Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Agoura Hills, CA

Super nice boutique hotel in downtown Long Beach

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Trip Advisor
In Long Beach for the Sprint Triathlon, showed up Saturday and they were able to store the bikes for us in a downstairs room, safe and ready to go the next morning at 5AM! As it was Breakfast with fresh coffee, fruit and pastries. The staff was super helpful, the hotel clean and the room small (I knew that) but smartly designed and pleasantly decorated. The bed was super comfortable. The hotel is short walking distance from most restaurants in the new Long Beach downtown, altogether and very pleasant experience, yes I would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mosesto CA

Perfect location.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Walking distance to many restaurants. Great pre-cruise stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Getta from Sherman Oaks

Recent stay at Varden Boutique Hotel in Long Beach

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Perhaps, so cheese could be added to the breakfast
Location: Four blocks from downtown Long Beach. Two blocks from a street full of restaurants. Easy walk to the Aquarium, etc.
Frankly, I never stayed at a boutique hotel, but it's location was perfect for the social function to which we were invited. Friendly? Absolutely. Welcoming? Absolutely. Breakfast? Coffee, tea, three kinds of yogurt, cereal, apples, oranges. The room? Very modern, elegant, free wi fi, cable tv, air conditioning, very quiet. Many similar hotels in other countries are way below in standards. Just one negative remark: the hotel did not have an elevator...and with my foot problem I had difficulty getting to our room, but...would we stay at the same hotel in the future? Absolutely! It is so close to the beautiful downtown Long Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sharon from Sacramento, CA

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Affordable, friendly accommodating staff.
Cons: Maybe the shelf could be moved to allow better access to the sink.
Location: Pike area of Long Beach. Lots of great restaurants. Free trolley system can take you anywhere in the area. Aquarium of the Pacific.
I was on a business trip to offices within walking distance. Staff could not be more helpful or friendly. The owner was there in the morning when I left. He obviously is very hands-on in making sure guests have a wonderful experience. The rooms don't have a lot of storage/hanging space so not good for a lot of luggage. Great for a quick overnight. The bed was so comfortable! Rooms are very affordable compared to others in the area. Check it out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DC from BC

Very affordable and serves the purpose.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Very, very nice staff. Breakfast and evening nibblies available every day. We were there during a very hot spell and air conditioning worked well, linens were good and bed was comfortable. Waterfront area and convention centre are easily walk-able but no nice shopping or cafes on the way down there. Close to the central transit loop for local buses or train to LA. The room is very small with just a slider separating the bed from the bathroom. You need to know your roommate well. There is a window but no view so could be a little claustrophobic for some. Quaint but not luxurious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Arthur

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julles Salvatierra from Glendale, CA

Perfect Escape

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have been at the Varden a few times, and as you can see, we are always looking forward to coming back. This is the 3rd review we submit because it is a pleasure to tell others that this is the perfect spot to be when we go to Long Beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good place but small

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great customer service but it's small
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L from Middlesbrough

Excellent hotel for a good nights sleep

Posted May 7, 2014
We were very pleasantly surprised with the size of our room after comments on Tripadvisor, there is plenty of floor space for 2 large suitcases plus carry on etc, and furnishings are very modern and clean. Bathroom is very very small, but not a problem in fact a bit of a laugh :-) The air con/heat worked excellently and we were very comfortable and had a great nights sleep. Room 5 was very very quiet. Smoke and pet free hotel. Complimentary wine and snacks are served near lobby between 5-7pm which is a great idea, and mini bottles of wine and ice are available at reception anytime. We would like to say BIG thanks to the very friendly and helpful blonde lady who checked us in and directed us to nearest shops etc, she is a star and made us feel extremely welcome so big thanks to her again. We would definitely recommend this hotel!