Ratings based on 738 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boulder, Colorado

Stunning design & views (& really is all-inclusive

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Beautiful design, ocean views. Eye candy. With whales spouting within view of our room no less.
Cons: Cut the "vacation club" spiel. Maybe just hand someone a pamphlet and explain that if someone is interested they could attend a meeting or something.
Location: Close to Cabo San Lucas where we boarded our whale watch vessel. And an hour drive to Los Cerritos, an amazing surfer colony and beach.
My sisters and I are not necessarily the "all inclusive" types but this hotel was fantastic. In fact, we had to keep pinching ourselves to make sure it was real and not some sort of fantasy. The facilities and resort design are gorgeous with a premium put on the stellar ocean views. The food was really good - especially the Mexican stuff (no surprise there). And yes, room service and the mini bar really were included! The grounds and pools are meticulous, the staff friendly and very professional. Downsides: You can't really swim at the beach due to rocks and intense tides and undertow. But we rented a car and drove to other mind-blowing free beaches if we wanted to swim and boogie board. Also, you do have to sit through a brief overview with a staff member and they do try to get you to attend a session on a vacation club and offer up plenty of things (free whale watch, spa discounts) to try to get you to go. We said "no" but the spiel put us on edge at the start of our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Relaxing in the sun

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Wonderful stay with good food quality, good food variety, beautiful pools, fun activities, and overall good customer service. I would come back for sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel with decent service

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Clean, courteous staff, good food
Cons: Rooms, Service at Peninsula, Poolside Service.
Location: No activities, beach is not walk able for more than a few hundred yards.
We checked in and got a crummy room with no view on the ground floor with work going on outside and no privacy. Went to the front desk and they gave us a room on the 3rd floor. Within 10 minutes while giving baby a bath in the tub, the water backed out and flooded the room. After this they upgraded us to a room in the Grand Club with a great view and were very apologetic about the experience. The rooms are nothing special and are getting old. The thermostat was on or off. The service was hit or miss. Wait staff at Peninsula was horrible, no smiles, slow service and crummy food. Wait staff at Vina Del Mar and La Bodega is great and food at La Bodega was excellent, but wait can be up to an hour at rush hour.Food was decent and again was hit or miss, La Bodega being the best. Being in Grand Club we had access to a pool just for the Grand Club customers, which was nice as we didn't have to go reserve chairs at 7am in the morning like most people did for the general pools. Overall its a clean place and we had a decent time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not if you actually want to swim in

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Solid resort. Great staff. Nice pools. Can't swim in the ocean...too rocky and undertows. Far away from any kind of night life. Spa is horrible. The changing rooms are about 100 degrees w 100% humidity. Wouldn't stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TX

Amazing service and views

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Views, service
The area is still recovering but this resort is excellent! Couldn't have asked for better pool and beach side service. Excellent English speaking skills. From what I could tell, no bad resort views. Bring your binoculars to watch the whales from the resort (we traveled 2/8-2/13). Only complaints: Other visitors would be up early to reserve the best pool view chairs and then not be there for half the day. Not a lot of areas to wade in the ocean, very rocky. No night clubs, fairly quiet resort. Mexicano restaurant food was just okay (except the guacamole, which was amazing!). Only one swim up bar (no ocean view). Lots of conferences (3 while we were there). Rooms fairly small compared to other all-inclusive resorts. Pluses: Very clean, very American (only met Canadians besides Americans), 2 Mexican beers on tap (Indico and Dos Equis and many others in bottles, shuttle service into Cabo San Lucas ($10/person can ride $25 minimum or $5/person). Burgers poolside are excellent! Excellent, friendly service! Will definitely be back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tennesse

Great place. Horrible beds.

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Right on the beach. Staff was great. The beds and pillows were hard as a rock. Had to get used to that and a message at the spa. Over all good place. Good food. And the whale watching was wonderful in the early morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Lovely place! We have such a great time at the Americana. It's a huge place, multiple bars, 6 restaurants, multiple pools & jacuzis. You will not get bored of the place. They also have great service and make you feel special. The drinks are strongggg so keep that in mind if you're doing all inclusive (definitely recommended).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this get-away.

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, facility, food, and cleanliness.
Cons: wifi too weak, pillows too stiff, unable to make change for tips, very little night life,checkout slow. Need a sports bar or area open later at night.
Location: It's nice and warm. Need to take a taxi to the city. It would be nice if there was shuttle service. Cabo's focus is food and drinking.
The staff is amazing! Everyone is soooo nice and helpful. The food is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to beach you cannot swim in

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Options for dinner Convenient location Attendant service pool side Room with great view to watch whales
Cons: Breakfast choices, not happy at any of choices Control the pool area (obnoxious people need to be removed) Bikini bar area is a joke
Location: Whale watching, especially early was great Exploring Cabo was good for half a day
We enjoyed our stay, especially early. Room accommodations were what we expected, pool was good and options for dinner made us feel we would just stay on property. I was disappointed you could not walk beach due to rough sand and rocks. No place to swim in Sea of Cotez dues rocks. Really disappointed to see two conventions/awards groups take over property and get out of hand (since it was all inclusive). My wife and me decided to go off property last day. Recommend you post big groups that are staying. I would come back for sure if I knew experience I had first day would be what I had throughout my stay. Bodega, Rosato and singing by fire pit were highlights along with fish tacos! Edwin, our server poolside awesome too! Congratulations on bouncing back from hurricane so quickly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Vacation

Posted Feb 11, 2015
My husband and I traveled with another couple. Neither of us had vacationed in years. We had been looking forward to this for a long time. All the resorts start to look the same when you are looking on-line. We finally landed on this one when we talked to someone that had been. This vacation ended up being everything we had been dreaming about. This resort was beautiful, friendly, accommodating. There were so many dining option and we loved them all. They made the nightlife fun with the waiters showing off their specialty drinks. It was easy to get to and from Cabo. We saw whales everyday swimming past the resort. Snorkeling at the rest was great too. We even sat through their time-share pitch, and left without feeling hounded or beat down. We have been to Jamaica, Bahamas, and Hawaii, but this resort in Cabo we would pick hands down before the others.