CARS ... ALTHOUGH ROOMS ARE SO CLOSE TOGETHER AT TIMES YOU THINK SOMEONE IS TRYING TO GET IN YOUR ROOM, HOWEVER THEY ARE JUST SO CLOSE IT SOUNDS LIKE THEY ARE AT YOUR DOOR. VERY CLOSE TO BEACH ... FROM HOTEL DOOR TO FIRST STEP IN THE SAND ... PROBABLY ABOUT 100 STEPS!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pip from NZ

Great location.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Friendly helpful staff made this quaint hotel a great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by becky from Cleveland

Excellent, close to beach

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Hotel was in a perfect location, and room decor was great! Hidden gem that is affordable! Bathroom is small but the skylight and ocean breezeare wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suezette from Perth

Great location,great staff

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, pizza rest on corner. D├ęcor was funky.
On first impression, not so great but soon changed. Great location, fabulous staff, lovely breakfast. No air con, but we were in an unexpected heat wave, still comfortable. Parking VERY expensive at front but can park across the road. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave from Maryland

Great hotel in EXCELLENT location

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here prior to a cruise the next day. When we arrived at about 2p, our room was ready and waiting for us. Very comfortable room, with a surf board headboard, and movie posters on the wall. The Hotel California was located very clo0se to the Santa Monica Pier, which we enjoyed visiting. There was also a park across the street, which was very lovely and we visited on the day of our departure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

recent stay

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: location
Location: so close to santa monica pier and the beach, fantastic.
cute little hotel, comfy room, great location, super friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Global Traveller from Earth

Great location

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
A really neat little hotel in a fantastic location. Bed was super comfy.... Only suggestion would be to try and get a room on the ocean side of the hotel, we were on the road side and it was a bit noisy in the morning.Would stay at the Hotel California Hotel again :)
2 out of 5
by soaking up sun from wi

Nothing like the song.

Posted May 2, 2014
Not what I was expecting. No a/c which we were lucky it wasn't a warm night. Bathroom was so tiny. If we would've known we would have driven back to L.A.. not worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Murray Solomon from Northern California

Excellent, Small but Cozy, Hotel Close to Beach

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location and a great rate. Will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com