Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Exceptional service - an outstanding stay

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The staff were extremely helpful and it is a very calm and relaxing place to stay. I liked the pool and club lounge.
Location: Bikes can be hired from the hotel, you can walk to Venice Beach and visit the farmer's market and lovely boutiques on Abbot Kinney Boulevard.
Stayed here in a club room and enjoyed the complementary refreshments and concierge service in the relaxing club lounge. The polite and friendly concierges ensure you are greeted and looked after, and the lounge is a great place to go for a morning coffee with breakfast or glass of wine before dinner. The room had a view of the marina and was cleaned every day, featuring soft robes and high end toiletries. Had dinner at the Cast & Plow restaurant, which was excellent, great steak and fries, fellow diners were a good mix of business people, couples and friends. For variety and if you don't want to drive, Killer Shrimp, Cafe del Rey,The Cheesecake Factory, Tony P's, Venice Beach and Abbot Kinney are all a short walk away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

not good value for money

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: ok pool
Cons: pricing
Location: decent enough location
just not worth that kind of outlay The Beverly Hilton was infinitely better and a 3rd of the price !
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Tony, Hotel Management
Dear Nick, Thank you for your comments on Expedia’s website. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our pool and the location. However, I am sorry that you felt the price was too high compared to the Beverly Hilton. There are a couple of possible reasons why we were more expensive. Demand during the time of year during your stay could be one factor. Even though both hotels are in the LA area we are both in distinct different markets within the LA area. I would like to try and assure you that we are competitively priced for our local market given the demand during those particular dates. We hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in our area. Sincerely, Tony Mira, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Beautiful setting, close to many things

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Everything!! Fabulous food, wonderful staff, immaculately clean facilities!!
Location: Close proximity to Venice Beach, Santa Monica, and Los Angeles; Easy to enjoy many activities, such as a day at the beach, shopping, or sightseeing
We didn't know anything about the area or the hotel before we arrived. It was so comfortable at the hotel, we would have not minded spending all of our time there, but we traveled quite a distance. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and the cleanliness was remarkable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2014
Club Level great, Concierge Edwardo top notch. Restaurant wonderful, heaters at tables on outside porch
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy from Newport Coast, CA

Nice hotel at the Marina

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The staff in the Club Room, the door men, and front desk were outstanding.
Cons: Room cleaned before noon. I had my dog out of the room. No ice in the ice bucket. Daily variety of food for lunch and snack on the Club floor
Location: Venice Beach Skip Fisherman Village
I had a pleasant five day stay at the hotel. Great to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in a very nice location

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The cleaning staff should vacuum the carpets so that I can breath at night. The restaurant is too expensive and the portions are very small.
Location: It is located in Marina Del Rey which is close to Venice Beach and Santa Monica which have nice restaurants and stores for shopping as well as surfing
We stayed at this hotel 5 times before this visit so we think this is one of the best hotels in California. It located to some very good restaurants and to Hwy 90 which connects to all highways. It is always pleasant to go up the Pacific Coast Highway as the scenery through Malibu is great. Just south of the PCH on Hwy 101 is the Camarillo Outlet Mall which is the biggest I have ever seen. Going back to the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant at the hotel is overpriced and the food is mediocre and there portions are microscopic. The rooms are not cleaned very well as the maids do not vacuum the carpets. The swimming pool at this visit was very dirty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

lovely stay

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
It would have been better with free wi-fi in this day and age.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

High-3end Marriott, but no "Ritz"

Posted May 15, 2014
Hotel lobby and facilities were nice and up-to-date; however, rooms were quite tired and small in comparison to other Ritz- Carlton's. The staff is welcoming and goes out of its way to accomodate you; however, we waited over 3 hours after arrival for our room even though we were told it would be an hour. The room we received was supposedly an upgrade, which was a lot smaller than the regular room type that the rest of our family had checked into.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2014 by Tony, Hotel Management
Dear A Verified Traveller, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey. I sincerely apologize that you had to wait over three hours to check into your room. I will certainly follow up with our Front Office and Housekeeping Managers to see how we can improve our processes to have clean rooms available for arriving guests. Regarding our guestrooms, please know that in 2015 we will be completely renovating and updating each guestroom; from new carpet, paint, window coverings, bedding to a fresh and contemporary furniture design in the spirit of our philosophy; Light, Harmony and Water. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to see where we need to improve in our operation and to refine our processes to ensure that we continue to deliver excellent customer service. Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey. Kind regards, Tony Mira, General Manager