Ratings based on 927 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Such awesome staff!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Cons: Could use a little revamping, upgrading. The spa could offer more. The WiFi was NOT included and was pretty spotty.
Location: It's smack in between Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo, so it was a 10 minute drive from all the city life if you want that.
I'm going to start this review with all the best stuff. 1. The staff was not only super-responsive, but also very friendly and kind. 2. The food is very good. I was especially impressed with how good their basic buffet-style restaurant was, La Palapa. 3. The pool is spectacular. It's not super deep, but has deeper parts for those wanting to swim. It had a swim-up bar, always nice. And it had a wading pool on the side for little ones to splash around in water. 4. My husband surfs and he was in HEAVEN with the waves at the beach directly in front of the resort. 5. There are lots of activities for the adults and the kids to get involved in, which is so great if that's what you're looking for. But it's not forced on you, so you can just relax and do nothing if you want. 6. The kids club will watch children as young as 4 months old, something almost impossible to find at an all-inclusive. Usually they have to be at least 3 years old. 7. The resort is located halfway between San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas. It took us only about 10 minutes to get to Cabo and Medano Beach. Nice to be close to Cabo, but not right in the thick of the chaos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elk point south dakota

nice place to see the ocean

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: every thing
Cons: elevators
Location: boating, fishing horseback do it all right there.
got wet from ocean waves , sand in my shoes, service at the pool didn't have to get of pool. food was great all meals.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfort

Posted Sep 4, 2014
The Food is not that good. The AC in the room don't work that good. The bars are outside concept so they are very hot. You are always sweating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, CA.

Fabulous for our family of 10!!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Really, everything. The all-inclusive was so much fun for our big family with no worries about where to eat, how much will it cost, etc.
Cons: More ceiling fans in the restaurants, and maybe enclose the large lobby area so it could be air conditioned.
Location: We opted to just stay at the hotel for 4 days - plenty to do, and the kids were all very happy.
Being September, it was about as hot as it can get in Cabo, but the Melia did a superior job of making our 4 day family vacation as good as it gets. Food was superior, very large buffet-style restaurant right on the ocean front with plenty of selections for all ages in our family. Night time had one restaurant open for reservations, and both the Japanese and Mediterranean were excellent (Japanese not quite as good, tho). Our 3 rooms were all ocean-front and very-well air conditioned, so we could retreat to them when the hot sun just got too hot!! The pool was also very warm, but kept the 4 kids happy all day long, and our 6 adults were happy all day with the swim-up bar and unlimited drinks. The Melia has a very nice, safe beach right in front that was fun for all of us every morning before the pool time started. The sun was just a bit too hot to be on the beach for more than about an hour, no shade at all. Only complaint we might have - more ceiling fans in the restaurants, and they might even close up the lobby area and air condition it, which was wide open to the heat. This was our second time visiting the Melia with our family, and we will definitely go again - just perfect for us. We may go in April/May, tho instead of Labor Day!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel and great staff!!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Great hotel very friendly staff and not to mention the food was amazing too!! Very well kept and always clean. We had an amazing time going to eat then walking down to the beach at night to enjoy the sounds of the ocean!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami fl

Very friendless staff but not to good food

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Nice view, wonderfull atention all staff are very friendly and very atent w/ the guess only the animation team i think they need to have more motivation... food was not great... Not variety... The buffet restaurant was to hot....They need to improve on the climatitation in that area.. In general I would like to come back to cabos but definitely not to melia cabo real hotel... Just to give a recomendation to melia need to give better food and animation also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
I paid for an ocean view room and did not get it. They also had changes in the itinerary and we were not informed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place

Posted Aug 28, 2014
This is an excellent hotel exceeded our expectations. Staff exceeded expectations very accommodating and rooms along with facility very clean. Food comparable to all inclusive resorts that we have stayed. We travel frequently out of country and this was a very nice resort highly recommend it we usually go to different areas and different resorts but we will be returning to this one which is unusual for us. We went in one of the hottest month which did make pool a little warmer than I like but some would love that. Specialty restaurants were excellent food. Drinks better than most resorts. Huge pool. Lots of pluses at this place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Consierge

Posted Aug 27, 2014
I just returned from a 3 night stay at this resort and the I was very disappointed with our stay. We booked this stay for a bachelorette party. Days before our stay, I asked concierge to set up a special welcome in the bride's room. I was received a confirmation email that this would be done but it was not. Between four of the rooms (there were 13 of us), one room did not have A.C. and the doorknob broke off of the door to another room. I also received a price quote via email from concierge for an ATV excursion. When I went to the activity desk with the email and pricing, they told me that the concierge gave me the wrong price and would not honor the price that was given to me in the email. Concierge also told us we would not need reservations for one of the resort hotels but when we arrived, we were turned away for not having a reservation. Concierge then told us we would not need a reservation to eat at a restaurant outside of the resort because this was not a busy season. When we arrived at the restaurant, we were turned away for not having a reservation. The third time we went to concierge to make a reservation at a resort restaurant, they made us break into a group of 6 and 7. They told us our tables would be next to each other. When we got to the restaurant, the tables were on opposite sides of the room and we had to wait for other tables to leave before they would seat us together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

More Bang for your buck!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Great secluded place, hate guarded, but a 15 min drive to downtown if you want to be in party mode. Staff was always accommodating. Love Jose at the pool bar who makes any drink you need customized. Eduardo who brings fans because he saw you uncomfortably hot, and Anulfo at Palapa who is your personal butler whenever you need anything there! Props to them. Best value for your dinero!