Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, Oregon

Good Location, Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: The staff was extra courteous.
Cons: I think that the restaurant menu could be improved. Add a couple of more traditional appetizers and meals in addition to the gourmet items.
Location: People watching on Venice Beach is always an experience and the sidewalk cafes on Washington St. are great.
This hotel is in a great location for visits to Venice Beach, Santa Monica and Malibu. The service was excellent in every way. The hotel is not as upscale as many of the Ritz-Carlton's but when it is so convenient to the best areas of Los Angeles, it does the job. I will stay at this hotel, if possible, whenever I have reason to visit LA.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington St

Service was lacking.

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: The location was nice.
Cons: Service!
Location: On the water, with views of yacht club. Walking path to a few restaurants and bars. Short taxi ride to Venice Beach area.
Upon check-in, front desk person indicated that the bags would be brought up immediately. After waiting for 20 mins I phoned down to have them brought up. Apparently, they forgot... The tv in our room was not working; couldn't change the channel or turn off. My husband asked the front desk at 5PM if they could send someone to repair while we were out. We were assured that it would be taken care of. Upon returning to our room at 11PM, we discovered that no one had been to repair the tv. Again, I had to call down to have someone sent up. I wouldn't have bothered, except that the tv would not turn off and was glaring. A maintenance person was up quickly and made the repair. For the hassles, we were givin an $80 breakfast credit for the next day, however it was not delivered in time for us to use room service or the restaurant before leaving for the airport in the morning. Considering the cost of the stay, we were very disappointed in the lack of service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by Tony, Hotel Management
Dear Allen, I was very unhappy to read about the delays in your service requests during your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey. There is never any excuse when service is requested and the follow through is lacking. I can understand your level of disappointment. I will certainly share your comments with the appropriate managers so we can find out why the breakdown occurred and keep this from happening again in the future. However, on a brighter note, I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and that access to the local areas and restaurants were easy. Please accept my personal apologies and I do hope that you will visit us again. Sincerely, Tony Mira, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We were not expected this!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
We stayed for a night, the sheets had spots on them. I noticed so many on them. The hotel were dusty. You could see on the furniture. My family didn't like the hotel and said" there is nothing special about this hotel"
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2015 by Tony, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent visit to The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey. Please accept my apologies for the spotted sheets and the dusty furniture. There is no excuse why the room attendant used less than pristine linens and also not taking the time to ensure that the room was cleaned to our hotel’s high standards. I can assure you that I will speak to the Director of Housekeeping and request that he speak with all of the room attendants to make sure that this never happens again. The Ladies and Gentlemen of the Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey will continue to work hard in providing all of our guests a truly wonderful experience. Sincerely, Tony Mira, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

no car rental, sound-proofing is bad.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: location is fine, view is good. Parking is expensive.
good location in Marina del ray. Staff is nice. but room sound proof is not great. The wind is blowing into the room from the main door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carson, California

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton Marina Del Rey Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The beauty of the location and response to my requests (i.e., extra towels, luggage delivery and valet service).
Cons: I'd like to see a small hand towel rack in the bathroom. It's an itty bitty request but it's nice to have your towel hanging to dry the moisture off.
Location: I liked the number of restaurants nearby and choice of selections when it came to type of food and pricing.
I enjoy, appreciated, and was grateful for/to the staff for their expertise and kindness. I've never stayed at the Ritz Carlton before and was very impressed with the hotel décor, cleanliness, staff kindness and attentiveness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great decision

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Great staff, beautiful view, convenient location. The room was clean and the hotel smelled pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff.

Posted Dec 30, 2014
The staff is amazing, the amenities are first class, and the location is perfect for getting around on the west side of Los Angeles. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Amazing service, friendly staff. Stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the Club Level lounge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Park City Ut

Great Hotel..Wonderful staff

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: location..clean..comfort
As a business owner I know how difficult it is to hire and train good people. During my three day stay I would say every single person knocked it out of the park. If the rating chart could go higher I would ..great location too.. 12 minutes from LAX if you don't hit traffic.. this stop is a must. I have traveled 30 years for business and have never written a review..but the staff earned all stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rhode Island

Thanksgiving 2014

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: The quiet and the staff.
Cons: Room was dated looking.
Location: The Ritz at Marina del Rey was not the location to be in during the Thanksgiving holiday. If you wanted serenity, which we did, it was wonderful.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. Perhaps the hotel needs an updating however. I found it rather worn and tired looking. Lounge staff were pleasant and not pushy. Prices seemed out of proportion to the datedness of the hotel. Because we were in the off season, help seemed to be scarce by the pool.