Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Would go back to San Jose & Encanto Inn

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Great location. the garden/court yard by pool area was great. Other guests were quiet and very considerate. Room was charming and bed super comfy
Cons: Giving a 4/5 because pool was not as clean as it should've been. It had bugs and leafs (understandable) but greasy film not!
Location: Beautiful art galleries & restaurants. Awesome ambience in town plaza Recommend breakfast at Tropicana Inn Life music @ coffee shop next to Tropicana
Beautiful hotel. quiet. rooms are very charming, bar and restaurant adjacent to restaurant (pricy though), beds super comfy, nice sitting area in room. fridges could be upgraded. overall, I would stay again and recommend this place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Decent hotel with a traditional mexican feeling.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The location and the staff were great.
Cons: The wifi was weak but that seemed to be the theme around there. The facility itself is still being improved/repaired from the hurricane damage.
Location: There are plenty of shops and restaurants near by as well as the town square. All together seemed more traditional area.
The staff was great and the location is very nice. Close to shops and restaurants. I only have the rating at a 3 for facility because they are currently recovering from the hurricane that hit a few months ago. The rooms were still pleasant for what I expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Future looks good

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Authentic Mexican flavor.
Cons: Parking was free, but was in an undeveloped dirt lot and at times blocked by equipment/trucks.
Location: Near the city "centre" with shops and galleries very near.
The hotel is undergoing a major renovation as a destination location. Future looks good. Had trouble getting to main office due to road being closed for repairs and one way streets all around. Could have been better signed or instructions given by e-mail.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

Wonderful location in Art District.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Location, spacious rooms.
Cons: Up keep. There was a leak under our kitchen sink and there was a piece of face board with a nail sticking out.
Location: Fantastic location, makes up for everything else.
Wonderful location, walking distance to Art District and downtown. Lovely courtyard and the rooms are spacious. The rooms were clean, but not well maintained. We stayed in the courtyard building, the other building across the street is where the spa and pool are. We had a pedicure at the spa and it was wonderful, really relaxing and a pleasure. The kitchen area was adequate, but missing necessary utensils. We would stay there again and recommend it to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
No restaurant service. Pool was cloudy. Nice staff good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

Comfortable and relaxing environment

Posted Mar 11, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Encanto Inn. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is only a few blocks from the main square and is located within the art district. If not out exploring this charming town, you can sit by the pool to read or nap. The hotel is beautifully landscaped which adds to its charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Lovely oasis in San Jose

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The staff are very welcoming and helpful, thank you Diego and Eduardo! Loved the view from our room and character of the building and gardens.
Cons: We would have liked a sheer curtain on the windows overlooking the garden so we could have a little privacy but still have light and some of the view.
Location: Favorite dinner restaurants were Don Sanchez, Mi Cocina and La Panga Antigua - Lunch: Cafe Lolita, La Galeria - Shopping: Baja Glass Blowing Factory.
My sister and I enjoy staying in small hotels as well as B&B's. This hacienda-style inn was perfect for us. Our poolside room looked out on a fountain in the poolside garden - a piece of paradise. We liked the room which was simple and comfortable, especially the bed. Note: very quiet at night, we slept well. We were steps away from sitting around the pool and a short walk to San Jose's central plaza. The neighborhood is full of wonderful restaurants, shops and galleries. We were fortunate to arrive on a Thursday so we could enjoy the evening ArtWalk event. Cabo san Lucas activities are an easy cab drive away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire, USA

A trip to classic old Mexico

Posted Mar 2, 2015
If you like the feel of staying in a totally renovated classic, with all the great sense of history of the original district of the town, this is the place. Rooms are spacious and clean, very tastefully decorated. We were on the first floor overlooking the pool -- the best spot in the place. Close to shops and restaurants. Don't miss it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Lovely hotel to stay at. Nice rooms, nine location in the art district (and across the street from Baja Brewing Co.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Quaint hotel. Great price. Great downtown location

Posted Feb 15, 2015
We were very impressed. Safe clean friendly. All we needed. In the art district. Car or transport to beach needed. Everything within walking distance. I would stay again in a heartbeat.