Ratings based on 362 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grey staff and stay

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Couldn't ask for more. Great people, cool rooms... Perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Agoura Hills, CA

Super nice boutique hotel in downtown Long Beach

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Trip Advisor
In Long Beach for the Sprint Triathlon, showed up Saturday and they were able to store the bikes for us in a downstairs room, safe and ready to go the next morning at 5AM! As it was Breakfast with fresh coffee, fruit and pastries. The staff was super helpful, the hotel clean and the room small (I knew that) but smartly designed and pleasantly decorated. The bed was super comfortable. The hotel is short walking distance from most restaurants in the new Long Beach downtown, altogether and very pleasant experience, yes I would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Barb from Washington

Very pleasant, intimate hotel experience

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Varden Hotel is quite a nice place to stay. Close to restaurants and downtown, fairly quiet. The only criticism I had was that the towels in our room were not quite dry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Hilary Fulton from San Bernardino, CA

Very charming hotel!

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is charming and our room was clean and neat. I was very impressed with the level of service I received from the hotel staff. The bellman escorted us to our room and showed us how to use the TV, ipod radio, AC unit etc. Free wine tasting in the evening was really nice and gave us a chance to mingle with other guests. The room was very small, but I knew this going in because I read reviews of other guests. As far as a nice, clean place to sleep and shower, it was perfect. This is not the type of hotel you'd choose if you were planning on hanging out in the room all day. I'll definitely book here again when visiting Long Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mosesto CA

Perfect location.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Walking distance to many restaurants. Great pre-cruise stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
VERY nice and accommodating staff, and walking distance to the places we wanted to visit. Rooms are tiny, I wouldn't recommend bringing the kids, but perfect for a weekend getaway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marc from Out of town

Second home

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff is 100 % attentive. When I left my electric toothbrush behind they called and mailed it to me - got it in one day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CC

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Best Service!

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect for two people in downtown Long Beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com