Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and switch.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Lovely views, nice pool. Quiet.
We requested 2 double beds and a pull-out sofa bed, since our grown son was with us. When we got there, we had one double bed. They said that requests are not always honored. Then they tried to charge us $30 extra for the grown child (3rd. person) whom I had already added when I made the reservation. After much aggravation (and asking to speak to supervisor) they said they would give us a room with 2 beds and pull-out sofa bed (such as what we thought we were getting in the first place). WE got the 2 beds, but no sofa bed. We had to call and work that out (finally getting a horribly uncomfortable cot). It took us about 1 1/2 hours before we were finished. Then we requested a fan, which they said they would bring and never did. Also the elevators did not work (so we lugged suitcases up 3 floors). The doormen would have been glad to help us, but we didn't want to pay for their service). The facility is lovely-- great views and a nice pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom south dakota

What you get isn't what you reserve.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
when we arrived we were told the room we booked and paid for wasn't available. Have us a junior room with no view. Everyone we talked to had the same experience. In addition, new construction on both sides of the resort. We will not go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Great staff, pool and beach

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Pool, beach, staff
Cons: Make sure all facilities are working, including wi-fi, hot tub jets, elevators etc.
Location: Walking distance to supermarket and some restaurants; bus/taxi ride to town.
Our trip started on a bad note with the front desk claiming they did not have our Expedia reservation, then grudgingly "offering" us an inferior room with terrible road noise, inadequate sleeping arrangements (one bed for three people?) and no curtains. The man basically said we were lucky to have it, because he didn't have our booking, even though I showed him the Expedia confirmation. However, aside from that one staff member, the rest of the staff were fantastic and genuinely helpful. Two of the three restaurants had pretty strange fusion food that didn't appeal; the third was pretty good and the servers were very friendly. The pool (by the beach) and the beach area were really nice, not too big, not too loud. The construction at the hotel and the many things that are not working (NO in-room wi-fi, though they claim there is; lifts in our building apparently out of service since before the hurricane) are putting people off; the staff (apart from our first front desk man) are probably what keep people coming back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DONT GET THE ROOM YOU PAYED FOR

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Cons: DONT OVER BOOK AND SELL PEOPLE ROOMS THAT YOU DON'T INTEND OF GIVING THEM.
FOR OUR ENTIRE STAY WE WERE IN A STUDIO WITHOUT THE KITCHEN. DELUX SUITE WITH FULL KITCHEN IS WHAT I PAYED FOR. AFTER TALKING WITH OTHER GUESTS THEY ALL PAYED FOR THE SAME AND WERE NOT GIVEN THE ROOMS THEY PAYED FOR EITHER. THE DAY I LEFT 12 RESERVATIONS WERE SHOWING UP THAT THEY DID NOT HAVE ANY ROOMS FOR. HALF THE GUESTS DID NOT HAVE HOT WATER. ONE DAY FAMILY OF 12 FROM IDAHO SHOWED UP "MOSTLY KIDS" AND WERE TOLD SORRY DON'T HAVE YOUR ROOMS FOR YOU.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Clean resort, close to restaurants

Posted Feb 15, 2015
We had a great stay at Bel Air. Excellent staff, food and facility. 30 minute bus ride to Los Cabos and 10 min drive to the shopping area of San Jose. Can't swim in the ocean in front of the hotel but offers a beautiful view. Great holiday!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Appleton, WI.

A super beach location. Lots of nearby activity.

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness, location & comfort.
Location: On a great beach with much nearby activity.
The Bel Air is very reasonably priced and on a beautiful stretch of beach. The staff is friendly & has done a remarkable job of recovering from the recent devastating hurricane. The Sushi was tasty and reason priced while breakfast was generic and bland. Located a short bus ride or long walk from downtown San Jose Del Cabo there are many interesting diversions within a relatively close area. Many good restaraunts, swimming with dolphins, decent shopping & beach activity are easily accessible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for the price

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Location: Location is on a beautiful part of the beach, great for relaxing, Big Mega store a mile away, several eateries within 2 miles.
Great views, loved the lay out, 2 pools well maintained, room was clean, staff very friendly, $15 Super bowl party was great. Highly recommended for the price. New building going up as part of the resort may get annoying for some but didn't bother us. Blue bus out front came every 20 minitues for $3 would take you to downtown Cabo San Lucas by the marina. White bus comes but very old.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

Not ready to be open!

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: The housekeeping staff. The beach was pretty.
Cons: Pretty much everything - landscaping isn't complete, elevators need to work, and the push to attend time share meetings needs to be less obtrusive.
Location: We went snorkeling at a different beach and whale watching was fun.
The hotel is completely under construction. Elevators don't work and we were booked into a room on 5th floor...they switched us to a smaller room in a different area that had an elevator...but they were not happy about making the change and we got no break on the rate. Our view was of a construction site that was adding on new rooms. Our atmosphere was hammering and sawing from 9 to 6 and nothing else...no music and only one waiter serving the beach and patios. This was very disappointing as it was never disclosed prior to our stay that the hotel was still under construction and damage repair from the hurricane. Only 3 of the 5 restaurants were open and the food and service were very mediocre. Housekeeping was good and professional. The front desk was overwhelmed with complaints and dissatisfaction from so many people staying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland OR

It was a good place to get near the water.

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: LOCATION
Location: you can take a bus to nearby San José for about 10 pesos. I hiked with a guide and a group in Fox Canyon. You can snorkel- whale watch, but I didn't
this is closer to San José del Cabo so is on the Sea of Cortez. A safer place to get in the salt water. I could get to either town easily. my only complaint is that all the most comfortable lounge chairs were "saved" by a towel early in the day and the person saving might not show up for 2 or 3 hours...while I was there on a hard beach lounge. Pretty selfish, but guests, not staff. The restaurants were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom laredo, texas

Great location. Close to golf, shopping, town, etc

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The view, location, service and accommodations.
Cons: Need optional transportation.
Location: Shops, golf courses, beach activities available.howard
Maybe if you schedule a shuttle or bus to take you all over it would be better. Taxis are very expensive, but not unreasonable.