Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grey staff and stay

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Couldn't ask for more. Great people, cool rooms... Perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Agoura Hills, CA

Super nice boutique hotel in downtown Long Beach

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Trip Advisor
In Long Beach for the Sprint Triathlon, showed up Saturday and they were able to store the bikes for us in a downstairs room, safe and ready to go the next morning at 5AM! As it was Breakfast with fresh coffee, fruit and pastries. The staff was super helpful, the hotel clean and the room small (I knew that) but smartly designed and pleasantly decorated. The bed was super comfortable. The hotel is short walking distance from most restaurants in the new Long Beach downtown, altogether and very pleasant experience, yes I would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mosesto CA

Perfect location.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Walking distance to many restaurants. Great pre-cruise stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Not for those who want a traditional hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Varden is a small and quirky boutique hotel. If you like a traditional hotel experience this is not for you. My experience was mixed. The best part was the staff. They go out of their way to be personable and helpful. Now to the quirkiness. The room I stayed in was the smallest hotel room I had ever seen (and I travel a lot).. They did try some creative space solutions and the materials were first rate. But there was no closet and only one drawer. The desk was tiny and therefore very hard to work at. It had no outlets to plug in anything electronic! The bathroom was also tiny. The sink was so small that the shelf over it covered up 75% of the opening. As such, the sink was almost unusable - try washing your face or brushing your teeth when getting anywhere near the faucet means that you hit your head on a shelf. The shower was also so small as to almost be unusable. You could not stand in it without both arms hitting the surrounding shower curtain (I kid you not). I never thought that I would see a smaller shower (or room) than that on a cruise ship, but there you were.. Finally, although the hotel was generally quiet, I had the misfortune to have the room at the top of the first flight of stairs so all the noise from people talking at the reception desk funneled up to my room. So stay at the Varden if you want a quirky historic hotel with a great staff that gives you the tiniest hotel room you can possibly imagine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by roadrep from everywhere

Comfortable but small

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great pillows, very comfortable sheets and comforter. It is small, there is not much desk space to work and the bathroom is tiny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Drew W from San Diego

Great Place to Stay

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place was amazing, good price for what you get. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful, they offer refreshments during check-in and have a great continental breakfast in morning. Rooms are small but perfect for two people especially if not spending a lot of time in room. Location is great super close to Queen Mary and is still in good area as suppose to other areas in Long Beach. You have to pay for parking but its in secure lot right next door. Highly recommend this place and definitely staying there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by M Mitchell from South Carolina

The price was right! Quiet rooms. Cleanliness.

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was functional without all the frills, which I didn't need because I wasn't in the room that long. Everything I needed was provided. The continental breakfast was wonderful and efficient. 4 blocks from the conference center but the free bus service every 20 minutes was accommodating. Request for service answered immediately. Highly recommend for future trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Getta from Sherman Oaks

Recent stay at Varden Boutique Hotel in Long Beach

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Perhaps, so cheese could be added to the breakfast
Location: Four blocks from downtown Long Beach. Two blocks from a street full of restaurants. Easy walk to the Aquarium, etc.
Frankly, I never stayed at a boutique hotel, but it's location was perfect for the social function to which we were invited. Friendly? Absolutely. Welcoming? Absolutely. Breakfast? Coffee, tea, three kinds of yogurt, cereal, apples, oranges. The room? Very modern, elegant, free wi fi, cable tv, air conditioning, very quiet. Many similar hotels in other countries are way below in standards. Just one negative remark: the hotel did not have an elevator...and with my foot problem I had difficulty getting to our room, but...would we stay at the same hotel in the future? Absolutely! It is so close to the beautiful downtown Long Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sharon from Sacramento, CA

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Affordable, friendly accommodating staff.
Cons: Maybe the shelf could be moved to allow better access to the sink.
Location: Pike area of Long Beach. Lots of great restaurants. Free trolley system can take you anywhere in the area. Aquarium of the Pacific.
I was on a business trip to offices within walking distance. Staff could not be more helpful or friendly. The owner was there in the morning when I left. He obviously is very hands-on in making sure guests have a wonderful experience. The rooms don't have a lot of storage/hanging space so not good for a lot of luggage. Great for a quick overnight. The bed was so comfortable! Rooms are very affordable compared to others in the area. Check it out!