Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Good Location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The decor was neat. Staff were nice.
Cons: Have microwave and coffee maker in the room.
Location: Walking distance to places to eat and drink. Driving distance from a lot of attractions.
We stayed here for 2 nights and it was enjoyable. The hotel sign was upside down and behind trees so it was hard to find. Neat furniture in the lobby. Staff were nice and friendly. Room didn't have coffee maker or microwave:-( We had coffee in the resturant. It was an expensive $4 and I think the sever pocketed the cash since we didn't get a receipt..At check up they couldn't give me a final bill and i later found two additional charges on my credit card which i'm still waiting to find out what it was for. Parking was expensive, and should be included with your room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B.

Location is okay.... The rooms not so much

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Um..... It was like a rave in the hallway with black lights.... No thank you. Pleather on the walls to be "trendy" and bean bags in the room. The price is substantial and yet facilities were so old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Hotel close to our next morning destination.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Proximity to our destination the following day.
Cons: Better coordination with online bookings regarding number of persons in a room and the room rate.
Location: Just used the hotel so we could visit the Hollywood Walk of fame and some local sites.
When we booked the room online we advised the booking people that there would be three people staying in the room. When we arrived at the room there was only one bed and my daughter was informed that if we wanted another bed it was going to cost extra. We didn't agree with this as we had booked the room and rate for three people. A bed was then supplied at no extra cost. There was a DJ playing music in the lobby and it was rather loud. Could have been turned down a notch or two.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Great hotel. Friendly staff!! Enjoyed my time there!! Comfortable bed!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Relaxing LA Weekend

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Minimalist Design, good amenities inc late night diner, early check in, Warby Parker store inside the hotel. Close to the Beverly Centre.
Cons: The lighting in the hallways was far too dark. Needs to be better lit.
Location: Beverley Center for shopping as well as an outlet style mall across the street with TJ MAXX, Marshalls, Ross and Nordstrom Rack.
Flew into LA for a weekend before jetting off on a 1 month trip around the US and Mexico. Needed to unwind for a weekend and the Standard was the perfect place to do this. Great location on Sunset Blvd, close to restaurants and shopping big comfortable bed, minimalist design, good amount of channels on the TV. Slept very soundly on the bed. Lots of really good looking people around the Hotel on a Saturday to have a few drinks, see and been seen on the pool deck and take advantage of the fine LA Weather.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Depends what you are use to !!!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
If you're a 5 star stayer -- noooooo !! If you're a 5 star stayer but has an open mind -- maybe !!!! Not good !!! Staff was kind of blaze , conditions were minimal , pool area is suppose to be a lot of fun even if you're a non hotel guest , but we don't know , we never went . It was ok , but the halls are dark and gloomy , the room was clean , I'm a 5 star stayer with an open mind . And this just didn't do it for me of tide things over for me after leaving my 5 star because I under booked nights , we wanted to stay longer and had to check out of a 5 star because they were booked , we found The Standard , it looks cool on the outside , Leonardo Dicaprios just bought the place , great location but bummer !!! He should spend more money on the place !!! Sorry Standard , I give you a D
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Caution- niche customer only

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Do not take lightly any review that says this hotel is noisy. Only book if you are up for LOUD, pulsing music and a serious party scene that lasts through the night. The place looks old, and tries hard to be hip-chic-trendy but feels contrived, a glorified all-night frat party. If this sounds like your cup of tea, you'll enjoy it. The valets are AWESOME- a shout out to Scott and Artie, who made our otherwise negative experience much better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Time to Rehab the landmark

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The staff is great and goes out of their way to do anything to assist you. The pool and dinning are managed well.
Cons: Remodel or update the hotel rooms
Location: The Sunset Strip is a would class location and the Standard is a New LA Classic.
The hotel staff is and has always been great, the hotel rooms on the other hand have run thier course and need to be freshened up. The boutique concept of simple and modern is great. What the rooms need is a new AC System, new TV's, lighting that does not use $5 dimmer switches from Home Depot. Revamped bathrooms that do not use moldy cork floring. and room Safe's. the worst of all in the entire hotel is the carpet. The halways smell like someone just got sick, and the rooms are not much better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

Ok place if you can't find anywhere else

Posted Jun 23, 2014
We booked The Standard at the last minute after seeing it several times when in the area. On the plus side they have one of the only Warby Parker stores around inside. The 24/7 diner had good food and drinks. The hotel itself is pretty old, but remodeled.
2 out of 5
by kevin from St Augustin fl

Frat house feel...

Posted May 28, 2014
Huge pool party for Hollywood hipsters when we arrived... we were the only people not stoned in the entire hotel... bringing kids or anyone over the age of 60 here is the stuff of sitcoms..carpet smells of beer.. rooms sound insulation non existent.. $35/day to park!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2014 by Rachel, Hotel Management
Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Pool Parties of that size only happen a few times a year, on big holiday weekends, during the summer months. Hotel guests are welcomed and many of our guests have come to expect such celebrations. Other than those few weekends, our pool deck is pretty much a relaxed and fun space to enjoy. Our parking rate of $ 34.00 is competitive within neighborhood. Please accept your sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations and we hope to able to welcome you back in the future, maybe in the Autumn when the weather is still nice and the atmosphere is more laid back