Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Second trip to Cabo, for fishing trip.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: I hooked up with a Real Estate partner and he is looking for a condo or small house so I can retire there, will be back in a couple of months.
Cons: Air Conditiong in the bar and resturant, but this is Mexico, pray for a breeze.
Location: Fishing, food many types, local hangouts, great shopping, most everything is within a 4-5 block area. Mango Beach was a blast. Many local activities.
So this was my second visit to Mar De Cortez and looking froward to my next trip. Had some friends last year introduce me to the Hotel as they have been goning to Cabo for 25 Years to go Marlin and Tuna fishing, and always stay at the Mar De Cortez. Great choice, clean rooms, nice pool, great bar and bartenders, great food, had the chef cook our catch 3 nights, excellent food on the menu incase you don't catch fish. overall rating would be a 10, but they only let you pick 5. I have stayed at high end 5 star resorts in Mexico east coast, Playa area, and those are great if you want a resort and eat and drink there. I like the adventure of going out to eat different foods and seeing the town, so this place is great. Great price for the room and don't have to worry about the saftey of the area. 1 block to Cabo Wabo, and another block to the Giggling Marlin, 2 of the better spots to go to. Add another block and you are at the Marina, my favorite place to visit, espically around 6 AM in the morning as I board my vessel for a day of fishing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victoria from Palo Alto, CA

Location was the best part

Posted May 2, 2014
Right in the heart of Cabo, this place has the PERFECT accessibility to everything; restaurants, nightlife, marina, beach. We walked everywhere, it really would have took longer if we taxied. And you do get what you pay for - which isn't really much, so you can't complain for the value. No hairdryer, no coffeemaker, no tv, no ice machine. One major concern was that they kept turning off the water at certain times because they was a problem with pluming. Pretty annoyed because they did not give warning to their guests. Beds are clean, great air-conditioning. Florescent lighting, dated decor, walls are pretty thin you can hear everything in the complex. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, I felt very safe with a security guard in the front of the hotel at all times. It is a bit of a pain however, they give you a wristband similar to if you were set to ride rollercoasters at an amusement park all day. Additionally, they expect you to wear this wristband at all times during your stay -- you show it to the security guard to enter back to your hotel room. Very family friendly, but can be pretty noisy, so I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants peace and quiet. But overall, staff is friendly, very safe, and excellent location in town. And definitely a hotel to use primarily just for sleep, and nothing else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hunter247 from california

Great location in town

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Take cab or walk to beach. Great for those who want spend their money on fun rather than a room they only sleep in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel near good nightlife

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was the best part of my stay. Mar de Cortez serves an awesome All-American breakfast that's affordable. Their French Toast is amazing.
Location: Not exactly the safest street in cabo.
Good place if you're not trying to spend too much money. I went with friends from my fraternity and we noticed there are a lot of older people staying at this hotel. The immediate surrounding area is in my opinion not safe after midnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ren from Michigan

Can't beat the Mar de Cortez

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you're looking for great , no-frills accommodations right in the heart of Cabo, this is the place for you. Centrally located within minutes walking to the Marina District, Restaurants, luxury and street vendor shopping. The pool is great & we met people from all over the world. A great extension after spending 6 days @ a timeshare resort!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terrell from Oakland, CA

Great location but missing a few things...

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Great work staff.
Cons: WiFi in the far rooms has a weak signal.
Location: Fantastic location. Right in the middle of everything I wanted to do.
The staff was very nice and the facilities were relatively perfect but there were a few key missing things. First off there was no TV or small fridge which was a little disappointing. Having those amenities would have made our stay that much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emmory from Puyallup, WA

Right downtown Cabo

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: That is a historic Cabo hotel. No glitz. Plus it has the best restaurant in Cabo. Great menu. Great prices.
Cons: Potable water in the rooms.
Location: Walking distance of very thing but Madano Beach. Cabo Wabo and Giggling Marina within a block. Many other restaurants close by.
Remember that this a REAL Mexican hotel, not some flashy, resort..... Clean, convenient and cheap. Great staff and they work hard to make you comfortable. Sure, you can't drink the tap water but they supply all the drinking water you need. Shower was very nice. Beds were comfortable. Lot's of Canadians and Americans. Too bad most a Oregon Duck fans!!!! Limited "Spring Breakers".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, PA

Reasonable Price, Good Location, Clean Rooms

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Beds, Bedding,Pool temperature and lounge chairs
Location: Walking distance to marina,shopping, restaurants and bars,
This small hotel is right in the heart of town close to shopping, Cabo Wabo, the Marina and many restaurants. The rooms are bare bones but are clean and spacious. The low price is the real attraction here. Pool was to chilly to be enjoyable and they do not have enough pool chairs- especially considering that people " reserve them" and leave their towels all day- even when not sitting in them! There are many "regulars" who come during the winter and stay for an extended period, spending the days just relaxing on their balconies- drinking beers and margaritas. This makes for an interesting atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cam from british columbia

We'll priced hotel with good food and staff

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Seems like many people return yearly. It's like being at a family reunion
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

4 nite stay

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Pleasant, quiet, and clean; good shower; small, but very adequate swimming pool. A small restaurant served a variety of tasty foods and meals.
Cons: Need to have internet and copier available at front desk.
Comfortable and safe for a siongle senior woman; had secure parking for my rental car.