Ratings based on 2,918 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new zealand

Close to airport

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Free shuttle and close to airport.
Lovely hotel close to lax with free 24hr shuttle. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The buffet breakfast was great. You can hear the noise from the airport, but i had no trouble sleeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
On behalf of the staff and management thank you for submitting a review of your stay with us and the 5 star rating you gave the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recent stay

Posted Nov 22, 2014
The hotel is an older one that needs to be updated. Room was clean and close to airport. I would recommend this only for a night stay for an early flight. No long term stays
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
Yes, we are a vintage hotel from the fifties. The owners have preserved the architectural history of the motor/lodge era...especially with its relationship to the world of Hollywood. Updated: New 32 inch flat screen televisions; new bed d├ęcor, pillow trop mattresses, new carpet, lamps with outlets for charging electronic devices, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards...all for a moderate price. Plus the added guest amenities...free Wi-Fi access and continental breakfast. Many guest stay for several days as the airport is the hub of Los Angeles tourist attractions...tours, private guides, car rentals, and metro/bus service adjoin the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle WA

Convenient to LAX and rental car company

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Though clearly past its prime, the hotel is comfortable and much is forgiven due to its colorful history and intentional nod to old Hollywood and the fifties. Pool is lap-sized, dinner options range from Denny/s next door to the Westin restaurant down the street. Shuttle service and light breakfast are handy, plus computer to print out boarding pass.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
Of course, we believe we are just in our prime... The owners have preserved the fifties motor/lodge in order to provide the traveler with an option to high rise concrete modern. We are a moderately priced, clean, convenient, comfortable, and well maintained with updated room amenities. Our great junior Olympic pool and luxurious gardens provide a tranquil setting for our guests. In additional to a moderate room rate we give the guest charm and grace that comes with age. A travelers choice -- new modern prime or a few "lines" and character.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Prime--the word brings back memories of my grandfather at age 78 when he was out on the golf course or tennis court each day; socially very active, travelling extensively, and constantly keeping his brain cells active...his comment was that he was "in the prime of his life". Our hotel is reflective of that definition of prime. We are prime in that we focus on providing our guests with a unique lodging option...cordial service and clean rooms that have been updated with an ergonomic desk chair, 32-flat screen televisions, refrigerator, decorative bedding, lamps with outlets to charge electronic devices, new carpet, pillow top mattresses, make-up mirrors. The fifties architectural structure of the hotel with its rambling pathways has been lovingly preserved...a few wrinkles of course but what character they provide to blank high rise hotel walls. Being abel to access free boarding passes in the lobby is a plus -- the hotel also provides shuttle service to area restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

this hotel is Excellent

Posted Nov 17, 2014
we love this hotel this hotel is Excellent and we will recommend this hotel to your friend hands down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
There is no comment that is more appreciated by staff and management then having a guest tell us they will recommend us to their friends. We are committed to continue to provide a moderately price lodging option that always remembers that service is the key to the success of any business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
We had an overnight layover at LAX. Shuttle was very prompt. Our check-in was very quick. It was nice to have a place to eat (Denny's) located in the same complex. Nice continental breakfast at the hotel, and we were on our way at 9:00 am. (shuttle runs every half hour.) Just what we needed, nothing fancy, just convenience, rooms were clean and lots of hot water. Couldn't beat the price. All and all a very pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
The staff and management are committed to providing our guests with a unique lodging experience that exemplifies the quality of service associated with the motor/lodge era of the fifties. We do have a few "fancies" -- bedcoverings--duvets and decorative pillows. Also a few modern room amenities--ergonomic desk chair, refrigerator, pillow top mattresses, high speed internet that is free, 32-inch flat screen television, and refrigerator. The highlight and most frequently noted in reviews is our gardens--definitely not expected in a concentration of high rise office buildings and hotels. Thank you for your review and the 4 star rating you gave the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Can't think of anything right now.
Location: Only stayed overnight so did not take part in any activities, but tours were available.
The hotel was close to the airport and served breakfast which was good. There was also a Denny's attached and a Carl's JR. just up the road. It was clean and quaint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
The descriptive words clean and quaint defines us to a "T". You can add moderately priced...an oasis of tropical gardens...a 24 hr. Denny's Restaurant/Lounge with room service...updated room amenities and a continental breakfast that includes hard boiled eggs, sausages, and waffles with a cordial staff to serve you. Then you have a clear picture of what to anticipate when you decide to choice the Travelodge Hotel at LAX to provide for your lodging needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. The Denny's Restaurant/Lounge that adjoins the hotel enables our guests to have a moderately priced meal on property. The gift shop provides for amenities that may have been left at home...the exercise room to give you the opportunity to get in shape for all the walking one does as a tourist, and the guest laundry room is available to provide for clean clothes...especially for families. Then there is the guest computer center in the lobby to access emails and obtain boarding passes. Of course, there is a personable and knowledgeable staff to assist you with your questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

good place for short stay

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Good reliable transit to airport every 30m. Fairly good soundproofing
Location: Beware of aggressive panhandlers hanging out at Dennys and cruising the departure area.
Good free transit. Next to Dennys and convenience store.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. The Denny's Restaurant/Lounge that adjoins the hotel enables our guests to have a moderately priced meal on property. The gift shop provides for amenities that may have been left at home...the exercise room to give you the opportunity to get in shape for all the walking one does as a tourist, and the guest laundry room is available to provide for clean clothes...especially for families. Then there is the guest computer center in the lobby to access emails and obtain boarding passes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Overnight stay

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Convenience of shuttle to LAX and the price
Cons: As it is an old hotel I feel the staff do a great job with what they have to work with.
Location: Don't know what is in the area to do. Dennys right next door was a bonus for a late meal
As a very short overnight stay this hotel suited our budget. As I have stayed before I was happy to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
The best accolade we can receive is to have guests return to stay with us again. The hotel has on going projects that are designed to provide our guests with amenities that makes their stay enjoyable. We are currently modernizing the entrance area...adding lighting in bathrooms while maintaining moderately priced rooms and not skimping on the services that contribute to a guest enjoying their stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom arkansas

out of a bygone era but clean, luxury linens.

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Cons: Seems anyone might walk in off the streets , wondered a bit about security. Seemed Ok
The plants and landscape was just exceptional. It was what you would expect from a luxury hotel, not a travel lodge. I loved this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to submit a review of your stay with us. The staff and management appreciate the 5 star rating you gave the hotel. We make every attempt to describe the hotel and its unique vintage fifties character and charm .that only can comes with age. For travelers who envision a different setting and whose expectations far exceed those of a moderately priced hotel will result in their being disappointed and not benefiting from the tropical restful setting we have created in a very busy commercial area less than 5 minutes from the airport terminals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton, On, Canada

Glad I booked

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Great stop for 1 night, clean, affordable, secure, and very well informed staff. Free airport shuttle, bar and restaurant on site.
Location: Very close to airport
This was a pre cruise (one night) stop for us, from LAX, shuttle was called, waited no more than 10 minutes for it to arrive, luggage loaded by very friendly staff, and we proceeded to the hotel. (10 minute or less drive). Check in was a breeze, staff very well informed, we were given map (layout of hotel area, with Wi-Fi code written down on it). Room was very clean and we had our own patio area outside. Lots of well tended flowers all around the outside area, pool very clean, with plenty of outdoor sitting area. Continental Breakfast was included (6am-9am) with plenty of choices. Next door was a "Denny's" and also a "Bar". Hotel is located close to airport (so noise could be a problem for some, however, they do offer earplugs at the main desk). Hotel furnishings are a little outdated, but, bed very comfortable and clean, plenty of room to move around. Microwave, coffeemaker, hairdryer, all available in room. All staff very pleasant and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. On behalf of the staff and management, thank you for the 5 star rating you gave the hotel. Your review conveyed exactly what we strive to offer each of our guests. We provide lodging services for many individuals who arrive a day early for their cruise departure or disembark early in the a.m. at the San Pedro or Long Beach docks and then have to wait for a late departing flight...the hotel offers a day rate for these guests.