Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Modesto, Ca

Older away from shopping and tourist area.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Pool and Breakfast was great and room adjacent to lobby and pool was very quiet.
Cons: Communication skills of the Manager.
Location: Not located near enough to Magic Mountain or shopping. Located near major traffic corridors which helped.
Desk clerk was exceptional- very caring and congenial .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

Posted Jul 19, 2015
The lady at the front desk first told me they didn't have a reservation under my name, but then after inputting my info again was able to find it. Was in town for a softball tournament so didn't do much besides sleep and shower there. So for that, the price was reasonable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

15 minute drive thru town to Magic Mtn

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: The cheap mattress was surprisingly comfortable
Cons: Everything else. It wasn't THAT cheap.
It was a little too far for us and not worth the savings. The rooms are run down (especially bathroom) and we could hear through the walls. No extra pillows available, the carpet had a big sticky spot in it that I didn't successfully avoid each time, pet urine odor in the floor, the A/C was hard to operate from being old (knob didn't work well). Parking lot was HORRENDOUS. If you got into one of the limited spots, you could not open your car door. If you just need a cheaper place to stay and don't care, it's just fine for a roof over your head for the night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from j

Horrible and pest ridden

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Arrived at first thought it looked a little rundown. Staff had reservations mixed up. Room look some what clean at first then noticed roach walking along arm of chair. Next morning went down for my complimentary breakfast all they had wAffles juice coffee and a bowl of bananas and apples. The manager offered a measly $12 discount on a 3 night stay for roach. Highly recommend to stay elsewhere
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lady at front desk was extremely rude.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The staff
The lady at the front desk was having a bad day and took it out on me. It was 4th of July. A day to celebrate America and be happy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude Staff and Manager

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Very rude staff. Would not accomodate us for broken shower room. Instead offered us to leave so we did
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa clarita, ca

Horrible hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2015
The only good part of the hotel was the look of the exterior ut once i got inside it all changed. Horrible service, all vending machines are broke and i guess have been but nothing done about it because like he said there not his. The hot tub was cold amd not running and they only allow u to access from outside and keep the access from inside the hotwl locked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by paul, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to learn about the challenges you faced during your stay with us. please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We will carefully analyze your provided details to evaluate according actions. GM Travelodge, Santa Clarita,ca – SctManagement, General Manager at Travelodge of Santa Clarita
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mock

The hotel staff was horribly rude, ruined our day

Posted Jun 13, 2015
We rented the hotel because it was close to out venue that we had to get ready for. They informed us that we were not allowed visitors and if we did we had to pay 8 dollars a person. So I willingly paid the amount so my girlfriends could come in and have a glass of wine with us. The next morning the bride to be parent surprised us with dropping off breakfast and coffee and to being the wedding dress. They came up to the room to unload it. We got a call from the front desk yelling at us for having visitors. We let them know that they were just helpin us unload the cars and we would be up front in a few moments to straighten it out and pay if we needed to to allow them in the room. They continued to call our room every 2 min, yelling at us and then hang up on us. When we went down stairs to straighten up the situation they contained to scream at us and be very rude and told us they were calling the cops and charging our cards $50 dollars. Horrible customer service. Worse hotel experience of my life and I travel constantly for my job. It put a huge damper on the day. We had to get the wedding party ready in a parking lot because of this hotel. Expedia should know longer work with this hotel. Horrible people and experience. Completely unexceptable !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by paul, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Unfortunately, upon check in the guest was told our policy in regards to NO VISITORS allowed at any time specially 8-10 visitors in 1 room!! From what you told the Gm that you were here for the photo shoot. We didn't see a bride in a wedding dress at 6AM!! Thank you, Owner – SctManagement, Owner at Travelodge of Santa Clarita
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Accessible

Posted Jun 5, 2015
The staff are very accomodating and friendly. By the way you need more parking lot..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Bit far from magic mountain

Posted May 30, 2015
Hotel describe bfast i woke up and no bfast at all no explanation as to why no bfast