Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom warwickshire

Nice hotel close to lots of eating places

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Clean Friendly well positioned
Cons: Maybe the bed turned so easier to access
Location: As above
A lovely hotel.The staff we met were lovely also.The rooms although small had everything you needed.A good base for exploring Long Beach.Only one street away from lots of eating places.There is a free bus that will take you to the marina or to see Queen Mary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small and basic

Posted Nov 21, 2014
We were working at the nearby convention center and this is an easy walk. It's a nice change from staying in the mega-hotels in the area. Rooms are laughably small but OK for one businessperson. They make up for this with extremely personal service - which is borderline uncomfortable. It's like they are watching you come and go! The neighborhood is cool - on one side there are many fancy restaurants and bars while the other side has homeless people and cheap little restaurants and cafes. Also you can grab a free bus to the convention center or local attractions. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Beach

Really neat place.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
I had out o town guest and needed a place close to me in LB. She loved it. Good value, and the customer service was outstanding. Tracy was personable, attentive and she made us feel that she would give all the time we needed to make sure that we were satisfied and understood all the hotel policies and history. Reminded me of boutique hotels in Cusco, Peru. Charming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dion Robinsonfrom New York City

An unlikely surprise!

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was pleasantly surprised by the staff and how friendly they were. The hotel is in a great location, only steps away from downtown Long Beach's Pine avenue. I grew up in Long Beach, and have lived in New York since the late 80's. Great job at a being a boutique hotel. Very clean. The bed was so comfortable, cable TV, free internet, and fresh fruit and free coffee/tea/water was a plus. I will definitely return to The Varden when I visit family in Long Beach again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mathewfrom Columbus, OH

Excellent Example of a Boutique Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a great stay. The evening front desk staff is extremely helpful and hospitable. She even helped us locate a few important necessities around the downtown area before our flight. Kudos
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by D Brownfrom Miami

Great Small Boutique Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a great little hotel. The only caveat is that the rooms are small. Great for one person or a very romantic couple. Not so great for anyone else. Other than that, you cannot beat the location or the service. One final caveat, there are no elevators, but they are happy to help you with your bags.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jamesfrom Seattle

Upscale ex-boarding house

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have driven past this hotel countless times and often stopped at the donut shop next door but it never really caught my attention. It looks like an old boarding house but it has been totally upgraded and remodled in white modern decor. Room is fairly small but I don't spend much time in there anyway. There is a streetcar rail line in front but I never heard a train in the 2 nights I was there. The neighborhood is urban, but easy 2 block walk to Pine St restaurants and entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robert Vidaurefrom Claremont, CA

Modern, friendly and comfortable

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very clean and modern hotel. Small room but very comfortable. Staff was always friendly, and I can't complain about the complementary wine tasting everyday. If you're in the Long Beach area I would highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lolafrom San Diego

Definitely "boutique"

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Old building with thin walls, I could hear the guest in the room next door snoring. The rooms are tiny but the AC and shower were great, bed comfy and staff very accommodating. For 2 nights downtown it was perfect for just me.