Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England, UK

The best

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Only a few months after hurricane and this hotel has been brought right back up to the very highest standards. Sat right on the beach. Top spec.
Cons: Unbelievably nothing, it's perfect.
Location: Lots more than you think, we didn't bother with hire car (wife's idea) but we didn't regret it, taxi is reasonable price & bus is really easy no troub
The best boutique hotel we've ever stayed in, also I travel a lot, and have never experienced a more friendly, genuine and complete hotel set up. We wanted a laid back family holiday, but still found loads to do, away from the slightly over commercialised Cabo San Lucas, which was great for a day visit or two, but get back to the friendly environment of this hotel and area, a refreshing change to the usual hum drum. Very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Amazing peaceful beach experience and great food

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: There are only 15 rooms so it will never be a crowded place. Pay a little more for the end room with balcony and listen to the surf all night long.
Cons: The wife would have liked a garden tub but all the rooms are showers only.
Location: The food was so good here that we did not leave much but it is only 2 minutes from the Mega and everything else you might need in San Jose del Cabo.
I would compare Casa Costa Azul more to a B&B experience than a hotel. They are thrid generation family owned and you feel that level of caring in everything they do. This is not a place to bring your rowdy friends. It is perfectly suited for a romantic weekend or to getaway on your own to catch up on some reading. The peace and tranquility here is unmatched and among the best I have ever experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So perfect

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Knowledgable, kind staff that take pride in what they do. BEAUTIFUL grounds. We were there just 2 months after hurricaine and you could tell the owner had put his heart and soul into rebuilding this magical place. Delicious, hearty breakfast. We were made to feel like family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Fall asleep to the sound of the ocean!

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Within walking distance to two surf breaks. On the ocean. Small & private. Lush, well-kept grounds.
Location: The "Zipper" surf break is a short walk south, and the "Old Man" break is a little further down, still walkable. El Centro is a short taxi ride away.
Casa Costa Azul is a gorgeous, custom-built hotel right on the ocean. We had an oceanfront king deluxe room with fantastic panoramic views from the outdoor balcony. We watched the sunrise from bed, and could hear the ocean and surf 24x7, even with the AC on and the windows closed! The hotel is beautifully decorated and the facility is top quality. Very classy, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The small restaurant on site is wonderful and Guillermo is a fantastic chef whose food is all the more delicious because you can tell it is prepared with love. He prepared a gourmet feast, served right on the beach for our first night there. The staff was very helpful; calling taxis for us when we wanted to head into town, or calling in a reservation at a nearby restaurant. Our friends were also able to book a massage and yoga classes are sometimes offered. Looking forward to another visit next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on beach

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Quiet, non crowded, clean. Need to serve piña coladas, Mai tai, margarita at pool Only beverage on site are beer/wine/pop in mini bar in room
Cons: Coffee in room vs lobby. Serve Bar and snacks at pool. (Nachos, etc) some type of food in pool area. There are no cocktails or servers 4 pool :(
Location: There is 1 bar and restaurant on beach near hotel. You have to cab into town for meals or eat at hotel-no menu and high prices at hotel.
Peaceful and relaxing -hotel well maintained. A lot of dogs and horse riding on beach-no one is picking up poop-watch your step. Not convenient to walk to other places to eat-need car or cab. Cabs are pricey.
4 out of 5
by billfrom toronto ca

nice location, but over priced

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Restaurant is amazing. Such a friendly environment and chef is incredible.
there is no price list for the room fridge so beware, very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristinefrom Spokane, WA

Dream vacation!

Posted Apr 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We just returned from a fantastic 6-night stay at this gorgeous small hotel. Jorgi and Christina are charming hosts and they have one of the most beautiful places to stay in San Jose del Cabo. The beach was empty and the sunrise and scenery were gorgeous day and night. The sound of the surf was wonderful, too! The hotel was extremely clean both inside and out. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts prepared by Guillermo. We also hired him to fix us a memorable dinner one evening and lunch on the day we left. This was our first trip to Baja and we plan to return to this same spot again! We also had some lovely dinners in downtown San Jose. We rented a car and we did some touring, but we enjoyed being at the hotel relaxing, reading and looking at the scenery so much, we had a hard time wanting to go anywhere else! We are telling all of our friends about Casa Costa Azul Hotel Boutique!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing, family owned hotel.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about my week at the Casa Costa Azul.
Quiet beachfront hotel. This family owned and run hotel was exactly as described in online reviews. Clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Great made to order breakfast is included. The small restaurant serves lunch and will bring out drinks the the pool if you ask. Dinners on the beach by request. Very conveniently located on the bus line or the owner can arrange a cab. We took the bus most places for a dollar a ride. Only 1/2 mile to a grocery store. Within walking distance of a surf shop for lessons and or board rental. A week in paradise after months of midwest winter. Thank you to all at the Casa Costa Azul!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pierrefrom Querétaro

Would have lived to give it a straight 5 but...

Posted Mar 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great boutique hotel right of the beach, so much nicer than the mega all-inclusive resorts that define the area. Perfect location and friendly service - Jorge Sandoval and his crew were all knowledgeable and most helpful. Excellent views from the balcony, especially in the large king size rooms directly facing the beach. Try dining on the beach in front of the hotel, it is a memorable experience. You may want to think twice about booking though if traffic noise troubles you: the hotel sits in between the beach and a busy four lane highway. The noise can be troublesome at times, when the wind blows from the wrong direction. Lower floors and ocean front rooms are noticeably quieter (Jorge immediately and kindly moved us down two floors when we brought up the issue). Note that the traffic issue should improve significantly when the new inland highway from San Jose to Cabo San Luca opens up next year: most of the traffic should be diverted away from the coastal road and there is talk of building a promenade for walking and biking.