Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of marina

Posted Apr 12, 2014
We were fortunate to be upgraded to the club lounge with concierge, breakfast, lunch, canapés and cocktails which made it even better still. Great stay. Really relaxing. Nothing too much trouble. Around half hour walk to Venice Beach. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Michigan

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Getaway for my son and I. We enjoyed the pool area and basketball court immensely. I was not very pleased with paying 40 dollars a day plus tips for valet parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Stay

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Beautiful and staff treated me like a Queen.
Cons: Room bath needed some updating and recalking , tub faucet was loose, some damage around the tub needed fixing.
Hotel was cold and too breezy , which I thought was odd for California and we had to layer up to be comfortable in the main areas My room was beautiful and quiet, the only thing that didn't work was the espresso maker. Room service was prompt and responded with urgency to any requests. Recommend bringing your own hairdryer, theirs was too cool to work well . Food and drinks were well presented and delicious, hotel staff were very attentive and accommodating, which enhanced my experience greatly. The hotel is beautiful and elegant, my experience overall was one of luxe comfort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jared from Tempe, AZ

Excellent hotel, great views, staff, and service.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Courteous and professional staff. Great views of the Marina. Very comfortable beds!
Cons: Can't really think of anything that needs to be improved!
Location: Right on the marina. Venice beach is only a mile or so away. Santa Monica just a couple more miles. Great place to stay if you want to hit the beach!
Stayed here for a long weekend and absolutely loved the experience. The entire staff was extremely professional, friendly, and helpful. The bartenders at the hotel bar Cast and Plow were outstanding, especially Seth. The entire hotel is beautiful, from the common areas to the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Friend from Vancouver, British Columbia

Superb - Highly recommended

Posted Mar 19, 2014
It was a pleasure to stay at The Ritz Carlton hotel. Beautiful place with comfortable rooms and outdoor space to relax or walk along the marina. Nice size pool, tennis and basketball courts allow for sport activities. The staff personnel was very respectful and ready to assist at any time.
4 out of 5
by NYCDiva from San Francisco

Very expensive, but not so Ritzie...

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Overall, it was a nice hotel and very likeable. The spa was nice (but just a tad over priced for what you get) The all night hot tub is great!
Cons: The menu options for the restaurant and room service need to be improved! Coffee makers in the rooms and a vending machine would be nice
Location: There is really nothing within walking distance though pictures make it seem very convenient and luxurious, its not walkable to anything
The Ritz Carlton is of course a great hotel, however, I feel like the amenities don't match the cost of the hotel. I don't mind paying "extra" but in return I want "extra". You wont regret staying there because it is a nice place, but you may leave wondering why you paid as much as you did for what you got. If you dine in the hotel restaurant, prepare to be disappointed... And the only reason I wouldn't recommend it to a friend because I think you could stay at the Marriott, pay less, and get the same amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall great hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: reception people made our stay great
Cons: Valet service and honest restaurant people as discussed
Location: good
Very pleasant and helpful staff for the most part. Not worth staying on Club level because we did not hang around the hotel all day. Also, it is a white collar snobby atmosphere on Club level where the staff have to be slaves to any request that guests want. Our room was maintained well as it was even vacuumed which is rare at most hotels. The reception people were very good as usual. The valet service was not up to parr as they gave our car to someone else and gave us vouchers that were only good for the initial ride out but not back. HOwever, they did wave out valet and internet fees and gave us a $250 credit. The food at the hotel has improved, but I wish they would be more honest about the choices. They mentioned the Halibut is the favourite when the steak was the real favourite meal. We thought they wanted to move the halibut which was not selling too well. Overall, this visit was not as great as my previous visits but we will come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, great location close to amenities

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The view from our hotel balcony which was a quiet marina, the housekeeping was outstanding, the pool area was super clean and well staffed.
Cons: The rooms were slightly out of date but because of how clean they were it didn't bother us.
Location: On the first day we advised easily as the airport is close. Warner Brothers studio and Getty 45 mins. Santa Monica close by Venice Beach walkable.
Our experience at this hotel was all positive. We arrived to friendly staff and a refreshing drink in the lobby.
1 out of 5
by Linda from Washington DC

Horrible Hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: The room needs a total makeover and the construction using the pile drivers should be limited to a few hours each day, if this has to be done.
Location: There are many things to do in LA and the surrounding area. We went to a taping of the Bill Maher show, which was great! We went to 3 beaches.
Construction right outside our window made our stay miserable. Pile drivers were operating for hours which eventually gave me a migraine. I rarely get migraines, but this extremely loud repetitive noise did it. We heard this morning and until 6 pm in the evening. The only saving grace was the fact that we were out of the hotel a good part of our stay. The construction is no where near being completed. We complained about the noise, as did several other customers. Our room was changed to a location further from the construction. The room was awful! It had a stained sink, a clogged tub and it was much smaller than the room size we paid for.
Comment from
Jan 19, 2014
Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I was happy to read your positive comments about the staff and the many benefits of our location. However, I am very sorry that the construction noise disrupted your stay and that the second room you moved to did not fulfill your expectations. Please know that in 2015, we are planning for a complete renovation of our guest rooms and I think you will be pleased with the result. Unfortunately, the construction noise in the marina is completely out of the hotel’s control. The marina renovation is a Los Angeles County project and their work hours are firm; we have complained regarding the noise levels to no avail. Our only consolation is that the project will be moving to docks that are further away and the noise will be minimal. I hope that you will accept my sincerest apologies for not providing you with a true Ritz-Carlton experience. I do hope that you will consider staying with us once the marina and our rooms renovations are completed. Sincerely, Tony Mira, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jose oscar from Denver

Excellent hotel staff

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff
Cons: The rooms need a little upgrade
Location: The location is excellent.
I had a great experience in the hotel the staff is outstanding and the facilities great, will return definetly, and the location is excellent.