Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beauty Boutique

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Lovely Hotel, beautifully decorated, great pools ( hotel is on opposite side of the street from the beach). Food at the hotel is top notch. My steak and eggs for breakfast was better than steaks I have had for dinner. Poolside dining was delicious as well. Coffee and tea are served every morning in the lobby. No coffee makers in the room, so you do have to go down to get yoyr morning fix. One real downer though was that every 2 days our keys deactivated...we had to contact front desk twice when we were locked out of oyr room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bondi, Sydney

Fun hotel, beautifully styled, great pool.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: I loved the styling, pool and proximity to Venice, the complimentary bikes and the staff were lovely. Amazingly comfy bed. Good wifi connections.
Cons: Can get a bit rowdy around the pool - but that depends on the guests staying at the time I suppose.
Location: Ride along the boardwalk towards Venice. Cafe Gratitude is a must. Shop on Abbott Kinney, grab a bite at Gjelina. Shop at 3rd St Promenade.
Had a 4 day stay with my best friend with amazing weather. Started each day with a ride to Venice using the hotels bikes and then had breakfast somewhere amazing. Back to the hotel around lunch time for some pool and sun time and healthy juice and pool snacks. Afternoon of relaxing before heading out for dinner each night. Perfect trip. Will be back with my husband and toddler.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but a bit tired.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I don't find this hotel to be worth it. The rooms are tired and in need of maintenance, and therefore don't warrant the price - ie. chipped wallpaper, closets chipped and scratched, painting missing etc.. On a positive note, I would also say that the location is excellent if you want to be near the beach and the service is good. The food is ok as well. The decor is growing tired even though the kitsch can be fun. The hotel is need of maintenance and does not warrant the price point. I would stay elsewhere next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous Hotel Steps from Santa Monica Pier

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: location cleanliness food
Cons: the shower pressure in the bathroom i wish the tub wasn't so high. I had a real fear of falling as my foot was not high enough a few times
Location: Short 2 blocks from the beach & Santa Monica Pier. A few blocks from the 3rd Street Promenade. Located approximately 1 mile from Venice Beach
The hotel lobby is open, gorgeous, and well lit. The check in area was really inviting, with chairs available for you to use while you conduct business. The pool area was nice, as was the bar. It seems to be a pretty popular hotel, as the bar and lobby area got pretty crowded and loud at night with a DJ providing music. It's a straight shot across the street (you actually cross 2 small blocks) to the beach and the Santa Monica Pier. There's lots of things to take in on this end of the beach. There were lots of people enjoying Muscle Beach and watching the dancers and yogis practice on a patch of grass. The room was very clean and bright. I like that you can open the sliding glass doors to a faux balcony to allow fresh air, as there is always a breeze. The hotel provides Kai bath and body products that can also be purchased. The robes were also very nice. The $20 per night amenity fee includes internet access, yoga on Saturday and Sunday, and free bike rental (first come, first serve). The only negative things I have to say about the hotel is that the hallways were very dimly lit, the tub was a little too high to step into comfortably, and the water pressure of the shower left a LOT to be desired. Overall, it was a great experience in a great location. I would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The comfortable beds, the style of decorations, the friendly staff, great juices, delicious food.
Cons: The number of poolside serving staff on a busy weekend and extending the wifi to cover the entire pool area so that you can work from the back.
Location: Cycling to Venice Beach, shopping on 3rd St, walkable distance to great restaurants, the beautiful beaches.
We were given an 8th floor room so had a great view of the beach. The pool was lovely although we did spend time chasing the sun across the sun beds. The concierge's were so helpful and very efficient. Sherri is absolutely brilliant. The use of the bikes was so helpful and we loved being so close to the beach/3rd Street promenade and all that it offers. The event on our last night at the hotel was the only mar on our stay. It wasn't noisy as such but so many people in the hotel doorway and the lobby meant that we literally had to fight our way into the hotel and to the lift on our way back from supper. Otherwise it was a wonderful hotel and the rooms are beautiful. Probably one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The free yoga classes on the weekend were great too! That was a great added touch. We were sad to leave and will definitely be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: everything
It was great. Very good location, lovely pool area and good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Excellent service -Overall everyone loved it!! Would Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Good location and helpful staff

Posted Jul 3, 2014
This was our first visit to the Viceroy and would happily return. The location is one block away from the beach, about a couple of blocks to Third Street Promenade and similar distance to Main Street. On our first night we were in a double twin room which seemed to be one of the few options when we made the booking (possibly because the hotel was booked out on our first night) though I requested to be moved to a King room and the hotel made this change with no issues and even moved out luggage while we were out during the day which was just perfect. The hotel has good facilities which are in good condition. It is a beautiful place to be. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NIce hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Everything was great
Cons: not really
Location: Great location in Santa Monica
Was great experience. Staff, food, and pool area were all great. Comfortable rooms as well but bathroom were a bit small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by smythe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com