Ratings based on 959 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, D.C.

Great hotel, ehhhh on the staff

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Location, clean, classy
Cons: less expensive forced valet, more mature staff
Location: location, location, location - the best of all hotels I looked minus the aggressive homeless surrounding the hotel on most streets, walking to pier
I was only staying at the hotel for 2 nights and it came highly recommended by a close friend living in Culver City. The location is incredible, literally a 4 minute walk from the Santa Monica pier and from some rooms you have an ocean/pier view. I would say there were tons of very dirty homeless people asking for money surrounding most streets of the hotel so that was a bit discouraging. The forced valet was fine since my company was paying for it but it was almost $40 a day, that is ridiculous as I pay less in New York City. I think $25 per night is fair, almost $40 is over the top. I upgraded my room to include a morning breakfast but instead of having a convenient breakfast buffet, it's made to order which takes much longer than if you could grab your food, eat and get off to your event/meeting. I strongly suggest changing that providing more flexibility to guests. Luckily my server was very nice and got my food out quickly and gave me my check and a to go box right away. I did have an incident with a way to young staff member at the front desk. After asking her for some toothpaste, it took her and the maid staff more than an hour to get it to me so I ended up having to brush my teeth in the lobby. When I came down a bit frustrated she didn't even apologize and acted like it was no big deal. I suggest hiring more polished and mature staff to deal with guests paying $350+ per night at your hotel. Luckily the manager I spoke with after apologized for the incident.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San José, Costa Rica

Great location!!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Located just in front of the Santa Monica Pier. It is very convenient!! I like it so much!!! The staff is very friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by RK, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Close to everything, but,...

Posted Apr 20, 2015
For the price I paid for one night, it was not worth it. First, it should be clearly stated on their website that if you want to use the pool you must walk through the parking garage. The bathroom was small and cramped, no tub. The air conditioner was old and extremely noisy. Refridgerator was not clean. Would not stay there again. Many homeless around this hotel also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by RK, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We value your opinion and will share your comments with our staff to allow us to improve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Hotel was perfect we had a partial ocean view and did not even request an ocean view. Also our room was right above freeway and yes you could here the traffic lightly. Keep in mind we were only on the 2nd floor. But at night We slept like babies. But all in all love hotel, staff, and location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by RK, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five-star rating. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and are grateful for your kind words about our helpful staff. We hope to welcome you back soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 2, 2015
However they charge for valet parking which is more for guests than the valet daily rate for valet for the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by RK, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments. We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Los Angeles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected

Posted Apr 1, 2015
I booked this room because the review said there was supposed to be a beach view. However, the beach view was only a partial view that you had to look at an angle at. Since the view was mostly the pedestrian walkway and construction workers around the hotel, it was not convienent. So the description should not say an ocean view. That was a big downer on our trip since the ocean view was why we booked the room. Also there was no fridge which was bad since our family wanted cold water in the hot Californian weather. The parking situation was not good. I wished they told us the parking options beforehand since my family had to do vallet parking, since we didnt know any other options. Which was $39. Another problem was, my family did not feel welcomed. The hotel check-in man/woman was not very kind. He/ she had a very serious face and lacked social skills. Overall, I highly do not reconmend this hotel! My $400 was not well spent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by RK, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your comments are highly detailed and will be thoroughly reviewed with our team. We appreciate that you shared your experience to allow us to improve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel across from the pier entrance.

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Good place to stay, everything is within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient location

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Lovely helpful staff, furnishings a bit tired. Fan noisy in bathroom but they did move us without a hitch. No fridge in the room but apparently we could have asked for one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, terrible experience

Posted Mar 22, 2015
$36 parking. Didn't have our room ready and told us we have to wait until one opens up. Tired of waiting we settled for a room with less than ideal view. One elevator that comfortably fits 5 people was only way to get to room. The service at the counter was frustrating. After telling us our room wasn't ready we were ignored. She went on typing away while we stood there.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Canada

Great location but needs help!

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Location: fantastic! Walking distance to the best shopping, 3rd st promenade,restaurants, beach, pier, etc. We walked all around and this location and the shore were the best by far. Staff: valets and housekeepers were nice and efficient. Most of the front desk staff was great except for one who couldn't answer a single question I had from day to day regarding everything from directions in the area to locating a bottle opener to renting a bicycle. She was the only inept staff member we encountered. Examples-Took us 52 mins to rent 2of the free bikes provided to hotel guests. It took over 30 mins to locate a bottle opener. The restaurant, gym and lobby were undergoing the final days of renos so we were not able to use. This was inconvenient and was a complete surprise. It was not mentioned at time of booking at all! There was not food whatsoever at the hotel and no convinience stores nearby. Valet is $36 per day with in and out privileges which is standard for the area. You can self park in the lot for the mall but there are a lot of homeless in the area so I would advise against overnight. They advertise "car service" but when I booked it for a flat rate to the airport through the front desk, an old TAXI showed up. I could've easily called a cab myself and saved about $10. This was ridiculous but we were headed to the airport and needed to leave. Not impressed.