Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton & Hove. UK

NOT a hotel, certainly NOT 5* & also NOT a resort

Posted Jun 20, 2015
The use of the word ‘Hotel’ is a complete misnomer as is any reference to ‘5-star equivalent’; equally, ‘resort’ is not applicable. Simply, Alegranza is a series of 6 residential complexes, many fully occupied by local residents who work from the location, giving an overall number of around 100 units. Set on a hill, the expected ocean view was about a mile away and hidden for the most (from our balcony on the 2nd floor) behind the beachfront resorts. Each apartment is furnished and equipped by its owner and therefore of variable standard and whilst complimentary cleaning (only provided on 5 of the 7 days we stayed as the maid is not issued with a key and we were not in to give access – key issued by the management for our final 4 days) is available for those registering as ‘hotel’ style guests; if you need clean towels, you have to wash them yourself. Our apartment was well equipped and spacious, the loungers on our balcony were the most comfortable I have ever enjoyed, but even 1* hotels generally provide more than a bar of soap in the en-suites. There was no get-you-in pack and the only complimentary groceries to greet you after a long journey were 4 very small bottles of water; with the supermarket a car journey of 1 ½ miles away. After I de-scaled the shower head, there was a standard spread of water and generally, it took 5-minutes for the hot water to come up to temperature each morning. I presume the addition of the term ‘resort’ refers to the 3 pools which link
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Pleasantly surprised by resort

Posted May 29, 2015
We arrived late Sunday afternoon to find only the security personnel on site for us.his English was poor my Spanish non existent but we were able to get checked in.upon arriving in our condo realized that this condo had two single beds in the second bedroom instead of the king bed we had reserved.with limited communication available I explained that this condo was not what we had reserved and was not going to do for the week.he nodded and left and I had a sinking feeling about our vacation and the start we were off to.15 minutes later a knock at the door and the security person motioned for us to follow him he showed us a 3 bedroom condo said the price would be the same and asked if we were happy with this condo.The condo was clean ,spacious ,and very well appointed.why do I mention all of this?if the security guard could take care of this for us what problems could we possibly have when the full staff was onsite?The answer to this was none (Lucia)was fabulous took care of our excursions answered all of our questions(patiently)and was extremely polite.The resort is clean well maintained and conveniently located to the main highway.Strongly suggest a rental car as most things (golf,shopping,Cabo San Lucas)are not within walking distance.The wife and I and the other couple marveled at the view from our balcony the quietness of the resort and the relaxed atmosphere of Cabo del sol in general.would rate this an a plus in all aspects.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Condominio agradable, sin playa

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: El servicio de conserge es muy bueno.
Cons: El servicio del restaurante para desayuno es común, lento y caro.
Location: Muy cerca del centro de San José del Cabo.
El condominio es bonito, pero me di cuenta de que prefiero hoteles tipo resort con servicios de hotel, yo sabía que no tiene playa, pero de acuerdo a las fotos que vi, esperaba que tuviera una linda vista al mar, el problema es que me tocó un departamento en planta baja y no se aprecia la vista por las construcciones de enfrente, las albercas son pequeñas y la decoración de cada departamento es al gusto de cada dueño.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far from everything . Cigarette smoke drifting

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Nice location to view ocean off in the distance
Cigarette smoke drifting through air conditioning vents, ridiculously priced on site restaurant which was mediocre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

good stay

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: great staff
Cons: better breakfast plan, tennis court needs updating, and the fitness center needs improving
Location: los cabos was great atv, zip lining, whale watching. great restaurants
be very clear this is not a resort, which is not a bad thing,but if you have children and you want something where they can roam freely this is not it. the property is nice, but each unit is designed by the owner, so that will determine what perks you get.our three bedroom place was nice but nothing special.the owner chose not to put TV's in the bedrooms?fitness room was not up to par and the pool was ok.in a strange way I did like it?by the second day I liked being away from the major tourist towns and we were able to get the feel for the town. great staff norma and the other ladies do a great job!! great value for what we got. we did enjoy los cabos. ps the spa at the marquis is outstanding!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by javier, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have 3 furniture packages available throughout the units except for a few, and yours was a different one. As far as the amenities, the resort has 3 pools, jacuzzis, 2 restaurants, tennis court, gym, sauna, steamroom, concierge, beach club access and discoounts on activities such as fishing, golf, snorkeling and much more. We look forward to see you back soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma Wa

much more than expected

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: spacious rooms...privacy...great views
Location: sits on a hill offering u obstructed views of Sea of Cortes to the east and the mountains to the west...town is a short walk away....and is colorful
spent five days in total bliss....enjoyed the sun...enjoyed each other..explored the town and various restaurants...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la

great views

Posted Jan 11, 2015
the room is great the staff is fantastic my only complaint would be if you're looking for a resort this is not it.everything you need is a close drive away you must get a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Alegranza is a winner!

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: The condo was very spacious and it had a million dollar view. The staff at the main office, as well as the general staff was first class.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Cabo San Lucas is about a 20-25 minute drive for those who wish to see more social activities and shopping. Playa Palmilla is a must see!
We stayed for 4 days during Thanksgiving weekend. The condo complex is beautiful, comfortable, and near the town of San Jose del Cabo. The restaurant is of the highest quality in every aspect; the pools are spacious and well designed. We were within a 15 minute drive from one of the nicest beaches in the area, Playa Palmilla, and Playa Chileno. This condo gets a top rating from my family and we wouldn't hesitate to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jason Weschke from NJ

Great place

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels
We have stayed there twice now and the rooms are clean and well furnished with great views over the sea of cortez. The restaurant food and service was very very good as usual. We were unlucky to get a room where the ac failed, but were promptly switched to an upgraded room. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We will stay again. Thanks Alagranza!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Alabama

Beautiful hilltop view overlooking surf & San Jose

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Very quiet development with a fabulous staff. Can walk to San Jose or the beach.
Cons: Not much. Staff was always ready to assist with any requests or concerns. Will definitely return on our next vist to San Jose.
Location: Habineros Restaurant - Amazing food, entertaing staff (Ask for Victor) and 5 minutes from Alegranza Tropicana Inn and El Matador (San Jose)
Alegranza is a fabulous facility with well appointed rooms and kitchen. Several great restaurants within walking distance. Mega grocery store about a mile and a half away. Taxis are available for about $5 US. Walk to Central San Jose is about 10 minutes with beach 5 minutes in the other direction. Numerous restaurants nearby along with a variety of local shops for tourists to sharpen their negotiating skills. Great people to be with on your vacation.