Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Sep 9, 2014
the lighting in the room is terrible, awful not enough lamps, poor lighting in morning
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms and great food and beverage staff. Good location.
Cons: Can be very pretentious.
Location: UCLA right there.
Not a business traveller hotel. Front desk staff pretentious. Great location and very clean. Room comfortable and quiet. Hotel guests are trendy wannabes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Wonderful staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The staff at this property are wonderful. The menu needs a look into it. It's just that the overall feel of a W hotel is not there for some reason but you are in LA
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Cons: The room was dirty. The couch had a huge stain across the back.
Location: Nice location.
Service at the outdoor restaurant was awful. There were only 4 full tables and it took 2 hours to get our dinner. The server kept forgetting to order our drinks, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not as great as I expected

Posted Jun 10, 2014
I had high expectations because I saw the high ratings and it was recommended by a friend. However, they put me in a room across the elevator and I could hear the noise and the conversations of the people waiting to take it all the time. The sheets smelled old and the bathroom was old. There was no free Wi-Fi in the room, which was the worst part. For the money I paid, I am sad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bryan from Atlanta

Great spot for Westwood (UCLA) Visit

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great weekend at the W. It was extremely convenient to our activities visiting our son at UCLA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not Bad

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Staff were great
Cons: Refurbishment of rooms and some public areas - looking a bit tired
Location: Pretty good - some good resaurants/bars nearby.
Overall a pleasant stay - We received an SPG upgrade which was very nice, however areas of the hotel & the rooms are in need of upgrading - looking very tired. Staff were excellent - attentive, friendly and helpful - particularly at check-in and concierge. Backyard staff were OK - looked a bit scruffy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Poor service. Management unaware.

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Coffee
Cons: Atleast be at par with other SPG properties.
Location: Good location for UCLA. Near 405.
Nobody answers the phones - any phone, Toilet leaked, sink leaked, room service forgets food items, no coffee maker in the room, elevators are slow, basic necessities one takes for granted are below par. Good location if visiting UCLA. Save your money, paid $400/night for a mediocre experience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Marie from Miami, Fl

There are much better hotels out there for the $

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
When we first arrived we were asked if we wanted to take part in there "green" program. For 1000 Starwood points we would forgo maid service for 2 days. As it turned out we never received maid service the entire 5 days we were there. No clean towels, no toiletries, no trash pick up. zilch. When I went down to the front desk to complain they said I was mistaken that it was actually 3 days. And yet no one bothered to send up clean towels or toiletries. What ever happened to "the paying customer is always right"? The service at the front desk was cold, unhelpful and apathetic. The breakfast was atrocious - cold and toast was cold as well and only toasted on one side. Our order was also wrong. These 2 simple, tasteless breakfasts were so screwed up and cost us 60.00. Nothing is complimentary at the W from the Wifi to late checkout. You are nickeled and dimed all the way. The valet parking is $38.00 and although the rooms are a good size we were right across from the elevator and next to the floor phone so the room was far from peaceful. The hotel was also pretty dirty as they always seemed to be picking up trash from partiers the night before. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. There are plenty of great hotels out there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

surprised service was poor

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was surprised that there was only one person working the front desk so I had to wait for checkin. Then, out by the pool, there were a lot of people and not enough pool service so everyone was busy trying to grab the attention of the server to place orders. It seemed to be poor planning for a sunny Saturday after noon in LA.