Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Howard from South Florida

Great location in the Old Town Art District

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Cons: Nothing except dusty car parking
Location: Great Location next to everything
Excellent service within a few yards of great breakfast Resturants.Would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Encanto Inn

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: I liked its character (not a huge all inclusive type hotel) and the beauty of the garden.
This is a beautiful little older inn right in the heart of San Jose del Cabo. Miguel at the front desk was so helpful and friendly. Beautiful garden space right outside the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small hotel, good in-town location, but very noisy

Posted Mar 23, 2014
The room and grounds were as expected. Comfortable, but a little worn. The interior garden is lovely and the pool, although small is also situated nicely. The hotel is convenient walking distance to beach, main plaza and many great restaurants. Beware March 13-26 as the soccer stadium a few blocks away hosts loud music until 4am. We did not sleep at all the first night and ended up moving to a hotel on the beach. The hotel staff was honest that these loud nights would continue throughout our stay and very decent about refunding the balance of our payment. It appeared the spa was not in service and there is no breakfast in the restaurant; they give you a coupon to eat at a restaurant a block away which was fine,but would have gotten old quickly. Recommend this hotel for a Thursday Arts night excursion, but not for a long stay in Los Cabos.
3 out of 5
by Angie from Chelan, WA

Great location, decent room but service needs work

Posted Mar 19, 2014
The location of this hotel is great. The room we had (least expensive) was decent. Service was an issue though - we tried to check in early which was not possible - ok that is fine. The curly haired gentleman at the front desk told us to come back at 3pm, which we did. Then he told us it would be 20 more minutes... well ok. But then it was 35 minutes later and it appeared there was a shift change and he neglected to tell the woman taking over the front desk that we were waiting in the entrance for our room. He also failed to either mention nor just give us the parking pass for their lot. Lucky we did not get towed. My husband went to inquire about getting ice and was told to bring our room's ice bucket back to the front desk. Our room did not actually contain an ice bucket. I went back to tell her that it was missing and her reply was "oh, standard rooms do not have ice buckets". What? We have a pet and did not know there was an additional $20 a day due until check-in as well. It is good our air conditioner was so loud because our visit happened to coincide with the 11 day San Jose festival next door, which went to about 3am each night of our visit. This hotel was a splurge for us but was not a good value for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from North Carolina

An Excellent Hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: We took one of the pool suites and liked it very much. There's lots of hot water with good water pressure. WiFi is very good.
Cons: We saw nor experienced anything that we would change.
Location: El Encanto is perfectly situated to peruse San José. There are many art galleries and very good restaurants within walking distance.
Our stay at El Encanto was a wonderful experience. The desk staff are efficient, professional, friendly and very knowledgeable of San José del Cabo and of Los Cabos. The grounds and pool are beautifully maintained. The breakfast (included) at Bar Jazmín is quite good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Helpful staff, wonderful location

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: localtion, helpful staff
Cons: no fresh air at night
Location: in the middle of everything, outstanding location
Staff very helpful in providing a box with ice to pack vegetables we bought at Saturday organic farmers market, just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. \hotel located in the heart of the arts district, close to everything. Had a hard time finding it. Maps we had before arriving were not too good. Driving directions would help. Only one small complaint not possible to open a window to get fresh air.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ken from Grand Junction, Colorado

Nice hotel in the mission/art district.

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable and quiet. Beautiful pool and garden area.
Only stayed one night on our way home from Cabo. Luckily it was a Thursday as that is the art walk night in San Jose. It was a lot of fun to visit the gallaries - some offered wine and treats as you viewed the art. Breakfast was great at an area restaurant and part of the price.
1 out of 5
by James from New York, NY

Unsafe - left after two hours

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Nice exterior and gardens, but beauty's only skin deep
Cons: How in the world can you just leave the hotel and guests without any gate, security, or anything in 2014 Mexico?
Location: Good location, very close to the center of town - still all of SJD is as much as a tourist trap as the rest of Los Cabos but some quaint options near.
I chose to leave the hotel two hours after arriving because of surprisingly inadequate security. I have stayed at many hotels, hostels, posadas, what have you throughout Mexico, and lived for more than a year in Mexico City and have never come across a hotel that is three stars (or others much less elegant for that matter) that have no form of common security for guests. I have stayed at $10/night hostels in Mérida that lock their doors after a certain time, three-star posadas in Oaxaca that give guests a code to enter when the hotel is unattended, and basic forest inns in Chiapas that have an entry guard (or at least a camera) 24 hours. It is completely unacceptable in 2014 Mexico to have an unattended block of rooms with no external access barrier, even if it's just a locked gate that guests can use their key to access after hours or a passcode. When walking around San José one notices many iron grills on locals' first floor properties, don't guests deserve the same? I know SJ is sleepier than most towns, but I found this to be really unacceptable. I left and ended up staying at another nearby property offering an adequate level of overnight coverage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pinky from Los Angeles

Best kept secret in San Jose

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Very charming hotel. Our suite was just a few steps from the pool. Standard rooms are down the street with no pool view.
Cons: We would have loved a small kitchen. Our room could have used a new bedspread.
Location: This hotel is right in the heart of the art district filled with art galleries, restaurants and shopping. Really, no need for a car.
This place is a well kept secret. We arrived on a Monday and it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The first evening, we laid out under the stars (and under an umbrella) poolside as it rained for about 20 minutes. We loved the grounds--nice landscaping and pool lighting. There was expansion work going on as they are finishing up their work for an outdoor restaurant and chapel that I assume will be used as a destination wedding venue. Overall, quite a lovely boutique hotel and a good value for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda & Bob from Kingston, ON Canada

Enchanting Encanto Inn Hotel, Spa & Suites

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: It had a quiet, private and quaint charm. Lots of trees, flowering bushes and plants gave the feeling of an oasis in town. Our large room had a sofa.
Cons: Large, comfy pillows would be nice for reading in bed. At times we had noise from workmen building the new restaurant on adjoinng property.
Location: Being centrally located allowed us to walk to small shops, galleries, restaurants and pubs. Baja Brewery was nearby and ocean 10 minutes drive away.
This quaint Spanish style Inn is centrally located in the historic part of San Jose del Cabo. It has an enclosed inner courtyard with lovely gardens and pool. A small intimate chapel is part of the grounds and a small restaurant is being built on the adjoining property. The two storey Inn makes use of wood, ceramics, wrought iron railings and large glass doors that give an appreciation of local materials and natural surroundings. Hotel staff were exceptional in their welcoming, helpful outlook. They suggested restaurants, favourite sights to see and things to do. We would certainly come here again.