Ratings based on 727 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Hotel Downtown LA

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The decor in the hotel is cool retro.
Cons: Making sure that all the furniture in the room doesn't look beat up and old. There was a long desk in the room with a giant crack on it.
Location: It's in downtown LA. Plenty of shopping and restaurants near by.
The room was small and the bed was not what I had requested. I asked why I did not get a king size bed and they told me because I booked it through expedia they could not guarantee the bed size. I would have never stayed there if I knew that I was going to be put in a room with a queen size bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Modern hotel in downtown LA

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: simple furniture but modern, original, we loved the pool on the rooftop with the waterbed!
Cons: price of the restaurant and the roomservice (WAY TO EXPENSIVE! by exemple 30 dollars (w tip,taxes..) for 1 breakfast (big but not huge) in the room.
Location: good location in downtown, lot of bars and restaurants, and jewelery district at 5" walk
Simple hotel but very very good. We stayed in the "huge" room with the amazing bathtub in the middle of the room. We were on the last floor (12th), very good view but very very very noisy because there is the bar/"club" with a DJ until 2am just upstairs on the rooftop.... and all the super noisy drunk people was taking the elevator just in front of our room... not very good at 1 or 2 am when you try to sleep
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Trendy downtown hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The restaurant was good, and the wait staff was helpful. There are also some good restaurants nearby.
Cons: Self-service coffee in rooms. Better AC in the fitness center.
Location: Restaurants, business, Staples Center, USC
There are no coffee makers in the room. One can ask for morning coffee to be delivered by room service (about $10/order), but they were not consistent in delivering milk with the coffee, and not prompt in delivering the milk if it was neglected in the original room service delivery. There is a fitness center, but it is not adequately temperature-controlled.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Forest, CA

The LA Standard, lots of hype, no substance

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Nothing really. I only stayed here because a group of us were all meeting in LA and this was the hotel that was picked.
Cons: Just about everything. Update the ammenites, get comfortable beds, try not to be so pretentious - I know that's a lot to ask for LA.
Location: Well directly outside the window was a huge construction truck that started cutting the concrete at 7am...on a Saturday. That was fun to listen to.
The room was terribly 70s from the outdated smoke alarm that went off twice while showering, to the lack of comfort in everything about the room. The bed is a full (not a queen, and nowhere near a king). Then there's this cheesy pallet looking platform the bed is on - just confused as to why it's there. There are more amenities at a Starbucks than at this hotel. I suppose I'm just not the 'target market' for this hotel. Apparently it's geared to the LA liberal socialite scene.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Best Hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2014
We intended to see various areas of LA. We ended up spending most of the trip at this hotel. The food was great, staff was super friendly, the pool/ rooftop bar was amazing! We love this place!! Tons to do!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Close to DTLA nightlife

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Decided on this hotel based on places I wanted to celebrate at for my bday. It worked out perfect and enjoyed the hotel and amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Very disappointing stay

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: The hallways and are dark and the decor is ugly. The rooms need to be renovated.
I arrived and learned that I had been upgraded to a WOW Suite. That was great. When I got to the room I was not impressed. While the style won't please everyone (and it didn't please me), I was more concerned by the fact that it was outdated and dirty. The bathroom is all white and the flooring is 1" ceramic tiles. I found a lot of hair in the shower and the counter. The carpeting in the room (1110) was stained. The fabric on the sofa was loose and lifting up. The mattress sits on the floor. There is no box spring or bed frame and because the carpet is dirty, i felt a little too close to the floor for my comfort. Light switches in the room were dirty as well and you have to touch those so it's just gross. The TV is too dim. Light over the sofa did not work. I ordered room service on a number of occasions and while the food was good, you couldn't order items that were served during a different meal period. For a 24-hour operation, this seemed odd to me. On departure there was a line of 3 people in front of me and I waited for about 3 minutes before I gave up since I needed to get to the airport. I would have shared these thoughts with the hotel directly, but didn't have the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony from Cali

hip party spot

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms and service are great especially room service since it comes from the restaurant downstairs. Its hard to get to the rooftop especially on weekend nights so try to stay on a higher floor so you can take the stairs instead of the 1 elevator that goes up to the roof.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com