Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Quaint hotel. Great price. Great downtown location

Posted Feb 15, 2015
We were very impressed. Safe clean friendly. All we needed. In the art district. Car or transport to beach needed. Everything within walking distance. I would stay again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Great play to Stay

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff and very clean. Within safe walking distance to a lot of things
Cons: Having a safe in the hotel room and a bar by the pool.
Location: Lots of places to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lots of shops!! Thursday night is a big "art gallery" night for the area.
This was a very nice boutique hotel in San Jose. It is within safe walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc. The hotel staff were always very friendly and helpful. The rooms were exceptionally spotless. The only downside in my opinion is there is no safe in the hotel rooms. We had to carry our passports around everywhere which I am not too keen on. And 2nd, there isn't a bar at the hotel. So laying by the pool reading you were not able to get any drinks, not even water. We had to stock up no some beverages at the local drugstore. They are in the process of building a bar but due to the hurricane last Fall it had been delayed. So that situation will at least be rectified sooner than later. Other than that we had the perfect stay in our pool view room. Thank you El Encanto Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SMALL room. No bathroom fan. No perks.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Comfortable. Beautiful. Pool. Garden. Tastefully decorated.
Cons: Larger bed.
Location: Fabulous
We rented a standard room which was 2 DOUBLE beds and not in the main hotel. Very crowded for 2 people with luggage. No bathroom fan which can be very unpleasant when sharing a room. No perks. Pool area is lovely. That said, these people have done a FANTASTIC job at getting back on their feet after Odile. Amazing actually.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Barriles, B.C.S.

Great experience

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: When we checked in one of our rooms was waiting for an air conditioning repair. The hotel upgraded both of our rooms for the night free of charge!
Cons: Beds a little too soft, lots of mattress toppers. Unusual for Mexico as most are very hard.
Location: Great location, quiet part of town right outside art district.
Very quaint and clean , less than 5 minutes walking to center of town. Beautiful landscaping , pleasant and secluded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary Canada

Nice Mexican ambiance hotel perfectly located

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The Mexican ambiance, the efficient and friendly staff, the perfect location.
Location: One of the art dealers shared/recommended a restaurant frequented primarily by the locals which is close to the hotel (Toro Guero?)-- great seafood, $
We stayed here Jan. 1 and 2 for two nights. We arrived on a Thursday in time to catch the lovely Thursday night weekly art night and fortunately, El Encanto was just a block away from where the very nice art galleries are located. El Encanto has struck the right Mexican ambiance. The hotel is small (not sure how many rooms) but we were in the main building overlooking the lovely pool and garden while our son and daughter in law were in the annex building across the street overlooking a lovely small garden. It's about a 10-minute slow walk to the central square where all the souvenir shops are located -- enough of a distance so that the hotel is pretty quiet at night. Our room was roomy, had a king-size bed, a setee and small cabinet which held the TV), had two fans (we only occasionally used one as it was pretty cool and we didn't bother with the AC). We didn't have hot water our first night because of a water main break? but it was fixed the very next day. The desk staff are friendly, attentive and quite helpful. Considering the devastation this place endured during last end-of-summer hurricane, we were surprised at how good a shape it was in, with no sign of what had happened except for a fallen palm tree. Breakfast is ample, included in the rate, and is served at a restaurant next door. Given that it was our first time in San Jose del Cabo (and was right before our small-ship cruise), this was for us a perfect place for our short sojourn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cypress, Southern CAL

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Although the hotel is nice, comfortable and has lots of character, we were given a room across the street with no amenities and had to walk across the street to the main hotel. The staff was helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. It is located near everything, so no shortage of shopping and eating establishments. Would stay again, but would be careful to request room in the main building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB.

Boutique hotel in arts centre.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Near centre of town and main roads, restaurants, shops and art galleries. Staff very helpful and lovely spa in hotel. Would be perfect with yoga lessons and hot tub. Evenings are a little cool.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Not in main building

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Big room.
Cons: Many things. Finishing building. Getting rid of musty smells and getting more comfortable furniture. Soundproofing.
Location: Decent location - everything is walkable though the walk down to the beach is super far and the nearby beach isn't very hospitable post-Odile.
Maybe the rooms in the main building are better. After checking in the staff walked us a block or so away to their other building - where our room was. The room felt unfinished - the back area seemed like it was still being constructed. The room smelled dusty, musty, moldy. It was huge but not comfortable - the couch was hard, the pillows were too big. The kitchen area, which we didn't have a chance to use seemed nice but the freezer smelled disgusting! The worst part was the noise - there was some kind of karaoke/sermon that went late into the night, with loud voices on a megaphone, right next door. Had to sleep with earplugs in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ca

nice hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: the room and surroundings very tranquil garden.
Cons: rooms need do not disturb signs. Breakfast should be served on premises. and hotel management need to be more accommodating at times of problems.
Location: restaurants and town plaza
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Character and attention to detail

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Exactly what we were hoping for. We wanted character, ambiance and a convenient location for walking to all cultural experience. Would be a beautiful spot for a wedding.