Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mosesto CA

Perfect location.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Walking distance to many restaurants. Great pre-cruise stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Getta from Sherman Oaks

Recent stay at Varden Boutique Hotel in Long Beach

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Perhaps, so cheese could be added to the breakfast
Location: Four blocks from downtown Long Beach. Two blocks from a street full of restaurants. Easy walk to the Aquarium, etc.
Frankly, I never stayed at a boutique hotel, but it's location was perfect for the social function to which we were invited. Friendly? Absolutely. Welcoming? Absolutely. Breakfast? Coffee, tea, three kinds of yogurt, cereal, apples, oranges. The room? Very modern, elegant, free wi fi, cable tv, air conditioning, very quiet. Many similar hotels in other countries are way below in standards. Just one negative remark: the hotel did not have an elevator...and with my foot problem I had difficulty getting to our room, but...would we stay at the same hotel in the future? Absolutely! It is so close to the beautiful downtown Long Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sharon from Sacramento, CA

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Affordable, friendly accommodating staff.
Cons: Maybe the shelf could be moved to allow better access to the sink.
Location: Pike area of Long Beach. Lots of great restaurants. Free trolley system can take you anywhere in the area. Aquarium of the Pacific.
I was on a business trip to offices within walking distance. Staff could not be more helpful or friendly. The owner was there in the morning when I left. He obviously is very hands-on in making sure guests have a wonderful experience. The rooms don't have a lot of storage/hanging space so not good for a lot of luggage. Great for a quick overnight. The bed was so comfortable! Rooms are very affordable compared to others in the area. Check it out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DC from BC

Very affordable and serves the purpose.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Very, very nice staff. Breakfast and evening nibblies available every day. We were there during a very hot spell and air conditioning worked well, linens were good and bed was comfortable. Waterfront area and convention centre are easily walk-able but no nice shopping or cafes on the way down there. Close to the central transit loop for local buses or train to LA. The room is very small with just a slider separating the bed from the bathroom. You need to know your roommate well. There is a window but no view so could be a little claustrophobic for some. Quaint but not luxurious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L from Middlesbrough

Excellent hotel for a good nights sleep

Posted May 7, 2014
We were very pleasantly surprised with the size of our room after comments on Tripadvisor, there is plenty of floor space for 2 large suitcases plus carry on etc, and furnishings are very modern and clean. Bathroom is very very small, but not a problem in fact a bit of a laugh :-) The air con/heat worked excellently and we were very comfortable and had a great nights sleep. Room 5 was very very quiet. Smoke and pet free hotel. Complimentary wine and snacks are served near lobby between 5-7pm which is a great idea, and mini bottles of wine and ice are available at reception anytime. We would like to say BIG thanks to the very friendly and helpful blonde lady who checked us in and directed us to nearest shops etc, she is a star and made us feel extremely welcome so big thanks to her again. We would definitely recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Corona CA

Super small rooms, but very nicely appointed.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Location - very close to restaurants and night life. Cleanliness - very clean Atmosphere - recently remodeled, contemporary rooms
Cons: Parking - limited space and not gated
Location: Very close to Pine Avenue, short walk to the Pike and the Marina
If space is not an issue, this is a great little hotel. The staff was very accommodating, and the rooms were very clean. I got to experience the world's smallest sink and shower (seriously i have bigger bathrooms on cruise ships), but i must say, the experience was very enjoyable overall. I did not realize i was staying over Gran Prix weekend, so the rates were a bit high. They seemed very reasonable other times of the year.
2 out of 5
by rick from boise

Took us 10 minutes to determine NO WAY

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Sketchy part of town - no night walking here. Climb two flights of stairs to a small small room predominantly occupied by a bed. Screen covered windows with no view. the bathroom mirror is higher than my wife. Reminds me a youth hostel... with an adult price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shirley from New Orleans

Immaculate, stylish, comfy

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Internet search for lodging in Long Beach.
Cons: The shower curtain rings should be closed loops. The hooks get caught at the bent in the shower curtain. Otherwise, shower was divine.
Location: Convenient to Metro train. Not especially walkable neighborhood, but many restaurants within super-easy walk. Shopping within few blocks' walk.
Very small jewel box of a hotel. Everything is sleek, pleasing, functional, immaculate. Rooms are small but lack nothing in amenities, comfort, style or quality. Staff are all top-notch -- attentive, professional, and sweet. Parking is steps from the front door, and the hotel is on the metro line, across the street from a stop. Price is great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, but small

Posted Mar 19, 2014
A great concept, but could have been better built. If your not looking to spend any time in your room, this is a well priced place to sleep. Very friendly staff, good WiFi included and the complimentary wine in the evening was a nice touch. But the bed was very small and there was a lot of noise between rooms - the place has very thin walls! OK for one person, but too small for a couple.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jullie from GLENDALE, CA

"Excellence" is the word

Posted Mar 12, 2014
The only thing we can say is that our experience at The Varden has been delightful. We truly recommend it; it is just perfect