Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DALLAS

Great place enjoyed every minute.

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Nice people. Staff and visitors. Hot Springs. Nice fishing set up.
Cons: T.V. and refrigurator in rooms.
Location: Did not have time to explore
We came mostly to fish. It was slow but the crew did their best. We all did manage to catch something includuing 1 marlin which was very excitng. I will be back . I wish the rooms had telivision and better access to Ice and maybe an in room refridgerator.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

decent low key place....

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: staff we're very friendly and nice
Cons: they have 2 kayaks. old and broken. one has half a paddle. they float. and no life jackets
Location: pretty remote. cab cost 20 dollars return to nearest town.
we did quite a lot of beach fishing here in front of the resort, but didn't catch much to write home about. the boats that work out of the resort here were catching a few fish during the 8 days we stayed but I don't think the cortez is what it used to be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Billfrom Tulsa, Ok

Great time!

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We felt this was a great value for the money. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is fairly isolated which is what we were looking for anyway. Don't care for the "spring break" atmosphere of Cabo San Lucas. The fishing was very good while we were there. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location for my Trip

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Updates and level of cleanliness
Location: The location is great if you want to fish.
I stayed at this hotel due to it's location, was visiting friends with a house there. I checked in and was told my room number, given a pool towel card and a remote for the air. I had not stayed here before so I asked where the room was, the response was left of the pool, period. So I tug my suitcase all around until I find my own room on the right side of the pool area! The description of the hotel said bottled water would be provided, this was not the case. When I booked the airport shuttle the website said one price per person, they left out minimum of 2 persons, so was charged doubled for the shuttle, which was full both coming and going!! The friendliest staff member there was the poolside bar tender that worked the busy days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Janefrom Oregon

Great Getaway

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Buena Vista is lovely for a beach getaway. The staff was hospitable, the food was delicious. There is nothing in walking distance except the beautiful, Sea of Cortez, which I swam in everyday. You are definitely on a peaceful getaway. To go to town you have to drive. My main complaint would be the beds were very uncomfortable, but I would still stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleenfrom Monterey, California

Home away from home!

Posted Jan 17, 2014
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and then traveled on to LA Paz where we stayed at another hotel. The one night in La Paz was a very negative experience. We came back to Buena Vista Beach Hotel where we will be spending 2 more nights before returning back to California.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool

Posted Jan 12, 2014
They charge $12.00 per person per day for friends of guests. The happy hour is a good deal 2x1. If you are on the American plan read the fine print for breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool

Posted Jan 12, 2014
They charge $12.00 per person per day for friends of guests. The happy hour is a good deal 2x1. If you are on the American plan read the fine print for breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated, run down, great pool and beach location.

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Pool and spa, oceanfront location, sandy beach, cleanliness, friendly staff.
Cons: Provide a shuttle to town, more variety in the menu, new mattresses, update the rooms.
Location: Fishing, fishing and fishing.
We visited during the off-season for Christmas week. The resort arranged transportation for us round trip from the airport, which was nice. I requested (and received confirmation for) a room with a King bed, but were given a room with 2 double beds. The room was a nice size and very clean, but old and run down. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. We had to change rooms after 3 days because we awoke to a sewage odor coming up from the shower drain. We tried to air out the room and block the drain, but it was overpowering. The staff does not speak very good English, and had a hard time understanding why we needed to change rooms. We had no problems with our new room, again with 2 double beds instead of a King. Three meals a day are included in the price, which were well prepared and filling. Unfortunately, the menu doesn't change at all. We had the same meals everyday for a week. The exception was Christmas Day, when they prepared a traditional American buffet. The resort is several miles away from the downtown of Los Barriles so it isn't practical to walk into town for variety. We walked into town along the beach (90 minutes each way) and ate, and another day we rented an ATV and drove into town, but you really need to have a car or taxi to see any of the surrounding area. The pool and spa area are beautiful and the staff at the bar were helpful and attentive, but again, speak little English. We spent a quiet and relaxing week here, but don't know if I'd return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dr. Scott Landreyfrom Florence , Oregon

Old Mexico...Style and Graciousness

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
We will do it again! Thanks to the great staff. Phillip thanks for an outstanding fishing trip and your wifes help too!